We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel

Save
Traveler (252)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (21)
Ratings and reviews
#12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeaders Gold level
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good31%
  • Average24%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“lounge bar”(22 reviews)
“buffet style”(27 reviews)
“single room”(39 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Accessible rooms
Conference Facilities
Pool
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
3 Star Hotel
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Hotel website
4.5 miles to Oban Airfield
62 restaurants are within a 0.25 mile radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
231
304
257
129
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
231
304
257
129
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge barbuffet stylesingle roomferry terminalbar mealsnight portercentre of townbit datedpublic areastop floorlimited parkingstayed for one nightbed and breakfastlovely viewporridgepiperharbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent one night here and was dismayed at its poor state. A lovely traditional building and public areas were ok but out room 4:15 was awful. On arrival it was boiling and we were able to open the very old windows a little but there...More

Thank MoggyGla
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, can I ask that you email me your booking details when convenient, so I can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An odd mixture of good and bad. The Hotel has seen better days and although we were fairly early in the season there was a fair amount of dilapidation. That said the rooms were clean if a little small. The location is very central and...More

Thank Bil M
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel. In regards to the hotel, we have refurbished 60 rooms in the past couple of years with a further 20 earmarked for this coming winter. With further works also...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although a small single room, it did the job, it just felt a little cramped and hot, but hey that’s the weather. Otherwise adequate facilities and good bar area with Scottish band on in the evening. Brecky was buffet style so those in search of...More

Thank D H
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Hotel, I would like to apologise about the fried eggs not being up to the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit to Royal and excellent stay, check in quick and very freindly, given room 209 and honestly didn't realise the hotel had rooms like this, massive, spotless, terrific layout and again bathroom you could fit another bed into. On entering room was roasting, it...More

Thank Derek B
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Derek. Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal hotel. As its a very old building and normally in Scotland we don't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a trip around Scotland we stayed two nights at the Royal Hotel enabling us to be in the centre of Oban close to restaurants. This hotel has definitely seen better days: it is tired, shabby and in great need of a huge overhaul/ renovation....More

Thank Cathy F
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Cathy. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on you're recent stay at The Royal Hotel. Can i ask that you email me your booking details when convenient so that i can investigate the comments further. Our email is...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$119 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$119 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (252)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
blackvalerie387
May 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul G | Reviewed this property |
I would agree with Geoff - check with the hotel direct. the staff are very helpful.
0
Votes
lornamacdougall
December 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Alastair21 | Reviewed this property |
No I don't think there are.
0
Votes
eileen b
November 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alastair21 | Reviewed this property |
Our double room was pretty small. Cannot comment on single rooms.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Our room (506) had 3 steps to climb to get to the door. Most of the other rooms did not have these..."
Read review
"Don't choose 502"
Read review
"There are no good rooms. Stay away."
Read review
"Go to a Travelodge..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing