We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alltavona Guest House

Save
Share
Alltavona Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Snaptravel
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (157)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (28)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#19 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Alltavona House is situated on Oban's select Corran esplanade overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding Islands. Alltavona is a family run guest house famed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. Guests arriving at Alltavona for the first time, are immediately aware that this is a house of outstanding quality, where no effort has been spared to provide a level of elegance and refinement in keeping with its original character. Magnificent unobstructed views. Four star Visit Scotland Tourist Board Grading and Four star AA Grading. Ten minutes walk into town,queit location ,private parking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
374Reviews0Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 253
  • 77
  • 27
  • 14
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Efrat Irena G wrote a review Oct 2019
Haifa, Israel384 contributions12 helpful votes
A small but nice and clean room. We also paid 12.5 pound to get breakfast there- there was some options even gluten free, but we didn't like the meal. The buffet was little poor - there were some fruit but they didn't wash them well, some corn flakes and jam and yogurts. We invited fried eggs but got them undercooked. The service was good and the bad meal was replaced by new one. The lady who owns the house is also very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House
Responded Oct 14, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. I am really surprised that you have left such a bad review compared to other guests who rave about our breakfast. I must point out that people always prefer their eggs cooked differently but we on preference would not put out cremated eggs but that is what you really wanted second time around. When you say you didn't like the meal what you really should say is that you wanted your eggs burned which we did when asked. I am also surprised that you say we do not have much of a choice for breakfast ,we supply fresh fruit melon raspberries strawberries , blueberries, blackcurrants , pineapple melon and some tinned fruit. `there are several cooked breakfast options, scramble eggs with salmon, full Scottish breakfast, waffles, pancakes with bacon, poached eggs but to name a few . We also serve a continental option of selection of cheeses ,ham with warmed croissants . I can only assume you did not read the menu before ordering two fried eggs!! We also serve a selection of gluten free options , gluten free porridge cereals and bread . I did say this on check in and said if you wanted anything different to let me know. Other guests who have stayed say its the best breakfast they have had in Scotland . I am sorry I did not see you at breakfast as when we spoke on check in you seemed very happy with the room, I think it was when you had to pay extra for breakfast that you seemed to get upset. Its a pity you did not read your booking form to elevate this problem when booking the cheapest room and rate. I do hope other reviewers will read the good review about our breakfast. When staying at another guest house perhaps ask for the eggs cremated. Carol & Paul
Read more
Suzy R wrote a review Oct 2019
Chico, California4 contributions
We stayed only one night in this lovely guest house. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. She welcomed us and showed us to our room, which was clean and decorated nicely. We were on the top floor with a view of the bay. Breakfast was very tasty and had a nice variety. Great overall experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House
Responded Oct 13, 2019
Thank you for leaving us great feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all the good comments . Hope to see you again . Carol & Paul
Read more
Jillian L wrote a review Sep 2019
Manchester, New Hampshire138 contributions47 helpful votes
Thank you, Carol, for our warm Scottish welcome to your lovely B&B. Our three nights with you were just wonderful. Breakfasts were so generous and well prepared, and nobody does a full Scottish breakfast better. Our room at the front of the house had a stunning view, and it was lovely and quiet to help us through the initial jet lag. The bathroom was well done, with a big bathtub and nice, strong shower. I could have slept in the bed for days on end, it was so warm and comfortable. The location made it very easy to do the short walk into the center of Oban, yet it was soothing and peaceful in the area of Alltavona. There wasn’t a single thing missing, it was as perfect as Brigadoon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review Sep 2019
Ipswich, United Kingdom72 contributions18 helpful votes
Very cosy Guest House. Close to town centre (5 minutes walk) for an evening meal. Breakfast was amazing, wholesome and tasty. Views of Oban port and Isle of Kerrera. Lovely for the sunset. 3 minutes in the car for the ferry. Only minor problem is lack of parking within the Guest House and cars do have to be double parked. Parking is available outside on the Road and free during the evening and night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Chose a room at the front of the guest house for the view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Gary F wrote a review Sep 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions
Booked the studio around the back of the main building with my partner Scott very lovely decorated extension which has its own bedroom from the living/kitchen area, the staff must work hard to keep it very nice and clean. We phoned a few days before our arrival to see if it was possible for early check in which was agreed by the owner. Staff was very welcoming on our arrival. The breakfast was amazing I took the option of a full Scottish breakfast with porridge but found there was more items such as cereal, fruit etc aswell in the dining area. Definitely will be doing a return visit and will be choosing one of the rooms in the main building so I can check out the rest of the property. The location is perfect as when you walk out the front door you have all the views of boats coming and going and not so far a walk to the town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alltavona guest house hotel oban
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandOban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alltavona Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Alltavona Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Oban War & Peace Museum (0.5 miles), McCaig's Tower (0.7 miles), and Oban Phoenix Cinema (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alltavona Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Alltavona Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alltavona Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alltavona Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Food from Argyll at the Pier, Oban Seafood Hut, and Coast Restaurant.
Is Alltavona Guest House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Oban.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alltavona Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Alltavona Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel (2.9 miles) and Gylen Castle (4.1 miles).
Does Alltavona Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.