We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bonham

#62 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bonham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a nice boutique hotel about 1.7 miles from city center. It had nice rooms and a nice staff. It was not equipped for the "one day of summer" we had. The 4th floor room we had became an oven. We were provided a fan. The staff was very apologetic. You do have to ask for room amenities like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed overnight on a business trip. The hotel room was a hugely comfortable, extremely clean, nicely designed double. On the way out to a business lunch, I mentioned, to the front desk, that the room was a little warm (it was midsummer after all); when I got back, I found two fans had been placed in the room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank N3845TRinfo
Gilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes location of the hotel is excellent and the appearance of the hotel from the outside impresses as does the foyer and downstairs rooms. We were greeted by friendly members of staff and throughout our stay found all staff to be very attentive and helpful. Then came the let down.We were in a standard double room which was just ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan F
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Dan F Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay My apologies you felt disappointed in your room, we carry out a regular maintenance programme at the hotel and I'm glad that your found the room clean and the staff friendly and helpful There are individual thermostatic controls in all rooms, however I am sorry that you found... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was looking forward to an overnight stay in a boutique hotel. Nothing good to say. Staff were overstretched and unhelpful, room was basic but clean but dirty glasses left outside room from previous occupant. Breakfast at £16.50 was a disgrace - asked for full English arrived with no bacon and extra mushrooms ordered on wrong plate - chef obviously was... More 

Helpful?
Thank chb55
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear chb55 Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast. We offer guests who choose a room only rate a discounted breakfast rate of £12 per person which I can see you took advantage of, however the charge was removed from your bill after your comments to reception. Our breakfast in general gets very... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Front desk staff were very helpful - I mentioned the chair was on it's last leg and that it should be repaired before it gave way completely. By the time we returned from our morning walk the chair had been replaced. They offer free WiFi, a must nowadays, but it was so slow it would've been better not to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pagewo
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Pagewo Thank you very much for your kind comments - I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us My apologies for the wifi being slow, it is sometimes used heavily at the same time which can have an effect. Our parking service is chargeable at £15 for 24 hours but still offers great value for our city location. Look... More 

dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on a Sunday evening at the Bonham via one of their offers - Scrumptious Sundays. It was amazingly good value. The staff provide superb service and the food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location, walkable to the city centre and located on a quiet, very grand road.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline Thank you very much for your fantastic 5 star review, we truly appreciate your very kind comments! I'm delighted you found everything to your liking and look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited The Bonham for a birthday treat. Warm friendly staff. Food was absolutely amazing. Brilliant 2 or 3 course lunch menu. The lamb just melted in your mouth. And the rhubarb sponge was fantastic. We had a voucher deal and would have been happy to pay full price. Definitely one you need to visit. The chef had made a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arlenewhyte
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Arlenewhyte Many thanks for your great review of your lunch at the Bonham, I'm delighted you all enjoyed your day so much and the birthday plate from chef went down well! Look forward to seeing you again for the next celebration Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
439 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with good atmosphere and good location - nicely renovated , the rooms are nice and big enough but wooden floors and NO CARPETS would make it even better ... efficient and friendly staff ... perfect for a leisure stay in Edinburgh

Helpful?
Thank Matthias F
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear MatthiasF Thank you very much for your kind review - we appreciate you taking the time to post and look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager More 

Killcare, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the positives ... The location is excellent, the hotel being situated in an attractive residential terrace about 10 minutes walk from Princes Street. The staff we encountered were friendly, obliging and very understanding. Unfortunately from here on my review of The Bonham is decidedly uncomplimentary. It is certainly not the luxury boutique hotel it purports to be. We booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank HgrVaruna
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Hgrvaruna Thank you for your recent review and I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed in your stay with us. I'm glad we were able to arrange a room that more met your requirements for your stay but of course would like you to have left the hotel with a positive impression. As is common in many UK... More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is as above lovely, clean warm comfy. Plenty of places to sit down and relax. The staff we found always pleasant, smiling and happy to help. Just passing through there was a feeling of tranquility, nothing rushed, it really was relaxing. It was on the higher end of what we would pay, but considering the proximity to west... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James D
DCampbell71, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear James D Many thanks for your very kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to post! I'm so glad to see you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Our location is indeed perfect, just close enough to everything but peaceful and quiet too Look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

591 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (258)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Channings Hotel
#41 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily
Tigerlily
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Bonham
Restaurant at The Bonham
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Gluten Free, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bonham is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham hotel in Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $116 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay