We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
7/30/2017 7/31/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Backpackers Plus

    The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    7/30/2017 7/31/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    $46
    View Deal
    Traveler (41)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (3)
    Corran House
    408 reviews
    #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Youth Hostel
    154 reviews
    #4 of 19 Specialty lodging in Oban
     
    Best Western The Queens Hotel
    896 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Ranald Hotel
    802 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Overview
    • Excellent68%
    • Very good23%
    • Average7%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    “common room” (17 reviews)
    “old church” (9 reviews)
    “sky room” (7 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Laundry Service
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Corran House
    408 reviews
    #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Youth Hostel
    154 reviews
    #4 of 19 Specialty lodging in Oban
     
    Best Western The Queens Hotel
    896 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Ranald Hotel
    802 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (195)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 158 reviews

    Reviewed yesterday

    Just stayed the one night before catching the ferry to Barra. No complaints at all. A very helpful friendly lady checked me in. Lovely big clean hostel. Had a good nights sleep. The free breakfast is very much appreciated too. There's a lovely lounge, and...More

    Thank Karen F
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    3 nights here in mid-June with my boyfriend. We had a privste double room with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. It was perfect, really homely and cosy. All the thoughtful little touches really make the place stand out; the free breakfast is a great idea...More

    Thank Imogen M
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for your kind review. We always love to have guests who enjoy staying here and that makes things good for the staff as well. We hope to see you back here soon.

    Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

    First came here in 2013 for 1 night on a coach tour and we'd agreed that we wanted to come back. We booked a family room with shared bathroom and counted down the days. When we arrived we'd been upgraded to an ensuite room in...More

    Thank deborahadams24
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded June 8, 2017

    Thanks for your review Mrs Adams! We are glad you enjoyed your staying so much. We hope to see you again soon!

    Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

    My friend and I stayed a night before going to Mull, but liked it so much we went back for another night afterwards. It was clean and affordable, but it was by far the nicest in terms of welcoming lounge /kitchen area. Very clean, fun...More

    Thank daniellehefer
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded June 3, 2017

    Hi Danielle! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are always traing our best and we know that sometimes can be a bit tricky travelling here in Scotland. It is nice to find someone willing to help you out and enjoying the process,...More

    Reviewed May 22, 2017

    This was the worst stop of our 2 weeks trip to Scotland. My girlfriend and I had booked a private room with ensuite for 2 nights. We both stayed at hostels in different countries before and our expectations were simple: basic but clean. I guess...More

    Thank mthib098
    Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded June 4, 2017

    Thank you very much for your review, even though it is the worst review we have ever had! We are very sorry and apologise that you had such a bad time - it is not what we want for our guests. If you contact us...More

    Corran House
    408 reviews
    #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Youth Hostel
    154 reviews
    #4 of 19 Specialty lodging in Oban
     
    Best Western The Queens Hotel
    896 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    The Ranald Hotel
    802 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    Details
    • Price range
    • $40 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 21
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Argyll and Bute >
    • Oban
    • Also Known As
    • Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (41)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Bathroom (6)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    The Ranald Hotel
    802 reviews
    .40 miles away
     
    The Perle Oban Hotel
    66 reviews
    .34 miles away
     
    The Alexandra Hotel
    258 reviews
    .20 miles away
     
    Columba Hotel
    1,045 reviews
    .20 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Coast Restaurant
    736 reviews
    .13 miles away
    St Columba Hotel
    114 reviews
    .13 miles away
    Oban Chocolate Company
    899 reviews
    .09 miles away
    Oban Fish and Chip Shop
    1,392 reviews
    .11 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
    473 reviews
    .40 miles away
    McCaig's Tower
    1,943 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Oban War & Peace Museum
    601 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Oban VisitScotland Information Centre
    149 reviews
    .30 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    lovetravelling107
    April 26, 2017|
    Answer
    Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
    Hello ! At the moment, our en-suites are £25 per person per night. The price will change from the 1st of June for the summer period, going up to £29 per person per night. hope this was useful.
    0
    Votes
    Karen F
    January 17, 2017|
    Answer Show all 5 answers
    Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
    Hi Karen, Thanks for your question! It would be great if all our guests provided photograpic ID (passport, ID, drivers licence, etc.) but of course if you don't have any of those you are still welcome to stay with us. Hope... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms"
    Read review
    "Multi bed bunkrooms make for the best conversations"
    Read review
    "The room heated up nicely once I realized I had to turn the heaters on."
    Read review
    "Ask for a room with private bathroom if available."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing