We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,770: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Waverley Hotel
 Click to rate
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a lovely stay in this central Edinburgh hotel! Arriving at Waverley station midday, we were able to leave our luggage ahead of check in time and check out our surroundings. The rooms were comfortable, staff friendly and efficient, great breakfast and we had a good bar meal in the evening. Fairly noisy, but to be expected in city centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Within walking distance of alot of Edinburgh's main attractions. Clean rooms & bathroom etc. Breakfast menu will cater for all and the food was always hot as well cooked to a great standard. Staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Good value for the money. The only negative would be road noise if you were on a low floor facing Princes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lstacey2
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and found the room and food to be of a good standard. We do, however, apologise for the noise of Princes Street but this is out of our control. We hope it didn't disrupt your visit too much and...

Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is very 'olde worlde' I booked for five 3 rooms in all. They blocked my card for the full amount for the longest time - even though the other guests paid on arrival. It's a strange hotel really - rooms fine small but serviceable - food poor everywhere but fabulous dining area where one can sit & enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotshotsolicitor
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Waverley Hotel. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the food. In regards to the cheapest rate, we do offer the cheapest price directly on our website. But you must book this specifically. It is called 'Best Available Rate'....

Leyland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My brother and I have just enjoyed a one night stay at the Old Waverley. Our room was clean comfortable and had a lovely view over Princes St. The bathroom was large and had all the usual toiletries. Some reviews seem unfavourable which I don't understand if you want the Ritz stay at the Ritz and pay Ritz prices !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you and your brother enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found the hotel to be of a good standard and enjoyed the food. We hope you made the most of your time in the city and saw all the attractions...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location on Princes Street. Nice comfortable room. Very comfortable bed. Good desk to put my computer on. Plenty of sockets. Good wifi. But no lift at pavement level - Carrying bags up a flight of stairs is annoying when you're not fit. The entrance doors are narrow and awkward to get you bags through when you're on your own....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogert5595
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a stay at the Old Waverley Hotel, Edinburgh. We booked on their special offer - buy breakfast and evening meal and get room for £1 each - making the cost £82 per room per night. We had a room overlooking Princes Street. It was a small double room with en suite but was very clean and cosy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anngooding
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to leave such a generous review regarding your stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel, food and staff to be of a high standard. We would love to welcome you back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kind Regards,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel above shops. Nice clean room and comfortable bed. Had bar food, didn't eat in restaurant, but it was lovely, tasty and plentiful. Charged us twice for bar food but it was soon rectified when we pointed it out, just waiting for it to get credited into account now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameshS5469XT
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

loved this hotel; well decorated, a nice old building, excellent breakfast included, good friendly staff and service and whilst my room was up near the roof, and quite small, it was fine; nice bathroom, with a good bath and shower and nice products, tea making facilities and a comfortable bed. The lounge bar area has a nice menu of lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well i am sure this was the noisiest hotel i have ever stayed in, even being up on the 5th floor the noise through the old sash windows was excessive. Right outside on Prince's St was a link for the Trans which when they drove across sounded like two shotgun blasts which was mildly entertaining right up until the 50somethingth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimbles
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, but as you stated yourself, the external noise of Princes Street is something we don't have control over. The same applies to the stairs in the entrance to the building. The hotel was built in 1848 and has been listed...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located but that is about all I can say nice about it. Old and worn interior and furniture. The double room was small and not 15m2 as promised and again the furniture and interior was badly maintained. The restaurant was nice looking and it´s interior nice. But the food was HORRABLE. A starter of shrimp cocktail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danskrejser
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time leave review. We are sorry that the experience didn't match your expectations on this occasion. The food in the restaurant is all locally sourced and specially picked and selected daily by our kitchen staff, so it is highly unusual for the food standard to be as low as you claim, we will investigate this...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

685 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (338)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,630 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighborhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cranston's Restaurant
Cranston's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $99 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Road noise on lower floors facing Princes St.”
 of 5 bubbles lstacey2, 4 days ago | Read review
“I had a side room with no view.”
 of 5 bubbles rogert5595, 1 week ago | Read review
“Not really for people in wheelchairs,the entrance is a nightmare. After that it's ok”
 of 5 bubbles jimimk, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for front”
 of 5 bubbles andymSouthportUk, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“As for a quiet room as the rooms facing Princes Street can be noisy as the Hotel is very old and is not double glazed”
 of 5 bubbles Charlo283, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question