We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bonham

Show Prices
#61 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bonham
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,181: English reviews
Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

2 personal items were stolen from my room at The Bonham. So, stay at your own risk. The General Manager was very kind and tried to help. I also filed a police report. The hotel itself is fine. But, this is the very first time I have been a victim of theft while staying at a hotel. So sad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fe B
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Ms Emery Further to our conversation last week regarding the alleged loss of items at the hotel, I am sorry we weren't able to assist further after our investigation. As I explained, due to the 6 week delay in reporting the items as lost, it makes it difficult for us to look fully at what many have transpired I...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is a very unique hotel unlike anyother hotel I have stayed at. They have a small cutlet reception that serves fresh chilled water and some delicious home made cookies. The base category rooms are good but the executive rooms or the junior suite was amazing with high ceiling and large living room with fireplace. Walking distance from queens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simransial
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear simransial, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Bonham Hotel. I am delighted to read your very positive review, and will ensure that your comments are passed onto our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went today for ladies xmas day out. Meal.was fantastic..salmon and duck for starters then cod and beef delicious followed by amazing desserts. Great value and Service 10/10 would totally recommend Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank animb
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear animb, Thank you for your 5 star review of Restaurant at The Bonham. Our festive menu really is excellent this year, and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Daphne, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a lovely old town home on a quiet leafy street. The rooms are a good size and so are the bathrooms. There is a Lift. This hotel is a short walk from the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art. There is a free shuttle to the Portrait Gallery from there. Also a short walk to Dean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pissaro
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Pissaro, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The Bonham Hotel has a wonderful location in the city's west end, which has a plethora of small local shops and restaurants, and is great to while away an afternoon. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought an itIson voucher for two for afternoon tea. Was delightful! food was lovely. Staff were very friendly.. will be coming back again soon. Thank you to the lovely lady who served us and kept coming back to refill our pots.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiebrownx
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear jackiebrownx, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us in the consulting room bar. It's such a cosy space at this time of year to relax and enjoy some time to yourself. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I treated my husband to a weekend in Edinburgh for his 50th. I wanted a hotel that was close to things but was quiet, too. The Bonham delivered. Old world charm, peaceful rooms, tasteful interiors. Understated elegance. An easy 5-minute walk to the tram (which is also easy to and from the airport). Close to shops and restaurants, and yet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CKSage
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Claire K, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the great location that we have in the west end of Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked at short notice nevertheless the room was very comfortable and quiet. The only issue was a slightly poor shower with fluctuating temperature(not enough to scald or anything serious but tedious). Ambience of the hotel quietly impressive, excellent location in West End. Good service all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Robert N, Thank you for you review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I am sorry to read that the shower was experiencing temperature fluctuation issues during your stay. I have already passed this on to our maintenance team who are looking into it. We hope to...

Sheffield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

9 of us stayed here for 2/3 nights for my birthday. We really liked the hotel, nice rooms and nice friendly staff. We didn't eat in the hotel but there are great places for breakfast nearby and nice restaurants. We mostly walked everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverleySheffield
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear BeverleySheffield, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable birthday with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, ideal for entertaining friends/family in very pleasant surroundings. Hope the new owners don't ruin it, the in house booking system is horrendous- you get put through to a call centre thousands of miles away with appalling line quality and clarity. The new car park charges are also an annoyance, petty charges like this spoil the overall impression and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordDarkness
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear LordDarkness, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the difficulty you experienced with our call centre to our reservation department, who will look into this. Our new website has an excellent new booking system, so please check this...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have had dinner many times at The Bonham and it is always amazing so as a treat my husband booked us in for a nights stay. We had a standard room and thought that at The Bonham even a standard room would be great but we were very disappointed. Room was a great size and very clean but could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Michelle M, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy aspects of your stay with us. Our team always try, as much as possible, to deal with issues before our guests leave the hotel, so I am sorry to hear on this occasion we were not able to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

602 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (277)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,091 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,201 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,712 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Bonham
Restaurant at The Bonham
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $87 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bonham staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Bonham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Window seat!!”
 of 5 bubbles jackiebrownx, 1 week ago | Read review
“Top floor is probably the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles CKSage, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Street facing is quiet enough,views over gardens opposite pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles robertnM5490RY, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I should have asked for the best view as it was my birthday!”
 of 5 bubbles BeverleySheffield, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“If visiting Saturday/Sunday night, part car in the adjacent Square, other wise they will scam you £15 to get out of their car park!”
 of 5 bubbles LordDarkness, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay