We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

1,322 reviews
Save
Traveler (352)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (19)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“merchants room”(34 reviews)
“jacuzzi bath”(53 reviews)
“sunday snug”(18 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,322)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveler rating
675
357
110
78
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
675
357
110
78
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerchants roomjacuzzi bathsunday snuggreat atmospherelive musicbeer gardenopen firesfish and chipsfairy lightspublic bargreat nightthe main hotelreal firefour poster bedscallopslovely mealmy partner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A heavy night of snow wasn't going to put us off going to the George for yet another Sunday snug stay. Again the chefs excelled and the food was fantastic, room was great and decided to have breakfast in bed, spot on time and cooked...More

Thank BeautyInc S
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay in the George Hotel, room 9. First impressions of the room were nice, spacious and looked just as the photos did. However on closer inspection I felt it was becoming run down. The rug...More

2  Thank Danielle_Turnbull
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We enjoyed a two night stay at the George early January. The hotel is stunning , a lot of money, effort and imagination having obviously put into the decor. We were in room 6 which is a beautiful , spacious and comfortable . There are...More

Thank Irene L
Reviewed 2 days ago

We didn't stay here but called in for lunch on a very wet and windy day, well it is Scotland after all! We chose a table near the roaring fire, the food was good and was served quickly by pleasant staff. It's well worth dropping...More

Thank Neil S
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

If you are anywhere near Inverary do yourself a favour and visit this place. I have been lucky enough to stay here for 6/7 weeks for work. The food and the rooms are excellent . More importantly tho the staff and owners are exceptional they...More

Thank indy-murray
View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456254
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$104 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$104 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (352)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (19)
Hotel & Grounds (230)
Bathroom (23)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
missbk79
November 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 764leslied | Reviewed this property |
It has a lot of atmosphere but the only spirits I saw were behind the bar and they proved most inviting.
2
Votes
Lindsay W
August 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 722annem | Reviewed this property |
I was only on the restaurant but yes they accept,dogs there
1
Vote
nmurphy2017
January 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Belinda H | Reviewed this property |
Natalie, congratulations on your upcoming wedding. My husband and I had a great experience at The George,however, we were traveling alone on vacation so I'm not sure our expectations were the same as yours. Our room was... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Library room had lock views , but no doubt others will as well?"
Read review
"Side of the building or a side building - not near the courtyard!"
Read review
"Room 6 with it's double jacuzzi bath in the room on a stepped floor."
Read review
"Staying in the building adjacent to the main hotel made for quiet nights of sleep."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite