We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashton Guest House

40 Roseangle, Dundee DD1 4LY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashton Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to make a visit to Dundee uni for some coursework. Booked single ensuite but was upgraded to a double ensuite. Great value for 35 per night. Minutes walk from uni and city centre so location was perfect for me. Breakfast very good. Room comfy. Free WiFi and parking made this a great find for me. I will be returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Had an enjoyable stay at Easter with the kids (and hubby), so when Grandparents offered to kid sit for the weekend we decided to make a return visit. Spent two very comfortable and peaceful nights at the Ashton. Cannot fault the room which, again, was clean, comfortable and spacious. Full cooked breakfast was great especially as I didn't have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank heather l
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Just spent a six week stay at the Ashton whilst carrying out a job in Dundee. Guest house is clean, comfortable with a good breakfast every morning. Room was spacious. I booked a single ensuite but was given a double room instead, this was great for me to spread out when doing my business paperwork. Would recommend. Very accommodating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy F
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

This is the worst b@b. I have stay in a long time. Guy moan has we arrived. The bedroom had not enough milk or teabags. Beds were damp that you couldn't lye on. Room hadn't been service crumbs and dust everywhere. Breakfast was basic and all microwave Lorne sausage wasn't cook and they rush you through to finish. Never saw... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
40ROB, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Ruth B, Following your recent stay with us, we did anticipate some form of negative feedback due to the behaviour of your group. No complaints/comments were made by any of your group at the time of your stay. In answer to your alleged complaints we would firstly like to point out that when making a booking all our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Had to attend a work related short course at Dundee University. Ashton was ideally located for this. I booked an ensuite room and was delighted with the spacious room I was offered. I had to do some studying during my stay and the room proved very comfortable with good natural light and good WiFi connection. The university was just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Decided to stay again at Ashton as had a lovely stay when last visited Dundee. Booked over the telephone and Manager recognised me when I arrived to check it, very welcoming. Again room was light, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast thoroughly enjoyable. Ashton has become my first choice when visiting Dundee. Great value for money. Thanks to all for a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank violet l
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

Stayed previously at this well located guest house when dropping daughter off at university. Thought we would surprise her with a quick visit. No hesitation in booking at the Ashton. Once again room, service and location make this place good value for money. Off street parking was ideal as we drove to Dundee but, due to the location, we spent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

It is located very near the University of Dundee. Very handy for people taking there students or visiting students. The centre of Dundee is about fifteen minutes walking. We had a problem with the temperature in the bathroom as the heating was not on and we felt it was cold for us.

Helpful?
Thank Marina C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Working in area needed affordable accommodation with parking. Ashton was a great find. Close to bars, restaurants etc, with off street parking and great breakfasts. Ensuite room for two of us was good value. Room was comfortable and breakfast was always on time (good for us with an early start). Will be booking again when back in Dundee.

Helpful?
Thank Leon G
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Was looking for an affordable place to stay for the Open golf being held in St Andrews. Friend suggested the Ashton due to its location and type of accommodation. Was not disappointed. Room comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff attentive and helpful. Room serviced daily and breakfast always served on time. Rate for room was especially good value for money as,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fraser C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#11 of 30 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

#