We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Nambour
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were there in mid summer. We had booked into another establishment through a booking site which was not much cheaper than this and we went to reception and walked out again! Having done a lot of checking on prices at the time we found this to be value for money compared to the rest of what was around. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked online while travelling and made the poor assumption that the location and the (high) price would mean a good hotel. Wrong. Realizing it is family run and figuring the costs involved in keeping a hotel running, I can start to understand why it would be shabby however this was beyond that. 90 steps up to our room (no lift)... More 

Helpful?
Thank spinnerdolphin
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are slightly confused as none of our sea view room have headboards attached to the walls and none have old beds. While we are not the cheapest in the area our most expensive sea view room for two is slightly cheaper than the average for peak time in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Dunoon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was booked last minute and tbh not particularly cheap. The reception is upstairs and the chap was friendly but the stink of old oil and fish was very overpowering. The stairs appear to have been decorated in 1980's so looked shabby. We had room 14 which was supposed to be a Super King Size - it was in fact... More 

Helpful?
Thank FBMargyll
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. A lot of the decoration is less than a year old although it is in a traditional style. The zip and link beds are only a year old and apart for one other person we have been having great feedback about them. We do have a couple of... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I'm trying to think of positive things to say about the Palace Hotel, but I'm struggling. We were greeted kindly at check-in, and our view of the harbor was good. Well, that's about it. Our room did appear clean, but it was so crowded with unnecessary furniture, it was hard to move around once our bags were in there. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank LL500
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Naturally we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We show clear pictures of the rooms along with dimensions of the room so that guests can make informed decisions before booking. Suitcases may be placed on the luggage rack, in or on the wardrobe to give greater floor space. Our oil is regularly changed and is... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

It is always disappointing when you open the door to your room and the the paper is peeling from the walls and the ceiling. Up until this point the hotel was looking promising the entrance and stair was well decorated and veery clean. Although the room looked grubby due to the decor it was clean and well set out, there... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenny d
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have a number of recently renovated rooms however we did not have time to include this room in the last round of decoration as we were hoping to do. This is the fifth room that we have added this furniture to and are glad that you like it. We hope that if you... More 

Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Six of us stayed here for 2 nights on the 10th and 11th June . The hotel was very clean and rooms were nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem for them to do for us. The breakfasts were fantastic and plenty on the plates. It's on a great position with sea views . We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydoo02
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the palace hotel for 1 night, we were put on top floor, what a hike, the view out the window was scaffold that looked like it hasn't been moved in years, The room itself had damp patches on bedroom wall and en suite walls, not a nice place to stay, won't be staying there again, would rather have... More 

Helpful?
Thank rep777
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Firstly it is only fair to point out the the guests had booked and requested the cheapest available room in the building and was significantly cheaper than our other rooms. As the guest points out there is scaffolding outside the building this was to replace a section of roof to... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Visited here on Saturday 26th March booked and paid £60 for a single room more like a cupboard view from window was scaffolding sattelite dishes drab and dreary room badly needs revamped peeling wallpaper stop cock at side of bed on wall lumpy uncomfortable matress on bed.To have breakfast it was to cost £15 for the cost of that room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean B
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. All of our rooms are of varying shapes and sizes and we try and let the guests choose the most suitable room for their needs and budget. Despite the room being small and decorated in an older style it does have quality furnishings, 24 hour hot water, 24 hour heating,... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed here for a 2 night stay in Nov, 2015. We were very anxious about our stay due to the negative reviews, but - The hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk from the train station, ferry terminal and all the shops. The woman who greeted us at the hotel was very friendly and welcoming. The lobby,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollyMcm93
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our recently refurbished rooms. We have also recently refurbished a couple of our sea view rooms. we do not try and pressure guests into more expensive upgrades we prefer that guests choose the rooms that are most suitable for them, We hope that... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We had a weekend in the Scottish Highlands with a friend from China. We only really needed a bed to sleep on. The hotel is on the harbour front and has spectacular views over Oban Bay. The hotel was clean and freshly decorated but the carpets were a bit threadbare. We took a family room which sleeps 4. It was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank master50
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. To try and accommodate you as cheaply as possible a room for two adults and two children were offered at the standard rate as our sea view room for two. This was one of our last available rooms. We offer reduced rates for bookings without breakfast for people who have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#86 of 100 in Oban
3.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#20 of 100 in Oban
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $75 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay