We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Show Prices
#16 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Dundee
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2015

Not wanting to pay the inflated prices in Perth for the Rwind Festival, we decided to stay at this Hotel. we wer not disappointed in any way. It is in a very central location, the breakfast was fine and names and phone numbers were given for local restaurants / take away for something to eat at night. After choosing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Brian G, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am pleased the hotel met your expectations and the team helped you organise some gluten free food. I hope you had a lovely time at Rewind and both myself and the team look forward to welcoming you on your next visit....

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my father and brother when they came to visit because I thought that this hotel would be great value for money, even though my father really wanted to stay at the Premier Inn. The room was alright (definitely nothing to write home about) but let me reliably inform you: the breakfast that comes with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Crystal S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am sorry you found the breakfast was not to the standard you expected, we offer an express start breakfast which is consistent with the Holiday Inn Express brand. I do hope you will stay with us again...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

A simple straight forward solution to your hotel needs. Car park is located right next door, free overnight in effect, so arrange your arrival time to suit the charging times and you are sorted. There is EV charging available too. There's an airbridge on level 2, takes you straight to reception. Welcome is good, staff readily on hand and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Martyn M, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am delighted the hotel met your expectations and the staff were friendly and helpful. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Dundee and both myself and the team look forward...

Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

Good location directly opposite the Tay Bridge. Round the corner your in Dundee city center. Good choice of breakfast. Clean and Tidy. Recommend if visting Scotland. Up and coming City with friendly folk,bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaz340
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Gaz340 Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Dundee. I hope we can all welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Karen Gorman Senior Guest Services Manager

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2015

We stayed one night in room 205. This wasn't our first choice of hotel but that was fully booked. We got a decent rate for booking early. The room overlooked the river and a very busy road outside. We could open the window which we like to do but this obviously lets in the noise. I always wear earplugs as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garstonian
GraemeShewan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Garstonian, Thank you for taking time and reviewing your stay at Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. We pleased you found some aspects of your stay exceptional however we always aim to provide best standards of service in order to make our guest’s stay comfortable and special. The room you stayed is with great river view and we have quiet...

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Well designed room. Excellent central location. Car parking worked well. Would have appreciated a second sheet, because was the room was very warm and the duvet heavy. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Tom E, Thank you very much for your recent stay and honest feedback. It is great to know that you had an overall great stay with us and enjoyed our helpful staff and great City Center location. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning but we always happy to provide extra sheet on request to make your stay comfortable....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night at the holiday inn express while on business in Dundee. It's the sort of place you know what you're getting before you get there. Clean, reasonable room and convenient. My biggest disappointment was the breakfast. The glass for the juice was so small that you'd have to get a couple or make repeat visits. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

DearJames W Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us here in Dundee. Our breakfast is an area where we always focus our attention and our inclusive buffet is offered in line with the Holiday Inn Express brand, and served on hot basis with sausages, eggs and beans alongside cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, toast, cheese and hot drinks....

UK
Reviewed July 23, 2015

I stayed here with a friend and it was in a good location. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The room was big with excellent shower and very clean. However it was quite warm but with the window open it was too noisy so that wasn't good. I was on the side of the river so maybe the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChloeUK19
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear ChloeUK19 Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to Dundee. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the lovely receptionist and large and clean rooms. Kind regards Karen Gorman Senior Guest Services Manager

Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. It is very centrally located just a few minutes from the main shops and restaurants in Dundee. There is parking adjacent to the hotel in the Gellatly Street Multi Storey but the advertised price of £8 for 24 hours is not accurate during the week. Check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFR88
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear KFR88 , Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. The standard room type that you booked is a non-guaranteed room type, and these rooms are allocated at the time of arrival which can be...

Great Waltham
Reviewed July 17, 2015

Stayed here for one night. Hotel spotless. Room spotless, shame no aircon though. There is evening meal on offer but not very inspiring, plenty of choice outside the hotel. Good location although on a main road. No parking, but Multi Story next door closer than any hotel parking if you pick the right level it opens onto reception. Not expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Dundee. I have passed your comments regarding your visit to my colleagues. I hope we can welcome you ball for a future visit. Kind regards Karen Gorman Senior Guest Services Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Dundee staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Dundee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors facing the river”
 of 5 bubbles Royalscott, yesterday | Read review
“front of hotel for best views”
 of 5 bubbles 675peterw675, 1 week ago | Read review
“top floor for a great view”
 of 5 bubbles tigerbrian, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“always ask for higher floor, front row rooms for good view”
 of 5 bubbles Bhagsan, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms situated at the further ends of corridors generally have less footfall and are therefore quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles dangerousbryman, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question