We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanglin B&B

3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tanglin B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

We think this Inn has a lot of potential. The innkeeper seems to be trying very hard and for 60 pounds with private parking it is a great value given it's location. The continental breakfast was a do it yourself and was more than enough. The inn has character appeared clean and just needs a little tweaking here and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank chadz52
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. hope fully you will be back some other time to see the improvements. More 

Erskine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Had a great night at this b&b. Stayed for 1 night with my partner and 2 daughters, room was lovely and the bed was sooo comfy, would definitly return if in oban again, would highly recommend staying here!!

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Many thanks to Eilidh, new owner of Tanglin B & Bin in Oban, Scotland... She went out of her way to work through some complications we had due to car trouble, and saved us a bright, delightfully airy room. Eilidh also had great restaurant recommendations and insider tips on what to see in our brief stay in lovely Oban. If... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

Please note the B&B is under new ownership ... And they are off to a SLOW start. (Suffice to say we weren't impressed.). We saw the owners once - at check in. No way to reach them with questions or issues. We were asked via note to leave cash and the keys in the room when we left. Everything is... More 

Helpful?
Thank bk_in_chgo03
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property now that it is under new ownership but considering you booked with the previous owners I think most of the comments you have made relate to them. We have honoured all their bookings and I did email you regarding the room saying that it was a shared bathroom as they... More 

Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Never saw the owner, left message on the door to leave cash in an envelope ( £88). Rooms tired and shabby. Shower not working properly, bath out of order. Had to help ourselves to breakfast, no cooked breakfast, told if you want a cooked breakfast go to cafe down the road who will give you 10% off the price. Very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SAF54321
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. You never met me due to the fact you arrived outwith our reception times and never bothered to call to arrange this and left early in the morning before I got back in from dropping my child off at nursery. Breakfast is as advertised on the site you booked... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

New owners had taken over that day they own the Cameron Guest house next door so e ery thing was an effort we had to pay extra for breakfast which was to be continental and self service not what was on booking .com. we were asked to pay in cash before we even saw rooms and as we did not... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona B
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Fiona B for taking the time to write a review. Yes we are new owners of Tanglin and it was no effort for me to meet you as this is what we are used to doing, I enjoy meeting all our guests that stay with us. However as soon as I opened the door to yourself I knew... More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

My sister and I had room 1 which had 2 twin beds. This B&B is in a good location for walking to restaurants. There is free parking available. Breakfast was delicious, but I missed the yogert that was sometimes available at other B&Bs. The UK doesn't allow outlets in the bathrooms so it is important that there is a mirror... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inger N
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This was a wonderful, comfortable inn that provided us with not only an exceptionally comfortable room but also a great breakfast and great conversations. We highly recommend this to all! The accommodations were first rate!

Helpful?
Thank Minted3
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night, arrived with the motorbike soaked through. Liz and Jim were kind enough to dry our biking gear for us in their garage. Really nice room and lovey breakfast. Would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely b and b.

Helpful?
Thank oakergill
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Tanglin B&B was such a pleasant stay for us. We spent two nights there and wish it could have been more. Jim and Liz were such accommodating hosts. They helped us plan our time, gave us travel tips, and made sure we had everything we needed for the day. We loved Oban, in large part because we loved staying at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#24 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#57 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#19 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#44 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
4.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Privately owned and run by Jim and Liz Montgomery for 18 years. This B&B has a friendly informal atmosphere as recommended by Rick Steves, American Tour Guide. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tanglin B&B

Address: 3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $76 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanglin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglin Bed And Breakfast
Tanglin Hotel Oban
Tanglin B&B Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay