We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,619: English reviews
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was large and comfortable. The staff was very helpful in answering all our questions. The hotel is in a perfect location to see central Edinburgh or to catch a hop on/hop off tour bus or city bus to take you wherever you want to go. The only drawback to this trip was that the lift was out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayla D
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed there 3 nights this summer..........the bus from the airport drops you off right in front - almost ....excellent location......very central to everything ...a older hotel with nice character ......clean rooms ....helpful staff......a good breakfast.....breathtaking views in front .....and directly infront of the train station - our next stop was to train to London ...so it was perfect .

Helpful?
Thank schlappal2016
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, the hotel is in a prime location and central to all you wished to see. Draw back of this is the room is slightly noisey but didn't stop us having a great time. Staff are helpful and the breakfast is good.

Helpful?
Thank mpriest33
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us, we are very glad you enjoyed our great central location. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Old Waverley Hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city. The rooms are good sized, the breakfasts are delicious, the staff are very helpful.The view from the room of Edinburgh Castle was amazing! I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel for a city break!!

Helpful?
Thank Ewan M
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad that we could make your trip to Edinburgh so enjoyable! We hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon! Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room nice but no view, had a window which looked out to a wall, would have preferred a view. breakfast nice and service prompt and nice. Welcome was nice and friendly. For a busy hotel it was quiet. location was great.

Helpful?
Thank LINDA D
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear that our staff were friendly and service great. We do have some great rooms overlooking Princes Street and definitely recommend booking one of these next time you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Old Wavrly has some very good things to offer. The view from the front of the hotel is splendid. My husband and I had a whisky in the bar on the first floor overlooking the Scott memorial; a beautiful and cozy room. The breakfast was also quite good, also a beautiful room with nice views. However - beware of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our great location and our views. We do apologise that the street noise was an issue and that you didn't find the beds comfortable. We appreciate this feedback and will look at how we can rectify these issues. We hope you'll consider staying with us again soon. Kind... More 

Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As everyone has commented, the Old Waverly is in an excellent location, on Princes St directly opposite the Scott Monument. It is situated in walking distance from all major sights, and in easy access of restaurants and shopping. The main problem we faced was that we had a rental car from our drive in other parts of Scotland, and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our great central location. Sorry to hear that the parking was an issue, we are very centrally located and parking in the centre of Edinburgh is limited, we do apologise for this and do hope that it... More 

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on the 20th of September for one night. Check in was easy suspect I was one of the last for the evening. Got to the room which was sufficient for one night comfy bed etc but the room was fairly dated. Bathroom surprisingly much more modern. Had a night cap from the bar the barman / night porter... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidMcGing
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at The Old Waverley Hotel, we are very glad to hear our staff made such a great impression - we will be sure to pass this on to them. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon. Kind... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is short walk to the railway staton and you can easily walk to key attractions. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet. Please note that there are stairs to reach reception and the lift is tiny.

Helpful?
Thank LordGrimthorpe
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and hope you'll stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on central Princes Street was brilliant. Breakfast being included was a bonus - although it was poor quality and the serving staff were consistently slow at replenishing breakfast items. Our "standard double" room was cramped and depressing with a tiny, single glazed sash window, in a small alcove overlooking the back alley. My wife couldn`t sleep for much of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Q8503FTstephens
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we always appreciate our guests feedback and are very sad to hear that you room did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will take your feedback on board and look at how we can fix these issues as soon as possible. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

652 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (305)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Royal British Hotel
Royal British Hotel
#125 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighborhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cranston's Restaurant
Cranston's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $91 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay