We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Park View House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Park View House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room was quite spacious compared to many other European hotels. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. It is close to a number of bus lines. The neighborhood is quiet but close to a couple of good pubs.

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter booked through a third party and used the option of free cancellation two weeks prior to her stay..hotel still charged her account and are refusing to refund her as the manager is away for a month..the person covering is also away for 2 weeks..when asked who is in charge we were told "no one" sounds an absolute farce... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tatt002
Park_View_MGR, Front Office Manager at Park View House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am Sad to hear that this has occurred and at no point were any of the management approached for authorization for refund due to cancellation if you are able to contact the hotel either by email or phone i am sure we can get this sorted for you once again my appologies More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is fair to say I wouldn't be back here. The room which could sleep up to 6 people had one towel. When I asked for more towels I was told that it could be a problem! One of the beds was made up with a sheet that was too small and the mattress protector was not fit for purpose.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg B
Park_View_MGR, Front Office Manager at Park View House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues raised with you directly as i was not made aware of any issues from the reception team please can you contact the hotel either by phone or email so i can prevent these issues from occurring further Rudeness is not acceptable by any member of staff and this will... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be honest, I did not want to give the one star I did, but for the fact that we did have a room for the night and were not sleeping on the street, it does not deserve any star at all. The family room was cramped - and one had no windows, renedering it dim and dingy. The wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

The room was very large and felt very fresh (newly painted or new tapestries). The toilet/shower was also quite big and very fresh. The room only had beds and sideboards and did not have any table and only one chair, so there were not anywhere to sit and write/play cards and boardgames and so on. The staff where very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrBackground
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

After a very long drive we went to check in only tobe escorted out the front door and into the "annex" the staff were helpful but this was not what we were expecting, the room was tiny and very dated. Beds were covered in stains with mattresses well past their best. Even the simple things weren't there a Hand towel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fraser W
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

On arrival we were asked to upfront before seeing the room. Given the key we were very surprised to find the room occupied. We were shown another room and we were in for a shock. No.1 Wet wall at bedhead. "sorry but we have a roof leak" No2 No shower head height adjuster. "we will order a new one" No3... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank edward c
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We chose to stay here because there is ample parking on a safe street and free breakfast is offered, but apart from that i would not stay more than the one night we did. Check-in was ok, except when told we're on the top floor with no lift and carrying bags, there was no offer of help. Free wifi is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Little bit out of the centre of town, but opposite a park and has off road parking (important for some). Reception happy to help, even called to make sure I was on the way and all was good with my journey. Room tired, lots of signs of wear, had tea and coffee, shower, TV way up on the wall over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrie G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is lovely to look from the outside. The room, a family room apparently, was a little less desirable. The website proudly reads "all rooms, naturally, have flatscreen TV and a kettle". In this room, they seem to have omitted these natural items. As well as pillows, and even a dustbin. I wouldn't want my family in this useless... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
William's Travel Hotel Edinburgh
#384 of 445 in Edinburgh
2.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#289 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#331 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#315 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Park View House Hotel

Address: 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Park View House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay