We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cross Keys Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cross Keys Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Cross Keys while visiting Peebles for a trail running weekend at Glentress. We've stayed there before and will be doing in future as it's excellent! Great food, good location and well-appointed rooms. You'd never guess it was a Wetherspoon's!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robfordham1987
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi robfordham1987 Thanks for taking the time to write a great review and thanks for the positive comments. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards Craig & The Team

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room and good food. Excellent helpful staff . Central location. Only problem no car parking but able to park a short distance away. Will certainly return in future. Peebles is a lovely little town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinclairi636
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sinclairi636, Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thank you for the wonderful comments. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Craig & The Team

Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the MacDonald Golf and Spa Hotel for 3 night's on a room only basis as it cost a further £19 per person for breakfast. My partner and 4 year old could not possibly eat the equivalent of the cost of food so fortunately stumbled across this little gem. Very clean. pleasant and polite staff. We came here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you at The Cross Keys again in the near future. Kind Regards The Cross Keys Management Team

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Clean room that met needs. Quiet. Addressed needs for physical challenges of guests. Hotel centrally located to town highlights Stayed two nights. Pub had good food and broad range of local beverages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your return at some point. Kind Regards The Cross Keys Management Team

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016

It appears that management and staff have been able to deal with some of the issues surrounding the customer experience in this establishment. Today at lunch time the service was very good. The food was freshly cooked and hot, the plates were hot! What a change for the better! This is what we expect of Wetherspoons establishments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HEMac_11
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we always strive to have the best customer service/experience. This is something we are constantly working on and I'm glad you can see the results of this. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards The Cross Keys Management Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016

When i first looked at staying at Peebles it was in one of the more "top end" hotels - however on ringing one of these hotels, the receptionist was dreadful, so opted to stay at the Cross Keys and wow this did not disappoint! Clean and cosy room, wonderful staff, lovely bar area and the location is tremendous - Hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmahunt232016
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be great to see you again and you are always more than welcome. Kind Regards The Cross Keys Management Team

Reviewed October 2, 2016

Went For Meal With My Girlfriend In Peebles Cross Keys Wetherspoons, Loved the Steak But Meal was Smelling Of Fish, wasnt until Girlfriend tried Chips (She Hates Fish) Did we Realize That chips Tasted Of Fish, Guess Peebles Wetherspoons Cook everything in Same Grease Sad it spoiled the Whole Meal and upset the GF as She Did complain to waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

A good quality hotel in a medium sized Borders town. There are frequent bus services to Galashiels which has regular trains to Edinburgh on the new Borders Railway. My room was spacious, clean with a comfortable bed, ample tea and coffee, a good shower and ensuite facilities. Good food is served in the pub downstairs up till 11pm at night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John B Thank you for the great review. We are really happy that everything went well with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Craig and the Team

glasgow
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Have just come back from a 2 night stay at Cross Keys and cannot fault in anyway at all. From checkin to checkout everything went very smoothly. We had room 2 which was disabled access, not that we needed that, but it meant that the bathroom was a wet room so plenty of space. All the staff were great as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi GlasgowBaywatchbabe Thanks for your great review. We are really glad you had a nice stay and everything went well for you. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Warmest regards Craig and the Team

Australia
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cross Keys Hotel - we were in Room 3 which was huge! Friendly and helpful staff, good wifi signal and a REALLY comfortable bed! We stopped in Peebles on our drive through Scotland on the way to a family wedding - didn't want to stay in the big cities, and we both absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senorita08
CrossKeysPeebles, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this review

Hi senorita08 Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted you had such a nice stay and we very much hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards Craig and the Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
680 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cross Keys Hotel was built in 1693 and is the oldest inn within the picturesque town of Peebles. Located on Northgate, just off the main street, we are close to the local shops, pubs and restaurants but away from the noise and traffic ensuring that your stay will be a peaceful one. Having recently undergone a £3million refurbishment, this Listed Building retains many of its original features, but has been brought bang up to date with two bars, seven individual bedrooms and a delightful garden to the rear. Each of our seven bedrooms is air conditioned and double glazed, bathrooms are en-suite and feature walk-in showers. Flat screen TVs with satellite channels, coffee & tea facilities, hairdryers and usb phone charging points are standard. Disabled access is via a lift to the first floor which has an accessable bedroom with a large en-suite wetroom. Baby cots are available on request, please specify when booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cross Keys Hotel

Address: 24 Northgate, Peebles EH45 8RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel Peebles, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cross Keys Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Falkirk, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cross Keys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in room no 5”
 of 5 bubbles sinclairi636, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“go for room 5 - it has a bath and a shower”
 of 5 bubbles emmahunt232016, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“We were told Room 3 is the best”
 of 5 bubbles senorita08, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was well appointed, clean and new.”
 of 5 bubbles BlurtFangcaster, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the haunted room, if you want to a bit of excitement to your stay!”
 of 5 bubbles TonyQuine, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay