We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 563jenny
Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does not have the proper temproment or manarism to run a guest house . I would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Billy P
Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were happy with your room. You make me sound like a money grabbing greedy person which...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can honestly say that I have never come across such rude behaviour from a guest house...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank D2341
Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable of running my guest house to a high standard a 'Locksmith' I am not. Unfortunately...

Reviewed July 3, 2016

First of all I want to emphasize, that this is my first Tripadvisor review and I usually don’t do reviews. But after our experience in the Sgeir Mhaol Guest House I felt I need to do it to prevent others having the same one. I was doing a trip to Scotland with a friend and I started planning the trip...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bernd S
Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Firstly may I say I NEVER ask guests in to my home or would ever ask them to view correspondance between us. The customer is always right even when wrong ! Secondly..I omitted to e-mail you to inform you that due to ill health I no longer serve breakfasts and for this I did and do apologise. I offered you...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2016

I had a great stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, Ishbell (the owner) was friendly and very accommodating! As I was on placement, I stayed for 5 weeks and experienced continual high standards. My room was furnished very well with plenty of fresh towels, tea and coffee supplies and fruit. Ishbell could not have done more to ensure that I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia135
742eeshee55, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Sylvia, thankyou so much for your lovely review.It was lovely having you here for 5 weeks,that went past quickly didnt it.Hope everything goes well for you and may see you back here soon, Ishbell

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Ishbel welcomed me and my welsh collie at the start and finish of my trip to the Isles of Coll and Tiree. Very early leaving the first morning, it was a bonus not to be offered breakfast and this was reflected in the very reasonable price for my double ensuite complete with bowl of fruit. The same welcome awaited me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaenagibbons
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Well what can I say ? What a friendly and lovely person the owner is (Ishbell). After a 10 hour car journey this was a welcome sight, The room was lovely, clean and fresh. As normal with the tea, coffee and biscuits but a nice touch was the fruit in the room. My dog was made to feel welcome too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hevhoney
742eeshee55, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou Heather for this lovely,honest review after the previous guest. As you say a hard couple of days for you but hopefully your next visit to Oban will be a happier on,Max the dog is fab. There was no need for the flowers but they are beautiful and very thoughtful of you both. Ishbell

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Easy to find, as right next to a set of traffic lights. People were very nice. Room was comfortable. No cooked breakfast, but oodles of boiled eggs, fruit and cereals. Breakfast room very small and a little cramped. My sheets were heavily creased, and I asked the lady if the bed had been changed yet. Boy, wish I hadn't, as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria W
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

I dont know when you stayed here but Im disgusted at your review. Why bother when your just being nasty and horrible. Im not going to justify any of you comments. Smell of urine,perhaps you should check your own personal hygeine !!!

Keith, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Arrived almost in the dark to a lovely lady who said she had a room, was only a twin we took it, it was dark, didn't knot our way around, she told us where to go for food etc, room was cosy, the only thing we found was that it got too hot middle of the night, couldn't turn the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tracy2319
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Stayed here for a week on business and was made very welcome. Although no cooked breakfast there is a great selection on of cereals and fruits available. The only down side was i started work at 8 and breakfast starts at this time, however I was offered cereal in my room. Very reasonably priced and located 5 minutes walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paddylawley
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write the review,I really appreciate it, hope to see you back, many thanks Ishbell

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#19 of 99 in Oban
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sgeir Mhaol Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Larbert, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sgeir Mhaol Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 563jenny, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Handy for ferry terminale”
 of 5 bubbles K6074PEianm, Jun 26, 2015 | Read review
“only stayed the night couldn't fault anything”
 of 5 bubbles carolr329, Jun 6, 2014 | Read review
“Room 4 (A Double bed,) for me was quiet enough for a good nights sleep,! Exellent wi fi”
 of 5 bubbles englishben_uk, May 11, 2014 | Read review
“Not all rooms are ensuite - must check.”
 of 5 bubbles LakeONsailor, Sep 12, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question