We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cityroomz Edinburgh

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cityroomz Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked the room because of it value. The location is great. The family room had bunk beds sleeping 4. As other stated the family rooms are 117 & 118 they are outside of the breakfast room. Which does get loud around 7, but we usually woke up than or 8ish. For family value of dollar couldn't recommend the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiamtheCanadian
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just stayed one night for concert up at the castle. hotel is well located for convenience to Princess St, transport, shops, castle, etc. Best point is good value for money. Rooms clean and shower was very good. Staff were very helpful and it was really useful to leave suitcase with hotel before and after checking in! We in room 308... More 

Helpful?
Thank Comp21
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel for our anniversary as it was close to the main street. The staff on the front desk were lovely. We arrived in Edinburgh earlier so that we could spend the full day there and they were happy enough to keep our belongings locked up until we came back to check in. Once we returned to check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The location is great. Near public transportation, many restaurants and bars and Edinburgh castle. The room was comfortable and clean. There's 24 hours reception and the staff are nice. We booked breakfast for one morning and it was a little bit of disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Idan H
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Idan Thank you for leaving a lovely review of your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms and than you for your kind comment about our staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked two rooms there for the pure fact it had bunk beds for the kids. We had two rooms but we were located near where breakfast was served (rooms 116-117) it was loud with the door opening and closing which got us up at 530 am. Not ideal. It was a walk away from waverly but still.it was perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoyabean
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Zoyabean Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your family stay with us. I am sorry about the noise, and as a result of your feedback we will review out breakfast room set up procedures (breakfast service starts at 7am). I am pleased to hear that you would stay again with your family... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first stay at this hotel, the lady on the check in was friendly. I was told that I had been moved to the 4th floor as there had been a flood in my room on the 1st floor. The room itself was perfectly nice with reasonable facilities and at the rear of the hotel. The problem was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geofftraveler2015
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Geofftraveler2015 Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had to write about your concerns on TripAdvisor . I can assure you that the only reason you were offered a room on the 4th floor was that on your booking notes you had requested a higher floor. As you have also responded to our own guest survey... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was great. It was close to walk to everything. We walked to Edinburgh Castle in ten minutes. The airport bus stop is right in front of the hotel, so is nice not to have to haul your luggage. The bed was amazing and super comfortable. I was really surprised and the rooms were bigger than what we experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly R
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Holly A perfect 5 stars, thank you so much. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our super comfortable bed (we get great feedback for our custom made mattresses). Great to hear that the location also met your requirements and thank you for your kind words about our helpful staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was very impressed with the room and the service from the staff. The room is tiny - but when in Edinburgh who wants to waste time in their room right. The room has everything packed in. Hair dryer, coffee tea making facilities and even and iron and ironing board. Hotel staff are super quick to address your requests. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne1313
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Anne Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review. I am so pleased that you were impressed by both the rooms and the service from our helpful staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed at cityroomz 2 nights in June. Our room was the 114, was incredibly quiet despite the hotel is located on a busy road. We didn't have breakfast in, so i can't say something about it. Our room wasn't very big but enough for what you need in a hotel room, it has a tv, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ilaria b
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Ilaria b Thank you for leaving a review. Your feedback regarding cleanliness is important as generally we get great feedback from guests and we score very highly, we will of course investigate and resolve the issues you mention. I am pleased that you liked our central location and the quietness in the room. Kind regards Javeed Anwar More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The perfect hotel for a brief stay in Edinburgh. Rooms aren't luxurious, but that wasn't what we were looking for. The price can't be beat and the rooms are nice, beds was comfortable. I don't recommend the breakfast, the menu sounds better in theory than execution. Wifi was also terrible in the room.

Helpful?
Thank Karl B
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Karl Thank you for leaving a review. Sorry to hear that breakfast fell short of expectation, we generally get great feedback, apologies also for the wi-fi, it should be fast and free as we have a dedicated fibre optic broadband line. We will look into why it was not working correctly. Thank you for your positive comments about our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#64 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $77 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay