We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Save
Share
13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$65
Tripadvisor$62
Travelocity
Priceline$66
Hotels.com$65
Agoda.com$62
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (143)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (20)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 29 hotels in Dundee
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the hotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
986Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 478
  • 318
  • 119
  • 45
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Natmayhew wrote a review Sep 23
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom61 contributions63 helpful votes
Walked in and was wowed by how stunning the entrance is. Stunning. Check in nice and simple as done online. Friendly receptionist. Room was very spacious and lovely. Shower very powerful, nice to have a bath too. Breakfast was lovely however could have been hotter seeing as we were first ones to Breakfast. The wedding was beautiful and the canapés drinks and dinner were beautiful. So tasty. Pool facilities amazing. Love the pool jacuzzi and saunas, gym looked good too well worth paying extra for. Had some dinners in hotel and they were so tasty. Nothing was ant trouble and all staff Friendly. Would definitely return here Thanks for a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
George T wrote a review Sep 12
Newtongrange, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi went for a wee holiday with friends The staff were fantastic they could Not do enough to help us the breakfast staff and food was very extremely good the quality and cleanliness was fantastic the staff at the swimming pool were also extremely good they never stopped cleaning and made us so comfortable and welcoming well done five star pool room service was good as well my partner asked for ice at the bar Billy’ was not helpful and upset her there were 2 weddings on that weekend and busy busy staff exceptional under pressure only one complaint our friends bed mattress needs put in the bin it’s got more bumps than all the Munro s We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are sorry that your friend was upset by the attitude of a member of staff and will be dealing with that as it is not acceptable, and of the standard that we expect. We hope you will return to us soon. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
syd12016 wrote a review Sep 11
Angus, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival it looked very impressing on the outside, inside was a little dated but a nice lounge. Check in was quick and efficient, room was on the first floor but the use of a lift was handy for the wife. Room 115 was very spacious and warm and had a great view looking out over the hills smallish bathroom with bath, would have preferred a walk in shower. Breakfast was very good, buffet type so could have plenty and lots of choice, was not too keen on the ala carte dinner menu, if I was to visit again I would select from the main menu but as we had booked DB&B we had to have the meals. Leisure pool was very good and a good size and had a Sauna and whirlpool, free entry and secure lockers. All the staff were very helpful and polite an asset to the Hotel and Manager.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 115 large and good views. Looks over the car park and very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Should you return to us, please call us to book and we will assure that you are allocated a room with a walk in shower. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul G wrote a review Aug 2022
77 contributions62 helpful votes
Stayed here primarily for the pool (which you now have to pay extra for). The pool was warm and the pool area clean. Good jacuzzi and sauna, although the steam room was cool. Breakfast was plentiful and fine, although pre-packaged pastries is disappointing. Our family room was dated in appearance and the furniture all needs refreshed. One side of the large bed had a sagging mattress, and the armchair needed its cushion replaced. That said, it clean and comfortable enough. The hotel is in a leafy and upmarket part of Dundee, walking distance down to Broughty Ferry (and its great shops and beaches) for some.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. Best Regards, Pam, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travler1232022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Dundee, United Kingdom1 contribution
Great stay, holiday clean and staff super friendly was here for a wedding and it was a great weekend. Staff were attentive, food was tasty no complaints really, only suggestion I would give is to put your fan on when you arrive as rooms very warm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope you will return. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret D wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel, friendly staff, delicious food. The hotel has a nice patio to sit and enjoy the sun and have a coffee, drink etc. Everything is kept spotless and the rooms are comfortable with fluffy towels and nice toiletries. Enjoyed our stay immensely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you have had an enjoyable time with us and will pass on your compliments to the team. We hope you will return soon. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAMES S wrote a review Aug 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom63 contributions28 helpful votes
lovely hotel with excellent decor and facilities, food generally good but breakfast let the hotel down as cooked breakfast was cold , we did mention this to staff on duty at the resteraunt but was not rectified, also staff on the reception could have been more friendly , as nothing was said when we returned our keys asking if everthing was ok,all we got was the bill , no thank you or goodbye , most disappointing , we have stayed in many hotels and courtesy was always first class , sorry it lets your hotel down badly hence the 9 rating , it would normally be 10
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: King rooms in Abercromby wingare excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you felt the reception staff could have been friendlier on your departure, as this is not our usual level of service. I will also mention the breakfast temperature to the chef. We hope you will return soon. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freybon wrote a review Aug 2022
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom76 contributions63 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel and had the experience of three separate rooms - each were very clean and the housekeeping team are very much to be commended. The twin rooms are a good sized though the furniture can be tired also, you may find a shower over bath though the shower is a good quality and you feel that you are clean! My only gripe with all of the shower facilities was that whoever installed the soap dispenser put it up far too high to make is accessible for shorter folk! The bed in the first room was far too soft while the bed in the second room was far too hard We also had a double which was a much nicer room, newer furniture and an upgraded bathroom with walk in shower, though the room was far smaller, the beds had been badly joined together which made for a large bed though an uncomfortable centre section. I did feel that the shower would have benefitted from a grab rail in each of the bathrooms I would also recommend that you check what floor you are on and if it is accessible via lift if you have any mobility problems. The breakfast was tasty and the staff were very friendly, it was noticeable that the vegan sausages were possibly chosen by a meat eater (too "meaty tasting"). Staffing wise, we did notice a big difference between breakfast on the Saturday and breakfast on the Sunday. Saturday team seemed to work well and everyone seemed relaxed, Sunday team there was a supervisor (female, blonde, older lady) who seemed to be getting on at a member of staff, they were also having a good moan as a group about somebody/something. It was just a little crass and it could have been done outwith the earshot of customers. I came for a relaxing weekend away, I don't need to hear staff drama. We did like the breakfast room, was nice and bright, almost reminded me of being abroad, really nice decor. We found that the bar closed up fairly early on an evening, staff seemed to be a bit irritated with anybody coming in "late" - If honest, I have never seen a hotel bar close that early. The car park is large and ample, though more disabled spaces are required (there are two/three) and they were always taken. Indeed, due to poor parking of fellow guests, it may have helped if the parking spaces were properly defined with white lines. We enjoyed the pool area, we felt that a few simple disabled accessible adaptions could be installed we were also disappointed that the price was in addition to the cost of the stay, this could have worked out very expensive for us, not sure that a flat rate actually works in this respect. As a final point, we have always found it very hard to book this hotel it is always very popular at weekends (hence why we had a broken booking) hence would recommend booking in advance, it does appear to be popular for weddings and we think it would be a nice place for a wedding, though in future we might just phone and avoid trying to book online.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you for your review. We can only apologise about the inappropriate behaviour of our breakfast staff and we will address this with them as it is highly unacceptable, and not up to the standard we expect. The reason for your room moves was that your stay came in to us as 3 separate bookings, of 3 different room types. We were unaware that you had mobility issues until your arrival, as you hadn't booked disable access rooms, and had we known this in advance, we would have allocated ground floor rooms for you where possible. With regards to the bar closing early, the shutters are down as after 11pm the bar is closed to non-residents only. We would always advise calling the hotel to book directly, in order to receive the best price, and to be allocated the best room type for your needs. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil G wrote a review Aug 2022
Stamford, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Once again our stay at the Woodlands was brilliant. We received the warmest welcome on arrival and the rest of the staff were superb. This was our 20th annual visit. Many thanks Nikki, see you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay again, and look forward to seeing you next year. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Exploration522709 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Dated, standard room, very basic facilities. Had inroom WiFi issues that were eventually resolved by the reception staff. The sparsely furnished room made it feel under dressed. No seating provided and the lighting was inaccessible from the bed. .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikki Roberston, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. Should you wish to return to us, please contact us directly and we will allocate you a more suitable room. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dundee, dundee best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Woodlands Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Axe Hurling Dundee (4.6 miles), Dundee Museum Of Transport (3.7 miles), and Escape Rooms Dundee (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cobbies Bar and Kitch Inn, Collinsons Restaurant, and Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Claypotts Castle (1.2 miles), Drinking Fountain (4.1 miles), and Wishart Arch (4.3 miles).
Is Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.