We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dunstane Hotel

Show Prices
#13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dunstane Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dunstane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,179: English reviews
Henlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

We came up to Scotland for a family event and booked this hotel last minute. We were looking for a boutique style accommodation and this didn't disappoint...... In fact it wowed us. Unlike so many others this place is full of unique charm and the staff were approachable and friendly. We stayed in the house opposite reception which was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ellis a
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ellis a Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review, I am delighted that your stay was so well received from all aspects it seems. when you come and stay with us again, just mention you would like to try the main building and we will happily accommodate - but you are...

Alloa, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed and ate in this hotel - what a lovely place to stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very well furnished, the staff were extremely helpful, I don't like to single out people because all were good but Greg must get a mention, nothing was too much trouble. The meals were delicious we had planned on walking in to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Audrey M
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Audrey M Thank you so much for those kind words and Greg will be so chuffed with your mention of him! And thank you for the special mention for Housekeeping they do deserve the recognition as they are all really excellent. I hope you choose to come to Edinburgh and The Dunstane again Thanks Samantha

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2016

I booked super last minute and only stayed for one night - it was a lovely experience and I was tempted to take up the offer to extend my trip! The location of this hotel is particularly good as it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to Murrayfield stadium as well as Haymarket station. I stayed in room 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for leaving that lovely review, I am so pleased that you felt comfortable and confident in us during your stay - you are correct early and late check in and out is no problem to arrange, just let us know! I do hope you use The Dunstane again when you are in Edinburgh. Best...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2016

We spent five nights at The Dunstane. So pleased to find such a terrific hotel - loved the large, nicely decorated room, breakfasts were beautifully presented - and all the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Parking available - but we used the buses (with stops right outside it would have been silly to drive into town)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Patricia S Thank you very much for that review, I am so pleased you found us so conveniently located for town and the public buses. You are correct it is so simple to get to town from us and also all the major attractions. I am looking forward to welcoming you again in person Best, Samantha

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

We have recently spent 2 nights here for my girlfriends birthday. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. I upgraded our room to the largest and was well worth the extra. Massive room which had been decorated well with high ceilings and a four poster bed. We found the staff so helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for anyone we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sstrat88
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there sstrat88 Thank you for that wonderful review. I am so pleased you took advantage of our fabulous luxury rooms, they are really a special way to celebrate. And your comment about our staff is hopefully spot on, they always go above and beyond and it is their pleasure to ensure your special stay away is memorable and as...

teeside
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Stayed at the Dunstane 27th Feb, easy to find - when booked ask if possible for an upgrade as trip was a surprise for wife for birthday, upon arrival checked online to see if there were any larger rooms available which there was, so was hoping for a nice surprise, unfortunately not, never mind hotel is nice and modern, room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaun w
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Shaun w Thank you for your review. I am sorry you seem to be disappointed you did not receive a free upgrade. This is not something we can promise and honestly, if something is going to disappoint you enough to mention online I would advise booking specifically what you would like or are expecting; especially if it is...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

My bf and I visited edinburgh and found the dunstane on booking.com When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely girl I couldn't remember her name she was so pleasent, she showed us to our room which was across the road bit different but we weren't disappointed. Our room was amazing really nice and warm, there was a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizipizi
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there lizipizi Thank you so much for such a kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Luxury Townhouse. I know the member of staff you mentioned who checked you in and she will be so chuffed that she personally added to the comfort of your stay. Also very pleased you found our...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 27, 2016

This hotel was a delight. The reception staff were great, the rooms were spacious and clean with excellent facilities. We had a fantastic night here and the breakfast did just the job. What more do you need from a city hotel. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireWatson68
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks so much for your review, what a lovely comment. I do hope we can welcome you again to The Dunstane Thanks Samantha

London
Reviewed February 23, 2016

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at the Dunstane. We received a warm and friendly welcome and were pleased with our room (in the townhouse across from the main building) which was clean, comfortable and very quiet at night. Smart bathroom with decent sized bath and great shower. Only lacking some fluffy bathrobes but otherwise everything we needed. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PixieCox
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay. I am delighted that you were pleased for the most part with your stay and the food was up to the standard you expected. I am sorry you found the service stuffy and faffy - this is not our intention. I have had...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2016

Went away for the weekend for an early birthday trip with the boyfriend. The staff were lovely, kind and very attentive. Couldn't have asked for better service. The room it's self was great too, it had everything you need and more. The area was a little bit of a walk away from the city center, about 10/15 minutes but if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariaafonsox
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for those comments we really appreciate it - especially the staff who do try so hard to make everyone's stay extra special. I do hope you can visit us again, Best regards Samantha

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

624 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (306)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Petite Double (Room 7) (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (Room 5) (18)
Viewed
Luxury Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (Room 214) (19)
Viewed
Petite Double (Room 208) (20)
Viewed
Petite Double (Room 204) (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (Room 203) (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (Room 201) (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (Room 19) (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $105 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Dunstane Hotel staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunstane Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 17 is fantastic. The view is phenomenal...”
 of 5 bubbles 12121874, 1 week ago | Read review
“203 overlooks the main road, so can be a little noisy with traffic in the morning. But it is a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles CatieF, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms in the main building are getting a facelift”
 of 5 bubbles 818maricarh, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Superb room”
 of 5 bubbles phill528, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Luxury rooms or the ones in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jollyman11, Jan 20, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question