We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Start your review of Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friend and I begun our Eurotrip in Scotland. From the UK, and now a Canadian citizen, I thought it would be a good place to start. This is a brilliant location, close to the train station and two steps away from the Mile. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was clean. We stayed in a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabrit_ca
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Got a private room. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The private room was awesome: TV, dresser, heater. The lounge was great, lots of great people travelling through and great employees who live in the hostel. Big kitchen. Hot showers. The things that I hate about hostels were done really well there!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
Management response:

Thanks for your review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Safe travels :)

Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Excellently located, staff OK. The smallest room - so small that there's not space both sides of the bed. Equally the ensuite is less than 1 metre by 2m. That means an odd sliding door c and little space for a normal one Smallest sink I've ever seen and it was tucked away so there was no way to stand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klmcc2000
Management response:

Thanks for your review! Our rooms are priced competitively with comparison to the Edinburgh hostel market. If guests have issues with the size, access or functionality of their booking then our reception staff are happy to where possible change your room in order to accommodate any specific requirements. Safe travels!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel was just a room to stay in,while we explored Edinburgh, it did its job. When we arrived on 30/12/16 there was the torch ceremony in the old town, so it was very busy, lots of closed roads. Eventually parked in the raddisson car park. We stayed in the outer building just down the alley. Much quieter, rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie P
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback! Since your stay all rooms in our adjacent buildings have been renovated and are looking even more fabulous than during the time of your visit. Our facilities are checked and cleaned regularly in order to provide the most comfortable experience for our guests, as mentioned there are multiple bathrooms available for use if the cleaners are...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, it was a comfortable stay in a convenient location. We had a private room for my friend and I. It had a table with chairs, two beds and a TV - the basic amenities of a hotel room at a hostel price! We stayed in another building and we had a toilet and a stocked kitchen on our floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris L
Management response:

Thanks for your review though 2 stars seems a little harsh given it appears in the most part you had a pleasant stay. Our fire alarms are in accordance with the most current Scottish fire regulations and tested weekly. In the case of an incident the fire system is designed to alert you to evacuate the building, it would seem...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

Currently staying in room 5 and too cold to get out of bed as there is no radiator in the room #freezing. Friendly staff and great location only a few minutes walk from the bus and train station. Just so cold!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBarnes86
Management response:

Thanks for your review. All of our private rooms and dorms have heating systems fitted, dorm 5 that you mention has two heaters, one under the window and another beside the door which can be freely operated by guests as requiered. Enjoy your travels!

New York City, New York
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the building that was down an alleyway next to the main entrance and I must say it was filthy! The bathrooms were scary and disgusting and you shared with the other people in the building. Our bed sheets and towels had stains all over them, and the walls were paper thin so you could here everything going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WndrlustSearching
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. Since the time of your stay (March 2016) our hostel has undergone renovations and improvements along with a change of daily operations management, as a result we would hope to see you pleasantly surprised if you were to choose us as your backpacker’s friendly accommodation in the future. We are working tirelessly to freshen and improve...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 30, 2017

The hostel itself was a little, uhm, dingy. To say the least. It felt a bit odd that some of the rooms were in a totally separate building. BUT... the customer service was decent, the beds were comfortable and the bedding clean. And quiet frankly for the price that we paid that's all we could have hoped for. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingvar I
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. As noted on our Hostelworld bookings page Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has more than 18 Double/Twin/Single Rooms across four separate buildings, all buildings are located within a 20 second walk of our central premises where you are welcome to converge and use the common areas at any time. If there is any queries whilst booking we happily...

Edinburgh
Reviewed January 28, 2017

Too many beds squashed into tiny rooms which gives a very claustrophobic feeling. Toilets and rooms are smelly and too far away from the rooms. They ask for a £5 deposit for a PLASTIC key card, and also another £5 to use the lockers. And perhaps ridiculous, they charge £3 just to put your suitcase in a dirty room behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igra00
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Edinburgh Backpackers. Toilets are situated throughout each of our buildings, if there is any issues locating facilities then our staff would be more than happy directing you to your closest amenities. The £5 deposit taken for your door card and locker key are returned to...

Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile

The staff were lovely, the snacks available at reception are really fairly priced (60p can of juice) We only slept a few hours in hostel however the beds were comfortable and rooms clean. There was a large mirror in room which was great for getting ready for night out. Large bathroom located across the corridor. Room was warm, lockers available,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy H
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback! Happy top hear you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you in the future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#46 of 214 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#20 of 214 in Edinburgh
399 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 214 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 214 in Edinburgh
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $21 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“staying in the rooms in the building down the street is much quieter being off the main road & being a smaller building.”
 of 5 bubbles 801elliep, 1 week ago | Read review
“The private room for 2 was a good deal for us since we didn't want to deal with the security of our belongings.”
  • Private room for 2
  • Where the hostel is located on Cockburn Rd.
 of 5 bubbles 420irisl, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“No accessibility for the disabled. Top floor on right side of the building (next to toilets) has excellent view of city”
 of 5 bubbles lbtravels18, Jan 22, 2017 | Read review
“Private room options would be best”
 of 5 bubbles roisin171, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“We usually try and stay in the main building, which has a lot of stairs but is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles AmandaJane1981, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question