We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA Scotland
Traveler (138)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (32)

About

#3 of 13 hotels in Oban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
52Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
946Reviews
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 482
  • 290
  • 127
  • 35
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Ranald hotel was a great stay for my husband and I with our 2 boys! We went for Oban live so the location of the hotel was perfect. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and they smile!! Food is amazing and there menu has a twist of no cooked breakfast which is refreshing! My boys loved making their own toast! Continental selection was great aswell! The room was big and the shower was amazing! Rooms were clean, hair dryer provided and a safe. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate which the kids loved! We really enjoyed our stay and is definitely somewhere we would stay again. Thank you so much for having us!
Read more
We recently stayed at the Ranald Hotel and we had an excellent experience. I do agree the parking is an issue but it seems to be a universal issues in Oban not specific to this hotel. When we checked in the fantastic lady at the desk did warn us about the parking and helped us find solutions. The breakfast in completely complimentary with the best baked eggs I have had. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
We recently spent one night at the Ranald during a side trip to Oban. We knew about the lack of a lift and paid parking down the street and packed accordingly so we didn't have to drag a suitcase down the street and then up 3 flights. When we checked in we were told we were in the biggest room. I have to say that it was pretty basic. As is common in many hotels in Northern Europe, there was no air conditioning. The problem was that, with the windows opened, there were lots of bugs flying into the room. So, we had a choice of being warm, even with the provided fan, with the windows closed or hoping we didn't get too badly bitten. As for décor, it is modern but appears to be similar to Ikea furniture. Finally, on the negative side, the floor squeaked with every step. I can only imagine what the folks beneath us thought. On the positive, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent and the location could not be better. You are right in the middle of everything Oban has to offer. Overall, if you know what to expect going in, the Ranald can be a decent choice for a trip to Oban.
Read more
The hotel itself was small with a frontage on the pavement and not what I was expecting. No checkin before 3pm was permitted even if the rooms were ready. There is no parking for the hotel, but on the street parking which was charged and had to be renewed every 2 hours and as Oban is so busy, parking spaces were hard to find. We eventually found a small car park with a space some distance away, which allowed overnight parking at a price. The room itself was fairly comfortable, although there was no aircon and we had to have the window open overnight which was noisy. There is a bar, but I was charged £1.10 for a tiny can of lemonade, which seemed extortionate. Breakfast was busy and the room tightly packed with a limited menu. All in all, it was ok but I was disappointed after the reviews I had previously read.
Read more
We had a very nice stay for 2 nights at this hotel. The room was very comfortable, clean & quite. There is no lift but the staff graciously carried our luggage up to our room on the 3rd floor. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the baked eggs. We recommend this hotel to visitors to Oban.
Read more
Response from Info T, Manager at The Ranald Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Ranald Hotel, Oban. We are very glad to see you have rated your stay with us 4 stars! We hope to see you again in the future, Many thanks, The Ranald Hotel staff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandOban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing