We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Columba Hotel

The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

899 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 842: English reviews
Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, new remodelled rooms. Window was dirty on outside that impacted on the great view. Family room was a nice size. 4 years ago we stayed in a curret room. It was wonderful highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 277liammc
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are much appreciated. re the Windows , they have been done , its just the weather we have been having , the window cleaner as been doing them every 2 weeks Regards Darrell Williams General Manager More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night before sailing to Barra the next day. We travelled by Vespa in the rain so on entering the room I divested my bike-gear to let it dry for the next day's journey. I walked barefoot to the bathroom and on returning to the bedroom I found long hairs stuck to my feet! Both myself and husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsTinglis
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Location is ideal for those catching an early morning ferry. The building is very old, so we were pleasantly surprised by the modern plumbing and comfort of our room with its ocean view. Every member of staff we talked with were unfailing kind and accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank SJMC1945
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Darrell Williams General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night. We had a great stay. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly to us. The rooms are very comfortable and fully kitted out. The only fault I had was with at night. The room was very warm and the window wouldn't open. The staff were great and told us places to... More 

Helpful?
Thank tkm1236
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Darrell Williams General Manager More 

Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time in Oban, despite the fact we stayed at stinky old Columba Hotel. The staff is so rude that it's almost funny. At check-in the girl gave our children a huge room and gave us a room that must've been a storage closet originally. She did change us into a room similar to that of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary V
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and adequate for our needs,staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was fine,no complaints about the place,good value.We were on second floor and it was midweek,no issues with noise.

Helpful?
Thank alex4916
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us at the Columba Hotel. I'm very pleased that you had a good stay and I'll share your kind comments with our team, I do hope you'll come again soon. Kind regards More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel. It is in a great location if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Oban. Yes, you have to pay for parking in the public car park outside, but at least you have somewhere to park, unlike a lot of the hotels in Oban! Our room again was huge, with fabulous... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoveourholsBristol
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the Columba is in need of some updating, but that actually adds to its charm. The carpets throughout the hotel seem to have been there for a very long time. The elevator is the old style- with double gates that need to be pulled shut in order for it to be operated. Our room was lovely- well appointed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmcsills
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in on 26 June and provided the hotel staff with full information on our car and registration and asked if this provided for our parking. The hotel staff said yes and we double confirmed. We were subsequently ticketed and the hotel staff told us that they had no responsibility. We explained we had earlier been told and got... More 

Helpful?
Thank JustinB6789
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us It's policy to take registrations of all the cars that are parked in our car park and for the public car-park. It's very unfortunate you had had a ticket. But it does clearly state outside hotel parking and public car parking Again Thank you for your review Darrell Williams More 

Thornhill, Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed with the poor quality of this hotel in every respect. The service at the desk was very poor. Expensive parking. Shabby room and small uncomfortable bed. The room was hot with no ac so we opened the window and the area outside the window was filthy. We were 4 seniors and they put us on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seeker321
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. and improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell William More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

249 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $100 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay