We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 627: English reviews
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Receptionist was very welcoming and informative and showed me to my room. The room was clean and warm, the wifi was great and the TV and shower worked well. The walk into Princes St. and the station took less than 10 minutes. The tram stop for the Airport was less than 5 minutes away. Had a good night's sleep in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad that everything was perfect for you. If you are to return, be sure to check out the special offers on our website, where you will also find the best possible rates. We hope to welcome you back to the Albany in the near future. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed just the one night whilst visiting the Christmas markets but would definately stay again. Beautiful boutique hotel on a quiet elegant Edinburgh street 10 minutes away from Princess St. Tasteful decor and clean comfortable room. Great accommodation, surroundings and location.

Helpful?
Thank she68
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star Review. We are glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, and that you will definitely be staying again. Next time, make sure to book through our website where you will find our best possible rates and exclusive deals (guests often get complimentary up-graded when they book through our website too). We hope... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just returned from our 2 night visit to Edinburgh. We arrived at about 12.30 and was happy to be able to leave our bags (as check in was 2pm)and get out exploring. However, the lovely receptionist said she'll go and check if the room was ready, it was, which was great. We had requested an ice bucket for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that your room was ready for your early check-in, and that enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, make sure to book through our website where you will find our best possible rates and our Facebook Page for exclusive deals. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team More 

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late on Thursday and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who asked how our journey had been and were we ok. After checking us in , he offered to carry our bags to the room which was not necessary as we were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. It was a lovely quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and you will definitely be recommending us. Next time you book, make sure to check out our website for the best available rates, or our Facebook Page for exclusive offers! We hope to welcome you back to the Albany soon. More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked 3 nights here to explore Edinburgh over along weekend trip. The hotel is located in city center 2 minutes walk from the tram station. My room was a very small one with the worst position for a bed, beside the wall, but it is clean and got all amenities including an iron and an ironing board. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank tamerads
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that the location in the heart of Edinburgh City was perfect for you, and that you would recommend the hotel in future. Be sure to check out our great Facebook offers and best on-line rates from our website. Regards, The Albany Hotel Team More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This boutique hotel is great for all the Playhouse theatre,is in walking distance of Princess Street and George Street with its bars and restaurants.This hotel is full off character as it is three town houses but is sometimes feels like a bit of a rabbit warren and there is no lift due to the age of the building.Although one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat J
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you received an upgrade to make your surprise trip even more special, and are delighted to hear that you will definitely stay again. Be sure to check out the best possible rates on our website and great deals on our Facebook page before you book next time. Kind regards, The Albany... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed s at Albany Ballantrae. On arrival we were greeted by a very rude receptionist, we had been on the road since 3 am that morning, it would of been nice to get a warm welcome. We left our bags at reception and went off until we could check in. My partner was very unwell and when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmamalone15
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you mention, and will be looked into immediately. We always offer room only rates for guests who would prefer to have a cooked breakfast at one of the many restaurants and cafes that are located right next to the hotel. We do hope that you return... More 

South Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

staff friendly and helpful. decor needs updating. damp patches on ceilling, stair carpet fraying. teabags not replenished on daily basis. shower temperate too hot even on coldest setting. good location, conveinient yet quiet.

Helpful?
Thank di12016
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The points you mention have been noted, but please be aware that the hotel was refurbished last year. We hope that you return to the Albany again, where are sure that you will enjoy your stay. More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in , ok was single room but I wasn't expecting a cupboard under the stairs !! 4ft across , rickety furniture, tv adjacent to bed on wall , how are you meant to watch it !! 14 inch screen . No shelves in bathroom , joke of a shower , tepid water ! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay. It is a real shame that you decided to check out early but not mention that you were unhappy with your room until you were leaving late that afternoon as we could have arranged a change of room immediately. As a listed townhouse, all our rooms are different, and... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location for the train station. Reception staff are very friendl. There is no lift, so you need to be fit or ask to stay on the ground floor. We were two floors up, lovely spacious room and bathroom. Quiet area to stay. The continental breakfast wasn't very special. We found a lovely restaurant at the end of the road... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie667
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, and hope that you will be back in the near future. Be sure to check out the great rates and exclusive deals on our website before you book. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
469 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#105 of 150 in Edinburgh
926 reviews
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $69 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was in a basement room at the rear which suited me as it was quiet and I only used it for sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles 375RonK, 4 days ago | Read review
“Room 408 was on top floor ( 2 flights up) and was a lovely large room with views of the front Street.”
 of 5 bubbles rickyh965, 1 week ago | Read review
“The hotel is on a quiet street so I would think all the rooms would be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles A1184XTcarolb, 1 week ago | Read review
“No lifts ,some spiral stairs and as it is a listed building no double glazing”
 of 5 bubbles 929patj, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Do not get a room on the ground floor, we had no choice as there is no lifts and my partner recently had a bad back injury.”
 of 5 bubbles emmamalone15, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay