We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 533: English reviews
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed here on a 5 day coach trip, the place from a distance looks amazing but when up and close it is looking shabby BUT they have started updating and what has been done so far is good, personally could not fault the staff or the dining experience, the entertainment that is put on is pretty good also, for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Scawby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Coach tour to Melrose and Edinburgh Tattoo was fantastic. Room 22.Shabby and grey,grey emulsion on walls and door torn&stained curtains dirty stains&finger marks around door handle&lock,around light switches so bad could not wipe off.Stained carpet, wallpaper under emulsion coming off wall, emulsion (yes emulsion) on door and skirting coming away from original paintwork.Corridors leading to room.Paintwork filthy paper peeling off... More 

Helpful?
Thank William H

Travelers are raving about these Melrose hotels

melton mowbray
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us stayed for three nights on a self drive holiday. First impressions were good and check in went smoothly. We were directed to the lift and found our room 228 easily. One complaint, when we got back to the room at night there was no light out side our door. As I was prepared with a torch, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank puds_10
Heysham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our 3rd time. Ideal for Edinburgh and Northumberland coast (if you have transport). A little disappointed this year as we got room 120 which means you're next to the entertainment, and if like us you like early nights it can be a little noisy. However, warm welcome from the staff, very obliging and keen to help out. Meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisheysham
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrisheysham Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry you were disturbed by the entertainment. When booking you can always request a quiet room so if you aren't a night owl you are in the quieter parts of the hotel! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with grand aspirations. We had a standard plus room which was nicely decorated. Standard rooms are a bit in need of love and attention. Pillows were a bit uncomfortable but beds very comfortable. Staff are lovely - very helpful and polite. Food was nice with reasonable choice, but a little bland. Breakfast was very good. Buffet style with... More 

Helpful?
Thank BerniOHertfordshire
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great relaxing time . Hotel set in lovely grounds near the river , with Melrose a twenty minute stroll away and Galashiels only a five minute drive . All the staff that we met were friendly and the dining room staff in particular were excellent at serving food and clearing tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevesholidays
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there with National Holidays for three nights. Check in efficient and my requests re the room had been listened to. I had a single room on the top floor (because of creaking floorboards), facing the front of the hotel with lovely views beyond the car park. The room had a sink in the room itself and a shower and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaMaryQld
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are a group of 18 members of Mirfield Petanque club who were on a four day tour visiting Melrose and Walkerburn Petanque Clubs to play in boules competitions and also do some sightseeing locally. We travelled by car to stay Friday to Monday. We were made very welcome by the reception staff and quickly issued with our room keys.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OVERANOUT
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

In my opinion this is an average hotel; the food let it down greatly in that there were no fresh vegetables at all - everything is frozen and had no taste at all the soup was clearly straight out of a packet too. You get allocated a table in the dining room which you use for breakfast and dinner on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

I went to this hotel with Shearings for 5 days and loved every minute. I couldnt get my television remote to work but the manager came straight up and showed me how to work it. Then my shower didnt seem strong enough but again it was sorted right away. both these things was because i am not good at electrics... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathleen c
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathleen c Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waverley Castle in the future Kind regards James More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Price Range: $128 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay