We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Traveler (327)
Room & Suite (261)
Dining (84)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
279Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
140Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,301Reviews
732Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 639
  • 427
  • 144
  • 70
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Was there for Sunday lunch with our son. We had enjoyed a recent lunch there which he had given us as a present at Xmas so decided to show him what we had raved about. Setting lovely, service attentive but relaxed and the food was really good, well worth the £24.95 charge for 4
Read more
I chose Hotel Du Vin's bistro for a surprise dinner for my wife on Valentines and we were not disappointed. This restaurant is a true gem. The service, food and atmosphere were simply perfect and I cannot recommend it enough. We'll be back again soon.
Read more
We stayed at the Hotel du Vin & Bistro. It turned out to be excellent location, excellent rooms, and even better restaurant. One of our best meals during our tour we enjoyed it at this restaurant. The attention was great. I had heard so much about Edinburgh and I confess I
Read more
Response from HDV_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Henry Thank you so much for your kind words. We love both our hotel and our bistro and our team is the heart and soul of our operations. We very much look forward to welcoming you again very soon, warmest regards, Ben Bel, General Manager
Read more
We had a great afternoon at HDV Edinburgh in the Bedlam room. Birthday lunch for 10 people. From the initial booking with Martyna through to the excellent service on the day from Molly (thanks you were great) our whole party had a great time. We had pre-lunch drinks (and caught
Read more
Response from HDV_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. We loved having you and your family for this special occasion and very much look forward to seeing you again very soon, warmest regards, Ben Bel, General Manager
Read more
My husband and I were given a voucher for Sunday Brunch for our birthday. We also took along our nearly 8 year old son. We had a fantastic, relaxing afternoon. Food and wine delicious. Our son didn’t want what was available for kids starters, so after speaking to Ashley, he
Read more
Response from HDV_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind words, we love our brunch and Ashley and the team always try their very best to make it a fun and relaxing time for all. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, warmest regards, Ben Bel, General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel du Vin & Bistro
The Dom Perignon Master Suite at the Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel du Vin & Bistro
The Dom Perignon Master Suite at the Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel du Vin & Bistro
The La Grande Dame Suite at the Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Bathtub
our room
PreviousNext
12345653
A taxi is the best option if you have bags. Not sure about Uber. Plenty of taxis at the airport.
0 votes
Show all answers
Not sure if they would deliver your breakfast to the room --- but its worth asking. I found them quite willing to go the extra mile for their guests. Have fun!
0 votes
Show all answers
Q-park about 300 yds walk away, the hotel offered a good discount on the fee. It is a rather convoluted drive and quite a distance to drive despite the proximity by foot.
0 votes
Show all answers
I didn't notice any smell it at all....I think I saw the room which had thick double glazing around it so it looked pretty airtight.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Its very quiet at the hotel. Walking distance everywhere. We took a cab from the railstation but very close."
"First floor best."
"All our rooms were excellently located."
"1st floor, near the bar has easiest access to all of hotel amenities."
"We had room Belle Epoque which was beautiful and quite."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin and bistro
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing