We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Four Sisters Boatel

Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Four Sisters Boatel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We booked a short stay at the Boatel and having been on barges before fully understood what to expect in terms of the accommodation size and facilities. I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before but felt compelled to do so on this occasion. The standard of cleanliness was poor and the Boatel in desperate need of a deep... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank 2016AvaT
Glasgow
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We stayed here with our kids for one night. The kids loved the boat with the bunk beds for my son and my daughter got her own double bed which she loved! The boat is well equipped if you want to cook but we got a takeaway pizza from Papa John's along the road which suited us. We had breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicthechick28
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2016

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend on the boat with my family. Comfortable and clean with everything we could possibly need. Natalie was great and made us feel welcome. We requested a welcome hamper which was beautifully presented and full of lovely fresh produce. All bedding and towels are provided and it was a real adventure for the kids who loved sleeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Udam B
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

The location was good, but I would describe the experience more with staying in a travel trailer.Tight spaces.cant really move around in the shower.Lines were old and some of the pillow cases had holes and the bathroom,let's just say we tried to use the bathrooms outside the boat as much as possible,since you could not flush paper and had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review

Hello, We are terribly sorry you never enjoyed your stay on board and sorry you chose not to speak about this until i noticed this review on-line. We do say to all our guests to please contact us should you have any problems and we leave our personal mobile numbers on which we are contactable 24/7. I know that upon... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

Great alternative to a hotel everything you need is.provided great central place to visit town centre Edinburgh town centre just a a short stroll would only suit up to four adults they're are bunk beds for children but very small as is the shower but there are showers close by that you can use

Helpful?
Thank maria571965
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We spent one night aboard and it was great. Lovely and warm , easy to use heating . Great wifi connection. The pictures on the sight might make you think it would be noisy but only zizzi is open, the bars are all closed so despite being on a busy walking route we had a very quiet and undisturbed night.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank magpie_travels
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Felt I needed to write this review after a 2 night stay as we were really disappointed with the stay,so much so we were out and hitting the pub 30 mins after check in.when we arrived there was a guy leaving with a dog which had obviously been on the boat as we could smell it(or so we thought at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ddonnamac4
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review

Madam, upon booking I could tell immediately you were going to be difficult to please. And when you arrived with your lack of communication and facial expression I was conscious you already had decided you were not going to enjoy your stay. You will notice another review posted in the same day as this one saying completely the opposite to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

Lovely barge, in a great location. Had a really nice weekend break at the 4 Sister's, its so different! So well equipped for a relaxing self catering break in the heart of Edinburgh. The owners are really accommodating and there is obviously so much to do within walking distance or a short taxi/drive. Beautiful, serene, peaceful :)

Helpful?
4 Thank Si M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Had a great night Excellent facilities Everything you need Met on arrival and the owners daughter was very helpful and friendly Would recommend this to anybody that wants a centre location Would like to revisit soon

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We had a great night in January on that boat. The owner was waiting for us, as was arranged . she is a lovely girl. The place was cozy and ready for us to use. Very close to tesco and restaurants, but you will find more then you think necessarily staff on the boat. Will come back there with my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank agnita75
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
New Town
Tigerlily
Tigerlily
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
The Retreat Castle Rooms
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Church Manor B&B
#2 of 4 in Kilwinning
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Sisters luxury 4 star Boatel has 2 double cabins a set of child sized bunk beds (5'4" x 2'6")and a double sofa bed in the lounge (for larger groups) for your sole use. She is moored in the city centre within walking distance to all major attractions. The tariff quoted is for the entire boatel with use of all on board facilities :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Four Sisters Boatel

Address: Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $194 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Four Sisters Boatel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Four Sisters Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Four Sisters Boatel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay