We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (133)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)

Overview

AMENITIES
Free parking
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Restaurant
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
122
10
3
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
122
10
3
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub breakfast hamper the wood burning stove gypsy caravan peace and tranquility off grid eildon hills romantic weekend mod cons awful weather shower wc two nights lucky with the weather bottle of champagne great hosts everything you could possibly need great shower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 140 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

It isn’t like we needed an excuse to go to Scotland, but the idea of spending a weekend in a gypsy caravan is a temptation I was always going to yield to. Even though we were ready for awful weather (this being Scotland in February)...More

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank kallirache
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we didn’t get a chance to meet you on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Devanna. We are a well kept secret with deliberately no signs at the...More

Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

We’ve just got back from a magical few days at Roulotte Retreat. Such a beautiful and peaceful place. Avril and Alan were lovely people, who got the perfect balance between being there to help and giving you your space and privacy. Can not wait to...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 380helent
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded December 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send us this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Roulotte Retreat and appreciated the magic of the quiet, peaceful meadow. Yes we do like to ensure guests know we are around if they need...More

Reviewed October 5, 2018

Alan & Avril are nice people but the cottage was more shabby than shabby sheek. - it smelt musty on entering and despite attempts to air it, it was just not possible to stay; - the TV didn’t work and was tiny and was old...More

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank Phc965
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded October 7, 2018

So sad that it would appear you spent more time on writing the review than actually being in the cottage; as in fact you didn’t stay or really experience a stay in our Bowtop or the Cottage. We would like to respond to your comments...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We booked this break for 3 days as a totally selfish off grid recuperative holiday. You book this knowing there is no TV, WiFi, and phone coverage. Just enjoy the tranquil setting, good basic facilities in a quaint french style caravan. With the right food...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank S266QFjosephm
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your 'recuperative' retreat. You are absolutely right - some time away from tv, wifi and phone can do everyone the world of good. As we often say...More

Reviewed June 9, 2018

This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to visit Scotland in the summer. Most tourists drive as fast as they can through the Borders to get to the Highlands or the West Coast. After 1st June these places are swarming with Midges...More

Date of stay: June 2018
2  Thank Paulikon
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do agree with you, there are many delightful places to visit in the Borders and we are glad you stopped a while to see them for yourselves. We are very lucky not...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free parking
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms
Number of rooms
6
Also Known As
Roulotte Retreat Melrose, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-smoking rooms
Number of rooms
6
Also Known As
Roulotte Retreat Melrose, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose

Photos

Traveler (133)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Station Hotel
182 reviews
2.31 miles away
The Townhouse Hotel
326 reviews
2.35 miles away
Burt's Hotel
371 reviews
2.35 miles away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
538 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 28 nearby restaurants
The Main Street Trading Company, Books, Cafe, Deli & Home
193 reviews
2.67 miles away
The Hoebridge
188 reviews
2.91 miles away
The Buccleuch Arms
318 reviews
2.46 miles away
Provender
177 reviews
2.42 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 nearby attractions
The Scottish Borders Donkey Sanctuary
64 reviews
2.25 miles away
Dryburgh Abbey
329 reviews
2.58 miles away
Abbotsford House
913 reviews
3.70 miles away
Melrose Abbey
1,009 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PandP88
July 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Curious_traveller005 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think they did. Seemed like a measured response to me. Bats are protected and you can't handle them.
0
Votes
PandP88
April 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from Curious_traveller005 | Reviewed this property |
I think you miss read my review. We had a very positive experience and found the owners lovely.
0
Votes
louise p
July 3, 2016|
Answer
Response from Avril333 | Property representative |
Hi Tia, Can you email me and I can send you more information about weddings at Roulotte Retreat as we do have 1,2,3, night options. kind regards Avril
0
Votes

Room Tips

"Leave your pesky mobiles, laptops, iPads at home. Learn to live without them here."
G3663CUjamess
Apr 2, 2018
Read review
"Would choose a Roulotte to stay in rather than the cottage"
AnnekaMarie2015
Jun 18, 2017
Read review
"Take wellies/walking boots and a torch."
Curious_traveller005
Apr 18, 2017
Read review
"Choose a B&B instead"
PandP88
Apr 3, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing