We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Save
1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR Scotland
Visit hotel website
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$127
$122
View Deal
SAVE $5
Sheraton.com
$127
$122
View Deal
SAVE $5
Trip.com
$127
$122
View Deal
SAVE $5
Expedia.com$122
Hotels.com$122
Nustay.com$127
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1119)
Room & Suite (245)
Videos (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The hotel is part of the Sheraton Grand tier, a collection of premium hotels and resorts that feature the highest level of design and warm, friendly and personalised service. Be greeted by our kilted doormen on arrival and benefit from our concierge team’s wealth of knowledge for a personal and effortless travel experience. Wake up to exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle from our Castle View Rooms and Suites before discovering every nook and cranny of the Royal Mile and historic Old Town or shopping to your heart’s content on Princes Street and in the New Town. Take advantage of our 24 hour room service and stay connected throughout your stay with Bluetooth media hub, Wi-Fi and interactive television in your room. Stay on our Club Level for exclusive access to the Club Lounge, serving continental breakfast, drinks and canapés, and full access to One Spa, Scotland’s most renowned urban thermal spa experience, with iconic rooftop Hydropool and newly refurbished Thermal Suite.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Free internet
Wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Facial treatments
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
209Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
63Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
3,582Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,239
  • 915
  • 256
  • 108
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My rating based on check in process - 2 issues I was told while checking in that my booking did not include breakfast and that I was welcome to have breakfast but for a not insignificant additional charge (which I politely declined). On checking out I learnt that in fact my room rate did in fact include breakfast, very frustrating. Lesson learned - need to bring print out of Sheraton booking confirmation. Also receptionist not happy that I only had my credit card as identification, in my view you shouldn’t need two forms of identification for an email confirmed advanced booking.
Read more
Response from SheratonEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh
Responded 3 days ago
Dear geddii Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and I am very sorry to learn that you had issues at check in. Please can you contact me directly at lena.wessler@sheraton.com to discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards Lena Wessler Front Office Manager
Read more
Rooms were clean , staff were really nice and welcoming, afternoon tea did not disappoint ! great central location, spa was great with lots of facilities and outdoor pool Is great however the view from it is a bit disappointing
Read more
We stayed here for 3 nights around New Year and really enjoyed our stay. The property is very well maintained and the rooms are quite nice. The only downside was the lounge was in a temporary area, but the reception on New Years Eve was a nice touch.
Read more
I stayed one night with my sister, we booked a twin club room as we were keen to use the spa facilities. The hotel is lovely and we liked the location. The car park had lots of spaces and we felt the hotel parking rate was good. Check in is supposed to be guaranteed by 3pm, we arrived at 1230 and didn’t expect our room so we were happy to leave our luggage and go for lunch. The gentleman on front desk was helpful and assured us our room would be ready by 3pm and he would call my mobile if it was earlier. We arrived back at 3pm and were advised our room was not ready but shouldn’t be long, use the club lounge and we will call you. Half an hour went by and still nothing, so I went back down. The lady checked and said it’s not ready and I’m not sure when it will be. I explained we had booked to use the Spa at 3pm and were keen to get checked in. She went to discuss with the manager and came back to offer me a downgrade to a standard room, with our room key set up to up to get spa access and the lounge. I was pretty disappointed in this but by now it was 3.45. I explained this and asked how long it would be for our room but she couldn’t say. So it was take it or wait for a club room with no ETA! As we had only one night it really did put a dampener on our experience. We called later and asked to move since we felt were unhappy to have a downgrade. The club lounge in the evening was fab with wonderful service. We also loved the spa facilities, one of the best we’ve used. We paid £5 supplemental for breakfast in the main restaurant and it was very nice indeed with lots of choice.
Read more
Was thru in Edinburgh to attend a concert at The Usher Hall, since this hotel is directly across the roadI decided to treat myself and stay here... I checked in online the day before, so I assumed it would be a simple matter of picking up my key at reception on my arrival and then heading up to my room. Sadly this was not the case, on arrival the first question I was asked by the male on the desk was do I have photographic ID on me ? I have to say as someone who travels throughout the UK staying in hotels this is the first time I've been asked for photographic ID any any hotel, including many Bonvey Marriot Hotels. I explained that I did not have photo ID, I do not drive so no licence plus last time i checked a passport was not required to travel from Glasgow to Edinburgh !!! At this point the male at the counter looked stumped and said I could not check in without photo ID ? I then asked to speak to his supervisor, unfortunately she said the same !!! By this time there was a few people waiting behind me and I was starting to get conscious of these people watching me struggle to check in and my levels of embarrassment were spiralling !!!! After the best part of 20 minutes of discussion with the desk the only solution they could come up with, was me to open my online banking app so that the could see the booking on my credit card statement, so you had to members of staff checking out my personal private finances to confirm my ID !!!!!! After this I got my room key, but the damage was done by this point, any enjoyment I wasting to get from staying here was gone after this appalling treatment, bearing in mind this room cost me nearly £200 for the night.... Also despite taking a credit card authorisation at Check In the Mini Bar was locked in my room, after my treatment at reception I really couldn't be bothered complaining about the Mini Bar.... I was really looking forward to staying in this 5 Star Hotel but since I received one star treatment at check in, I very much doubt I'll be back here and will go back to my usual Edinburgh Hotel, who nay not be 5 Star bit you certainly get 5 star treat meant unlike here.......
Read more
Response from SheratonEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Big_Jimbo_Mac Thank you for sharing your comments with us from your recent stay with us and we are very sorry that you had issues when checking in. We ask for photographic ID upon check-in as it is standard procedure for security reasons that all of our guests need to present proof of identification that they are the person that made the reservation. This should have been confirmed to you when you made your reservation, however I am disappointed to read that you were made to feel embarrassed. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please contact me at lena.wessler@sheraton.com to arrange a convenient time for a follow up. Once again please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to hearing from you. Best regards Lena Wessler Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton grand hotel edinburgh, sheraton grand hotel and spa, sheraton edinburgh, edinburgh grand hotel sheraton, edinburgh sheraton spa, sheraton spa edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
269
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.3 miles), National War Museum of Scotland (0.3 miles), and The Lyceum Theatre (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toro Latino Cafe & Grill, Taxidi, and Forage & Chatter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.4 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 miles), and Gilmerton Cove (4.0 miles).