We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Peebles Hydro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,489: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a lovely old hotel with a very traditional atmosphere, set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by stunning scenery. It is a warm and welcoming place with efficient and friendly staff. Nice to find wide corridors and plenty of comfortable lounge space. Food is excellent in the large canteen-like dining room. Our room was excellent with a wonderful view... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony T
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback Tony T. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. The team are continuing to work hard to upgrade the many bedrooms in the hydro and will continue to do this. Hopefully next time you join us we can allocate you one of our refurbished rooms. More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay with itison voucher, the room was clean beds were comfortable, not such a good view maybe because of voucher (not sure) but all in all we had a lovely time. The restaurant and food was great and the service too we really enjoyed our spa experience, hot & cold stone back neck and shoulder... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback we are delighted to hear that you both had such an enjoyable time with us, and made the most of our facilities. We hope we can welcome you back to join us again sometime in the future. More 

England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I do appreciate the hotel is mid refurbishment however this does not compensate for the awful room I was put in the 400's. Single bed very small. Felt dirty. To make matters worse the water was cold the next day so not an enjoyable showering experience either with no apology at check out.

Helpful?
Thank michelle0404
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback michelle0404, so sorry to hear that you were so disappointed in the standard of your bedroom. It's not clear from your comments if you'd shared your feelings with the Management at the time, as the team would have liked to try to resolve this, had they been aware. More 

Travelers are raving about these Peebles hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have visited this hotel during the weekend. It's a beautiful hotel with fantastic surroundings which we decided to visit. Billy & Beth were very friendly and helpful in organising our cycling trip. They gave us a good advice which places are the best to visit. All in all we had fantastic weekend, enjoyable cycle by the Tweed and will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iren S
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback Iren S. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit. We are extremely lucky to be in such an amazing location with all of these great cycle trails and walks on our doorstep. The whole team look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Durham, County Durham UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed last night on an overnight break and perhaps saw the best and the worst of the accomaodation. The hotel is clearly in a transiton phase and is having money spent on it to up grade it. We booked two rooms - a twin for our sons and a double. Our sons certainly won the room competition even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Threeboysmum24
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback Threeboysmum24 and it's great to note that you had an enjoyable stay overall. As you saw we are working hard to upgrade the hotel and are working slowly across the building. So sorry to learn, however, that you felt the bed was uncomfortable. All of the beds were replaced last year and, on the whole,... More 

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a one night stay with friends, the hotel is in a fantastic location in Peebles. From the minute we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us, they even had a secure room where we kept our mountain bikes over night.

Helpful?
Thank Karrimor
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

So lovely to hear you had such an enjoyable visit Karrimor. We are in just the right location for those of you who like to go cycling and it's great to hear that you had made the most of our storage facility. We hope you can return soon and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've just spent a night in Peebles Hydro. I purchased a Groupon voucher offering a nights accomodation, prosecco in room on arrival, use of facilities and breakfast. We arrived as a couple at 13:50. The lady at the desk politely informed us our room wasn't quite ready, however we could make use of facilities until it was ready. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback Kathleen L. Sorry to hear that you feel disappointed with the service you received. We will, of course, address this straight away and hope it won't deter you from visiting us in the future. More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have just come back from a fabulous week at the Hydro. This is a special year for our family, with 3 40th birthdays and a 70th so this was a celebratory week. We were a party of 12 (13 the first week-end) from age 8 to 69. Two of the party had refurbished rooms which were really lovely but... More 

Helpful?
Thank _janwatts2
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback _janwatts2. The entire team are delighted to hear that you all had such a enjoyable stay to celebrate all of the special birthdays. We're so lucky to been in such a wonderful location and it's great to hear that yourself and your family had made the most of our facilities and the local area. We... More 

Kendal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had booked a 2 night break for this hotel a few months ago, but a couple of weeks before we were due to go, I read some of the reviews on trip advisor and as they weren't great, I decided to email the hotel. In this email I enquired about the room we would be getting, asking if we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sian840
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Sian840. Having read over your review there are a few areas we have concerns with. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to look in to matters further for you, so if you'd like to contact us directly with more details, we will be sure to give any issues you raise our full attention. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently visited the peebles hydro for a long weekend, this was the first time travelling away with our 6 month old baby. We checked into our room, which was nice and freshly decorated, clean, and nice comfortable beds. The bathroom was really nice, and they had set up the cot for our son as we had requested, we also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments Tracy C we are all delighted to hear that yourself and your family had a pleasant stay. I have passed on your feedback to our Food and Beverage team and hope you will see an improvement next time you all visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

383 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (373)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $83 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay