We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alltavona Guest House

Save
Share
Traveler (134)
Room & Suite (60)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“guest house”(27 reviews)
“dining room”(18 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
196
57
21
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
196
57
21
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecomplimentary whiskydining roomstunning seablueberrieslovely homeminute walk into townold housewarm welcomeperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousporridgethe en suite bathroomfull scottisha sea view roomvisit obanbeautiful room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Altavona is a restored Victorian mansion and the owners have done a good job with keeping original features such as the gorgeous stained glass and decorating in theme. We were located on an upper floor in one of the cheaper rooms although it was still...More

Thank KiwichickAuckland
Innkeeper's Favorite Review
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Very nice B&B. Very clean and well kept and decorated. We arrived too late in Oban on our first evening to stay there and Carol was very kind and helped us find somewhere else to stay, not the only little extra thing they did for...More

Thank SheilaBe123
Response from CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest HouseResponded October 1, 2017

Thank you or your comments and feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed staying with us and we are only to pleased to help. We are pleased you returned to stay with us and hope to see you again. Carol & Paul

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice guest house situated just on the water. 10-min walk to downtown area. Nice that it is a bit secluded down the road to avoid some of the activity in the central town area. Very close to ferry. Very friendly helpful staff. Tasty breakfast...More

Thank Jordan W
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to search around a bit to check in since the owners were enjoying the view for a moment on a porch -- I'm all for that! They were quite helpful. The lovely old house, along the boardwalk, near town, with just enough parking,...More

Thank rosepol
Response from CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback . Sorry you had to wait a little to check in as we had a few minutes catching a few rays , it takes us a little time to get from the back to the f...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Oban Esplanade has a stretch of guest houses, and Alltavona stands out amongst them. After talking to fellow travelers who booked another guest house on the same street and told us horror stories about their stay, we are so grateful we booked here. From...More

Thank tripper2heaven
Response from CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for all the kind comments and great feedback. We are always pleased to help and accommodate people's needs. Look forward to welcome you back to Alltavona soon. Carol & Paul.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Details
Price range
$147 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$147 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (134)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (28)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Alltavona Guest House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"sea views are the way to go"
Read review
"Sea view rooms have wonderful views of the harbor and the sunsets."
Read review
"Front rooms for the best views of the harbor."
Read review
"Sea view room with the small increase in cost"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing