We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#68 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 740: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh. Our room was quite small (very small. like no hooks for the towels small) but clean and quiet. The location in Haymarket was fantastic and made getting around very easy whether we walked or took public transit. Front desk staff was wonderfully accommodating (we arrived in the morning and they kindly... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCME
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for the excellent review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your excellent feedback to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Good facilities, clean, staff very friendly, buffet breakfast for continental, order hot breakfast from good selection. Very good for price. Very close to haymarket station. So good travel links. Private car park but limited space available

Helpful?
Thank Watty G
Management response:

Dear Watty, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although the car park only has limited availability because of the hotels excellent transport links most guests travel to the hotel by public transport so car parking is rarely a problem. Once again thanks very much and hopefully we... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is very well situated, it's on the airport road, and only about 20mins journey to get there. Another 15mins walk and you can get to Princes Street and the centre of Edinburgh. Unfortunately the rooms are starting to look rather tired and in need of redecorating. We had a room on the front of the hotel which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyK82
Management response:

Dear Jonny, Thank you for the review. I am sorry for the apparent problems you had during your stay. Our central location can result in some street noise but it is difficult for use to manage that. All our rooms have modern double glazing which does a good job in reducing any street noise. I am sorry that you were... More 

Lerwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were very friendly; dinner menu had a good choice; luggage can be left at the hotel free of charge; there is a bus stop outside the hotel and Haymarket Station is a short walk away where you can get trains and trams.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
Management response:

Dear Margaret, Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have just put a new menu in place so thanks for the great feedback. I will share this with Andy our executive chef. Once again thanks very much and hopefully we will welcome you back the hotel soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Helpful and friendly reception staff, clean quiet room. Location is 5 minutes from Haymarket station so its really a bus or tram journey to the city centre, but an all day travel ticket is only £4 and the services are frequent. Breakfast was excellent

Helpful?
1 Thank RPS_From_UK
Management response:

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for staying at the hotel and taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. We are lucky to have a great location next to all the major transport links. We have recently changed our breakfast to give our guests more choice so will pass on your excellent feedback. Once again thank you for... More 

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Being August.... we were amazed by the standard of everything.... The reception / check in were fast and efficent. The room was immaculate. Great location.. only a 5-10 min walk into the town centre. All round seriously impressed Only downfall ... the road noise was very loud and it was to hot to close the windows ( not often that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jock J
Management response:

Dear Jock, Thanks for the great review. I am pleased you had a great stay and will stay again the next time you are in Edinburgh. Over 50% of the rooms are back facing so when you make the booking please request one and we will be delighted to allocate you one of those rooms. Once again many thanks and... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was fine, but I think there are better places to stay in Edinburgh. We stayed one night here before catching our flight out. It was close to the Haymarket train station so it was convenient. Our room faced the street and was a bit noisy despite being on the 4th floor. The room was clean but nothing special.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikkiAlex
Management response:

Dear Nikki, Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you had a couple of issues during your stay. If a guest has any issues with their room which are unable to fix immediately we will always offer to move the guests to an alternative rooms of their choice where possible. I will look into the matter of the... More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and very clean room. We'd commented when booking our trip was to see Edinburgh Tattoo was for our silver wedding anniversary and hotel staff left special welcome note in the room together with a silver duck and special goodies.

Helpful?
1 Thank claraj169
Management response:

Dear Clara, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Springy is our new silver duck is helping Apex hotels celebrate our 20th anniversary. Thanks again and hopefully see you back staying soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The double bed actually was two single put together which was not particularly comfortable. Most of the staff very friendly. The restaurant is reasonable and has some great food. The 24hs service though shows a rather limited variety and not that tasty. Hygiene standards on the low side the same as housekeeping quality. The check in was an absolute nightmare.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WorriedmumArgentina
Management response:

Dear WorriedmumAregentina, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I am sorry for the check in. There appeared to an issue with your credit card provider and although my team did all they could they could not solve the issue which resulted in you having to pay for your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We looked at the photos before booking and the rooms and everything looked nice.. When we arrived and got our key card we just kinda stood and looked at the place and asked ourselves 'is this the right room' other than cleanness the room was good it had a nice bathroom big comfy bed and what I thought was the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David G
Management response:

Dear David, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the apparent shortcomings you experienced during your stay at the Apex Haymarket. We appear to fallen short of our normal high standards and for that I can only apologise. Although we are only a 3 star hotel we operate and think like a 4 star hotel and guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
West End
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $70 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay