We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in September. Apart from the initial collecting of the keys from a chap, didn't see a single soul actually running the place! Very odd... Room was very tired, the whole place feels like it needs a good overhaul. Nothing wrong with it as such other than dated decor, not in my room although my colleague had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that we were unable to offer you a choice of rooms as we have a number of recently refurbished rooms however they were all fully booked and a significant discount was given at time of booking on the rooms that you were in due to further refurbishments being planned for these rooms. Since you arrived after check...

Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Convenient location, very clean bedroom and shower room both adequate for our nights stay. I was most put out that we were expected to pay a further £17.50 for breakfast on top of our £70 a night already paid. What has happened to old fashioned Highland B&B??.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flora J
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are sorry for any misunderstanding however the room booked was a half price room only offer and not bed and breakfast. We have breakfast items starting from as little as £2. We offer our guests the choice of room only bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast. Room...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, nicely refurbished and staff were very friendly. Unfortunately rooms were quite warm with no fans. Cannot comment on breakfast as the hotel had no complimentary wifi for guests which was very disappointing and we needed to go to local coffee shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JImmyGSki
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kinds words. We are sorry that you did not see the details for the internet in the information guide in the room.

Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

I really do like this hotel i.e. location and friendliness of staff, our room was refurbished and perfectly adequate, however the smell as soon as you walk in is not acceptable , smells like cat/dogs! Pet owners like me will know what i mean. Did not eat here so cannot comment in that respect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Seemed a shame to disturb the peace and quiet of those working here. They were unhelpful and the hotel was over priced. Breakfast was a battle we didn't win. The bar was closed throughout and it was near impossible to find any one working there at all, never mind anyone with an interest in customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not a enjoyable as we would have hoped for. The two owners live on site there are two members of staff and two external cleaners, we are sorry that you were unable to find any of us, we were most likely assisting other guests at this busy time. For assistance there is a...

Nambour
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We were there in mid summer. We had booked into another establishment through a booking site which was not much cheaper than this and we went to reception and walked out again! Having done a lot of checking on prices at the time we found this to be value for money compared to the rest of what was around. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Booked online while travelling and made the poor assumption that the location and the (high) price would mean a good hotel. Wrong. Realizing it is family run and figuring the costs involved in keeping a hotel running, I can start to understand why it would be shabby however this was beyond that. 90 steps up to our room (no lift)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spinnerdolphin
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are slightly confused as none of our sea view room have headboards attached to the walls and none have old beds. While we are not the cheapest in the area our most expensive sea view room for two is slightly cheaper than the average for peak time in the...

Dunoon
Reviewed July 23, 2016

This was booked last minute and tbh not particularly cheap. The reception is upstairs and the chap was friendly but the stink of old oil and fish was very overpowering. The stairs appear to have been decorated in 1980's so looked shabby. We had room 14 which was supposed to be a Super King Size - it was in fact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FBMargyll
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. A lot of the decoration is less than a year old although it is in a traditional style. The zip and link beds are only a year old and apart for one other person we have been having great feedback about them. We do have a couple of...

Manchester
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I'm trying to think of positive things to say about the Palace Hotel, but I'm struggling. We were greeted kindly at check-in, and our view of the harbor was good. Well, that's about it. Our room did appear clean, but it was so crowded with unnecessary furniture, it was hard to move around once our bags were in there. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LL500
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Naturally we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We show clear pictures of the rooms along with dimensions of the room so that guests can make informed decisions before booking. Suitcases may be placed on the luggage rack, in or on the wardrobe to give greater floor space. Our oil is regularly changed and is...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2016

It is always disappointing when you open the door to your room and the the paper is peeling from the walls and the ceiling. Up until this point the hotel was looking promising the entrance and stair was well decorated and veery clean. Although the room looked grubby due to the decor it was clean and well set out, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenny d
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have a number of recently renovated rooms however we did not have time to include this room in the last round of decoration as we were hoping to do. This is the fifth room that we have added this furniture to and are glad that you like it. We hope that if you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oban
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#83 of 99 in Oban
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#22 of 99 in Oban
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.1 mi away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $60 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Palace Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles floraj303, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Surcharge for a room with a sea view - which actually meant located on Main Street so very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 560sheilav, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors, less steps!”
 of 5 bubbles SnowDreamers, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles FBMargyll, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“Clean but decor could be improved.”
 of 5 bubbles kennyd0, Jul 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay