We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gretna Hall

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gretna Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 890: English reviews
Start your review of Gretna Hall
 Click to rate
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely staff and had a lovely wedding here last weekend, we will be deffo going back on our wedding anniversary next year to see all the work they have done to the hotel, it's a lovely hotel dating back to 1710 , and the guys that have just purchased the old building are spending millions on it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garfy21
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Over £14 for one pot of Earl Grey Tea (no extra hot water), one latte, 2 slim pieces of cheesecake decorated with a split strawberry and tiny piping of cream. I'm not faulting the tea, coffee or cake per se, I am just aghast at the price of it, served in a very shabby lounge that has seen far far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scgirl102002
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was also with the party returning from The Highland Hotel , the food was totally inedible. After waiting approx 40 mins we were served white hard potatoes , warm turkey slices , 1 slice of carrot and almost raw parsnip , nothing else at all on the plate !!! My husband ordered fresh fruit salad and had chunks of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marmaduke_12
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here last night on a stopover on the way home with Lochs and Glens coach holidays-absolutely terrible end to a fabulous holiday. Waited 40 minutes for food-starter a rock hard piece of melon-prolonged wait for the coachload of guests to be served their main course one plate at a time. This consisted of a couple of pieces of processed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank netherlanddwarf
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on our way back from The Highland Hotel. We waited for over an hour for our main course to arrive, when it did the vegetables were hard and inedible. When a lot of our party complained no action or apology was forthcoming. Certainly not an hotel to recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely love it here staff are fantastic as is the food well done keep up the good work . This is our 5th time staying we will definitely be back . Close to the Gretna gateway village and the train station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret-ann D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were lovely and attentive. Aneta was especially knowledgable as my mum has celiac and she had a lot of info on what food was gluten free. Dinner and breakfast were lovely! Hotel needs a bit of TLC but read that refurbishment is taking place. Hotel room was still very clean. Definitely need larger bath towels though!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rbaker92
Nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just arrived back from a Skills coach break to Settle - Carlisle railway, did the railway on the journey up onSaturday and stayed here overnight with dinner and breakfast included. Our room (102) was at the rear which meant some noise from the motorway and early morning birds, but it didn't stop us sleeping. The room was very nicely decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratherbegolfing367
Orihuela, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chose this venue for our wedding on arrival we looked at the hotel and thought hope we are not on the side extension,in reception we thought we have made a big mistake very drab and in need of a makeover. We were given room 26 walking to room we new the place was crap room terrible whole place needs gutting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for your review, First and foremost, congratulations to you on your recent wedding. I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall. Some points raised in your review I feel are a touch unfair. While there may be a few areas where we look a little dated, our staff...

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for 2 nights as I was attending a wedding in the hotel. Nice looking hotel from the outside and nice grounds. Small wedding room within the grounds. We were a small party so the room was just perfect for us. A real fire was lit and the room was very cosy. The staff were all very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemmie
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to receive them. For future bookings, we will price match with any online booking agency (always better to book direct!). I hope...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

245 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: $73 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gretna Hall staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
South Shields, United Kingdom
over a year ago
11 months ago
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Gretna Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front will avoid the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Ratherbegolfing367, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room to the front of the hotel to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jemmie, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room not close to the motorway.”
 of 5 bubbles maggieh346, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room overlooking the garden if possible and were allocated room 26 on ground floor which was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 242valerie, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room for the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles mikea25242, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question