We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ashton Guest House

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashton Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just have a great couple of days in Dundee for brothers graduation from uni. Parents have stayed at Ashton before and we're especially pleased that the rate had not increased due to the high demand for accommodation during grad week. Great rooms, spacious, bright and comfortable. Given location was quiet at night so good night's sleep was had by all.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

I have stayed in the Ashton Guest House a number of times, - most recently for a couple of weeks holiday in my City of origin - BONNIE DUNDEE!! It has always provided a warm, comfortable, and spotlessly clean room with the marvellous addition of a very good full cooked breakfast in the morning. Additionally there is a microwave and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken A
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Ashton guest house and happy again clean warm and spacious rooms. Clean and warm ensuite and a good shower. Short walk from the local pubs and eateries. And breakfast can't be complained at either served on time and a very good Scottish breakfast can't complain at all and I will be back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

Had a very nice one night stay in march. Good value, room excellent. Breakfast very enjoyable. Great location just a short walk to Caird hall in city centre. Walkable distance to train station (ideal for me) but also has free off street parking. Great alround budget accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank kelly21croydon
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

Had to make a visit to Dundee uni for some coursework. Booked single ensuite but was upgraded to a double ensuite. Great value for 35 per night. Minutes walk from uni and city centre so location was perfect for me. Breakfast very good. Room comfy. Free WiFi and parking made this a great find for me. I will be returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Just spent a six week stay at the Ashton whilst carrying out a job in Dundee. Guest house is clean, comfortable with a good breakfast every morning. Room was spacious. I booked a single ensuite but was given a double room instead, this was great for me to spread out when doing my business paperwork. Would recommend. Very accommodating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy F
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

This is the worst b@b. I have stay in a long time. Guy moan has we arrived. The bedroom had not enough milk or teabags. Beds were damp that you couldn't lye on. Room hadn't been service crumbs and dust everywhere. Breakfast was basic and all microwave Lorne sausage wasn't cook and they rush you through to finish. Never saw... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth B
40ROB, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Ruth B, Following your recent stay with us, we did anticipate some form of negative feedback due to the behaviour of your group. No complaints/comments were made by any of your group at the time of your stay. In answer to your alleged complaints we would firstly like to point out that when making a booking all our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Had to attend a work related short course at Dundee University. Ashton was ideally located for this. I booked an ensuite room and was delighted with the spacious room I was offered. I had to do some studying during my stay and the room proved very comfortable with good natural light and good WiFi connection. The university was just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Decided to stay again at Ashton as had a lovely stay when last visited Dundee. Booked over the telephone and Manager recognised me when I arrived to check it, very welcoming. Again room was light, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast thoroughly enjoyable. Ashton has become my first choice when visiting Dundee. Great value for money. Thanks to all for a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank violet l
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

Stayed previously at this well located guest house when dropping daughter off at university. Thought we would surprise her with a quick visit. No hesitation in booking at the Ashton. Once again room, service and location make this place good value for money. Off street parking was ideal as we drove to Dundee but, due to the location, we spent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.7 mi away
Shaftesbury Lodge
Shaftesbury Lodge
#16 of 32 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Ashton Guest House in Dundee, we are committed to providing affordable accommodation in Dundee.Situated in the West end of the City of Dundee, the Ashton Guest House is ideally situated. Just a few minutes walk from Dundee City Centre, City Square, Dundee's two Universities - Dundee University and Abertay University, Dundee Technology Park, Dundee Railway Station and Airport, Dundee's cultural quarter and the popular Perth Road with its own variety of shops, pubs, theatres & restaurants.An excellently located Guest House, offering great value for money. Ensuite & Standard rooms available. All prices include breakfast, free wifi and private parking.Our Ethos is to ensuire ALL our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay.Dundee University main campus including Dundee University Admissions and Student Recruitment, Airlie Place is just a few minutes walk away.Close to the heart of the City, private off street car parking is available, making the Ashton Guest House an ideal base for touring Scotland or just a short break to discover the delights of Dundee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashton Guest House

Address: 40 Roseangle, Dundee DD1 4LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: $33 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ashton Guest House Dundee, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing