We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Show Prices
#31 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,975 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,663: English reviews
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very happy with our three nights here. Room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. It is located by the end of Princess Street so close to shopping and restaurants. The Christmas Market was open and we really enjoyed being close to that. The only two cons we had were: check in was very slow (girl in training, having a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmetts2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

From the moment that we checked in - for 4 nights - until leaving everything was perfect at this hotel. Without asking we were upgraded to a luxury room at no additional cost - a rare occurance these days. As you would therefore expect - but not always the case - a very comfortable bed, great bathroom and shower. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eve20878
Croscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This Apex hotel is such good value. The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very good and comfortable - beds are amazing. The location can't be bettered. Breakfasts are fresh and hot dishes cooked to order.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Weekend away with teenagers. Staff were very helpful and location is excellent. Continental breakfast a bit too plain but ok for dinner. Bar area nice. Kids enjoyed pool although we didn't try spa. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markc996
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear markc996 Thank you for writing a review of your recent visit to our hotel. I am pleased that overall your enjoyed your time with us and that your found the team helpful. I do hope you keep us in mind if you find yourself returning to Edinburgh in the future. Kindest regards Alan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here on my own whilst in Edinburgh for work and was not disappointed. This was my first trip to an Apex hotel in the city having previously favored other similar hotels when travelling, but I found it to be an extremely pleasant experience. Aside from it being an aesthetically enjoyable hotel, the room itself (just a standard double)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire f
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear claire f Thanking for posting an online review of your experience here at Apex Waterloo Place. It was really pleasing to read that your stay was of such a positive nature, especially that you had such an enjoyable breakfast as we see this as a vital part of any hotel experience. I do hope we get to welcome you...

Wilster, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It felt good starting the day by having a great breakfast or coming back having a break in the room. Im shure the pool and other facilities where fine as well but there was not enough time doing all we planed on this shorttrip....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerstenf2017
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kerstenf2017 Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay and for your kind words about our hotel room and breakfast. I do hope you return in the not too distant future so that you can enjoy any aspects of our hotel and city you didn't quite fit in this time around. Kindest regards Alan

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All staff members were exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times. You could not ask for better customer service. Thank you to all of you for a wonderful and memorable stay. We could not ask for anything that was not immediately taken care of during our 10 day stat at this wonderful place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank agnes171
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear agnes171 Thank you for completing an online review of your recent stay here at Apex Waterloo Place. I was really pleased to read that we were able to deliver the highest level of service during your 10 days with us, as this is something we all truly pride ourselves on. I do hope that we get to welcome you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location, near Waverley station and with access to many local buses at two bus stops just outside the front and back doors. We had a "superior double" room -- I went for that rather than the city double, as we were there for a week and I didn't want to feel closed-in.. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobettemc
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bobettemc Thank you for completing an online review of your recent stay. I was truly pleased to read that you enjoyed your week with us here at Apex Waterloo Place. I was especially pleased to read that you found the team pleasant and helpful as this is something we truly pride ourselves upon. I do hope we get to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room: spacious and clean Location: Ideal Staff: Friendly Pool: Freezing and I was informed this is normal in apex hotels by another person staying there. No robes or slippers given. We chose this hotel because it had that extra, the pool and spa and we were disappointed and only went once as I was afraid of getting a chill on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 682daynas
Kerry
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice modern hotel set into old building frontage. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast but continental would have sufficed. Bar was a bit soulless and didn't spend much time there but plenty of interesting bars and restaurants within 5 min. walk. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and Concierge was exceptionally good at booking a good restaurant on the evening of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KerryMaurice
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KerryMaurice Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Apex Waterloo Place. I was really pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your hotel experience, especially that you found our staff helpful and friendly. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Alan

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,078 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (909)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (239)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (360)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
City Double Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
732 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,479 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,044 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $105 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and other travelers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for room with tub and shower if you want both.”
 of 5 bubbles bobettemc, 3 days ago | Read review
“not suitable for smokers”
 of 5 bubbles KerryMaurice, 4 days ago | Read review
“We have stayed on several occasions and never had problems of noise or comfort”
 of 5 bubbles dralexander1, 5 days ago | Read review
“Views not good but rooms are very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 717jacquies, 6 days ago | Read review
“The upper rooms have great views of the city's skyline”
 of 5 bubbles I7196LJdeborahb, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay