We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#75 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 745: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location, friendly staff just avoid Room 001 next to lift shaft & main access door to rooms. Have stayed here previously with no problems at all. Restaurant is fine and rooms always clean and well equiped. Space to hang clothes almost non existent though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank garycJ5463VM
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for the review. Sorry about the issue you had with noise from the lift. The hotel is having a new lift installed at the end of November 2016 which will be virtually silent. I also sorry that you felt there was a lack of storage space. The majority of our guests only stay for a couple... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is well located -good transport into the centre and an easy walk to Princes Street and West End. Inside hotel is fairly basic - small reception area, rooms accessed via lift to all floors which was limited to 2 persons only. Rooms well equipped with TV, free wifi, hair dryer, tea and coffee, iron and ironing board, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleanore S
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our central location. The evening you dined was very busy and I am sorry that the kitchen hadn’t had time to prepare more hand cut chips by the time you were dining. We had a run on ribeyes on that... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for the fringe so paid way over the odds. Wasn't worth it but that is to be expected I guess. Room was ok, standard type of a hotel room, bit strange having curtains cover the whole outside wall but the window to only cover half of it. As we looked out over the bins I guess it didn't matter... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigCBerkshire
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Big C, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you seemed to you enjoy your stay at the the hotel even though you felt the room price was a bit higher than you would normally pay. The hotel always tries to be very competitive on price and I sure that would be one of the reasons you... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is ideally situated right off the Haymarket tram stop which easily gets you to the airport and to city center. There is also a bus stop directly outside. The rooms are modestly decorated and typical European smaller size. I booked the summer getaway which included a continental breakfast, which was a good start to the morning. Wifi worked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristen, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are lucky to have a fantastic location next to all the major transport links. We have recently upgraded our wifi so I am delighted it worked well for you. I cannot understand the issue with your phone as there should be no... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for 1 night for the Fringe Festival. The location for me was a bit too far from the centre. We took a cab instead of walking which would probably take 30 minutes. We had a room on the top floor, paying £160 for a tiny room was a joke. The rooms were looking tired and shabby and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Management response:

Dear Michael, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The hotel is just 10 minutes from the west end of Princes Street which is recognised as Edinburgh’s city centre or a couple of minutes by bus or tram. The rooms are on an ongoing maintenance programme and our in house maintenance team work hard to... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh. Our room was quite small (very small. like no hooks for the towels small) but clean and quiet. The location in Haymarket was fantastic and made getting around very easy whether we walked or took public transit. Front desk staff was wonderfully accommodating (we arrived in the morning and they kindly... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCME
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for the excellent review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your excellent feedback to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good facilities, clean, staff very friendly, buffet breakfast for continental, order hot breakfast from good selection. Very good for price. Very close to haymarket station. So good travel links. Private car park but limited space available

Helpful?
Thank Watty G
Management response:

Dear Watty, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although the car park only has limited availability because of the hotels excellent transport links most guests travel to the hotel by public transport so car parking is rarely a problem. Once again thanks very much and hopefully we... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very well situated, it's on the airport road, and only about 20mins journey to get there. Another 15mins walk and you can get to Princes Street and the centre of Edinburgh. Unfortunately the rooms are starting to look rather tired and in need of redecorating. We had a room on the front of the hotel which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyK82
Management response:

Dear Jonny, Thank you for the review. I am sorry for the apparent problems you had during your stay. Our central location can result in some street noise but it is difficult for use to manage that. All our rooms have modern double glazing which does a good job in reducing any street noise. I am sorry that you were... More 

Lerwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly; dinner menu had a good choice; luggage can be left at the hotel free of charge; there is a bus stop outside the hotel and Haymarket Station is a short walk away where you can get trains and trams.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
Management response:

Dear Margaret, Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have just put a new menu in place so thanks for the great feedback. I will share this with Andy our executive chef. Once again thanks very much and hopefully we will welcome you back the hotel soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Helpful and friendly reception staff, clean quiet room. Location is 5 minutes from Haymarket station so its really a bus or tram journey to the city centre, but an all day travel ticket is only £4 and the services are frequent. Breakfast was excellent

Helpful?
1 Thank RPS_From_UK
Management response:

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for staying at the hotel and taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. We are lucky to have a great location next to all the major transport links. We have recently changed our breakfast to give our guests more choice so will pass on your excellent feedback. Once again thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
West End
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $62 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay