We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location just 10 mins walk from the centre and 3 mins from the tram. Room was clean, well proportioned and tastefully decorated. Bed a bit hard but that is a minor point. It is a small hotel so don't expect much beyond your room. We did not use the buffet breakfast because we prefer a full cooked option, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel a month ago (non refundable deposit) with a view to coming to Edinburgh for my 30th. First impressions were great until we met the receptionist, who was on the phone when we arrived but offered no acknowledgement that we were there and she had seen us. When she greeted us there was no smile and she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay - these will be addressed immediately. We are glad that you received a complimentary upgrade to our Honeymoon Suite, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, where we are sure that you will enjoy your next visit. Kind regards, The Albany... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a hotel via Expedia. Got a confirmation and then a cancellation from them. Not sure why, but too bad as I was looking to have a weekly stay for the next 7-8 months. WIll find a different hotel then.

Helpful?
Thank garnalensoepnl
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that Expedia cancelled your booking - may I suggest you contact them and ask why? If you are looking to re-book, you will find the best possible rates and exclusive offers on our website. We hope to welcome you to the Albany in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The receptionist didn't even say hello. She told us to wait a minute then asked for our name and cut us off halfway through our sentence. She gave us the paper and told us to sign. She told us to follow her to our room. Her tone made her seem quite rude. The location is great, close to food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It might be my fault that I found this hotel overpriced as I only booked it 3 weeks before my stay, but £165 for what I got seems quite steep. The room was nice and clean but walking in to it nothing screamed out "4 star" at me (which is what the website boasts). The decor was pleasant enough -... More 

Helpful?
Thank InEdinburgh
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Rates for the Festival in Edinburgh are higher than average throughout the year, but we are currently offering great rates on our website and exclusive deals on our Facebook page. We are glad that the staff were helpful and friendly, and that you had a great night sleep, and we hope that you return to... More 

Limassol Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not so sure i would stay here again but for odd reasons.. Its around the corner from everything i need! Shops, sights, cafes etc anything a a first timer to the Edinburgh Festival would desire...Love the city..my room, 401 was on the top floor and not easy to access if tired and with luggage...thats right, no elevator. I had breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank LambrosCY
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not have a lift at the hotel, but we have rooms on the lower floor which we allocate when requested. Edinburgh hotel rates are higher during the Festival period, but currently we are offering great rates on our Website for the remainder of the year - be sure to check them out, and... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At best, a good b&b. It has some good positives but some real pitfalls. Having looked around at some budget hotels in the area (prem inn, ibis etc...) pricing is quite competitive, especially given the location. Access to public transport is excellent - both train, tram and bus. The other big positive, and the only real 4 star aspect of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicembrights
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As a listed building, all our rooms are different, but we do have rooms with Executive Rooms with very large bathrooms which are allocated when requested. Although we currently do not serve evening meals, there are lots of restaurants right on our doorstep, so our guests have lots of dining... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed for one night in this hotel. From reading the reviews, I was apprehensive but our experience was excellent. The room was beautiful, really elegant, the decor was fitting with the age of the building (if you want sleek and modern go to the premier inn around the corner!) and the staff on reception were helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keturah83
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that your stay was "excellent", and that you would stay with us again. Next time, before you book, check out our website and Facebook page for the best possible rates and exclusive deals. We hope to have you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team More 

London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for the fringe. On arrival our twin room for two turned out to be a gorgeous, ball room sized family suite with 4 beds and high ceilings. The bathroom alone was larger than most double bed rooms in hotels in other cities. Everything seemed new and well maintained. The location is unbeatable- quiet and on a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank jvgf
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We hope that you enjoyed The Fringe, and are glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, and that you will definitely be returning. Make sure to check out our Website and Facebook page for the best available rates and exclusive offers before you book! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel... More 

London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

There is nothing positive to say about this hotel. Should have been wary as the front door to the hotel was scuffed and dirty and attached to the wall is a cigarette bin that is rusting and looks like it hasn’t been cleaned since the day it was put up. Staff didn’t know what time breakfast was served and when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 17RLL
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel was refurbished last year to what we believe to be of a good standard, and we often get very positive feedback from guests about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh, even if we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#128 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#103 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $73 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay