We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Save
Share
81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Trip.com
$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Travelocity
$228
View deal
CheapTickets$228
Prestigia.com$253
FindHotel$259
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (680)
Room & Suite (435)
Dining (154)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 12/13/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/13/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#117 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Surf & Turf restaurant is stylish and sophisticated. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more
3767Reviews67Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,696
  • 1,253
  • 489
  • 207
  • 123
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fiona S wrote a review Yesterday
Inverness, United Kingdom2 contributions
We are just back from a couple of nights at Macdonald Hotel Holyrood and we did have a lovely weekend but the rooms are VERY tired. Our shower heads were black so washed it myself and the temperature tap for the shower was missing (I did tell reception and it was fixed) extraction not working in bathroom and the room was so cold (room air heater blowing out cold air 🥶) had to take electric heater out . On the up side the bed was comfortable all the staff were very friendly and we had a lovely meal and breakfast. We got a January deal and were given gift voucher as a Christmas present which was just as well I would in no way pay any more than we did as there's better cheaper hotels in town . Didn't use any of the spa facilities so can't comment on that 😕
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Anna wrote a review Jan 16
1 contribution
I never leave a bad review, ever - so this is a first for me. Booked a Spa day with a friend and we were super excited to go for a girly day out. Got there and it was very quiet and staff were busy talking to each other (I am aware that social distancing is in place but the atmosphere was not good). Had a back massage which was OK - felt rather awkward if I am honest. We booked the treatment at 10am and booked afternoon tea for 2pm. This was meant to give us time to use the SPA leisure facilities in-between. We were so shocked because all the hotel has is a pool and a sauna (steam room was closed for maintenance). We weren't able to use the sauna either as the number of people were restricted and there were people using it. Anyway, we used the pool then left the hotel for coffee elsewhere before coming back for our afternoon tea at 2pm. Once we came back we were left waiting for a while as they forgot out afternoon tea booking!! They blamed it on the hotel being short staffed... this was not the case. Anyway, eventually we were sat down and after about a half an hour wait we were given the afternoon tea.... this was awful. The cakes were tiny and the sandwiches were stale. Have no clue how they forgot our booking as there was only one other couple there in the restaurant eating!! Overall, this was a very disappointing day and not worth the money sadly :(
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear D1753MZanna, Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to read that your spa day was not as you had anticipated. This is certainly not our normal standard and id be keen to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact me on: gm.holyrood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
Gary Jackson wrote a review Jan 9
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just back from a weekend away at hotel. Was nice and clean and all the staff were so nice. However special mention to Frank the concierge who was great and always happy to help with any requests. First class
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear grizzlyg72, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. Delighted to read that you had a great weekend break with us and i will certainly share your feedback with Frank and the rest of the team. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
Rebecca B wrote a review Jan 6
1 contribution
We had a wonderful overnight stay at the hotel. The welcome from the reception staff was fantastic. We had just gotten engaged and she really made us feel special. Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. We had a fab time using the swimming pool and sauna. A really relaxing experience. With Covid the number of people in the spa is limited and made for a lovely relaxing swim. The breakfast was delicious and the service again was brilliant. We cannot thank the staff enough for making us feel welcome and special on our engagement night. Truly a night to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear RebeccaB3647, Thank you for your 5* review and congratulations again on your engagement. The team and I are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
kevinp63 wrote a review Dec 2021
Wentworth, United Kingdom29 contributions12 helpful votes
We were only there for two nights in December. Friendly and attentive staff. Nice clean room, huge comfortable bed. All the usual facilities, coffee, iron and board. Great breakfast. Only downside, the room (217) was cold. It wouldn't stop me returning. The location for me is perfect, five minute walk from the hustle and bustle.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear kevinp63, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your December break with us and found the hotel to be the perfect base for your trip to Edinburgh. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald holyrood edinburgh, hotel macdonald holyrood
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.2 miles), The Chocolatarium (0.3 miles), and Mackenzie Leather Edinburgh (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include PIGGS, Smoov Gelato Coffee, and Vinyasa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Macdonald Holyrood Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Holyrood Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, and Polish.