We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (130)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence
Overview
Bowden Mill, Melrose TD6 0SU Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Restaurant
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
121
10
3
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
121
10
3
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub breakfast hamper log burner gypsy caravan peace and tranquility off grid eildon hills mod cons carved wood on arrival nearest village shower wc two nights bottle of champagne lucky with the weather everything you could possibly need great shower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 139 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

We’ve just got back from a magical few days at Roulotte Retreat. Such a beautiful and peaceful place. Avril and Alan were lovely people, who got the perfect balance between being there to help and giving you your space and privacy. Can not wait to...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Helen T
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded December 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send us this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Roulotte Retreat and appreciated the magic of the quiet, peaceful meadow. Yes we do like to ensure guests know we are around if they need...More

Reviewed October 5, 2018

Alan & Avril are nice people but the cottage was more shabby than shabby sheek. - it smelt musty on entering and despite attempts to air it, it was just not possible to stay; - the TV didn’t work and was tiny and was old...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Phc965
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded October 7, 2018

So sad that it would appear you spent more time on writing the review than actually being in the cottage; as in fact you didn’t stay or really experience a stay in our Bowtop or the Cottage. We would like to respond to your comments...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We booked this break for 3 days as a totally selfish off grid recuperative holiday. You book this knowing there is no TV, WiFi, and phone coverage. Just enjoy the tranquil setting, good basic facilities in a quaint french style caravan. With the right food...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank S266QFjosephm
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your 'recuperative' retreat. You are absolutely right - some time away from tv, wifi and phone can do everyone the world of good. As we often say...More

Reviewed June 9, 2018

This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to visit Scotland in the summer. Most tourists drive as fast as they can through the Borders to get to the Highlands or the West Coast. After 1st June these places are swarming with Midges...More

Date of stay: June 2018
2  Thank Paulikon
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do agree with you, there are many delightful places to visit in the Borders and we are glad you stopped a while to see them for yourselves. We are very lucky not...More

Reviewed May 20, 2018

Would like to say a huge thank you to Avril and Alan at the Roulotte Retreat. I recently hosted my wedding at the venue and they could not have been any more accommodating. Avril was essentially our wedding planner and put us in touch with...More

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank carah26
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte RetreatResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was absolutely our pleasure to host both of you and your lovely friends for your wedding. We missed you after you all left, you were such a great group so we would welcome you back...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Also Known As
Roulotte Retreat Melrose, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Also Known As
Roulotte Retreat Melrose, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Photos
Traveler (130)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Station Hotel
180 reviews
2.31 miles away
The Townhouse Hotel
321 reviews
2.35 miles away
Burt's Hotel
366 reviews
2.35 miles away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
530 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 28 nearby restaurants
The Buccleuch Arms
313 reviews
2.46 miles away
The Hoebridge
182 reviews
2.91 miles away
The Main Street Trading Company, Books, Cafe, Deli & Home
191 reviews
2.67 miles away
Provender
155 reviews
2.42 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 16 nearby attractions
The Scottish Borders Donkey Sanctuary
63 reviews
2.25 miles away
Scott's View
249 reviews
3.56 miles away
Abbotsford House
906 reviews
3.70 miles away
Melrose Abbey
988 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PandP88
July 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Curious_traveller005 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think they did. Seemed like a measured response to me. Bats are protected and you can't handle them.
0
Votes
PandP88
April 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from Curious_traveller005 | Reviewed this property |
I think you miss read my review. We had a very positive experience and found the owners lovely.
-1
Votes
louise p
July 3, 2016|
Answer
Response from Avril333 | Property representative |
Hi Tia, Can you email me and I can send you more information about weddings at Roulotte Retreat as we do have 1,2,3, night options. kind regards Avril
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Leave your pesky mobiles, laptops, iPads at home. Learn to live without them here."
G3663CUjamess
Apr 2, 2018
Read review
"Would choose a Roulotte to stay in rather than the cottage"
AnnekaMarie2015
Jun 18, 2017
Read review
"Take wellies/walking boots and a torch."
Curious_traveller005
Apr 18, 2017
Read review
"Choose a B&B instead"
PandP88
Apr 3, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing