We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aberdeen Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful area, beautiful building, in desperate need of renovation. Generally smell of drains throughout. Clientele is primarily fat, alcoholic, old men looking for work/claiming benefits and snoring/farting the night away. Kitchen is well equipped and clean. Try Ibis hotel in centre of town £50 most nights. Enjoy.

Helpful?
2 Thank p S
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi p S, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, As with all accommodation providers we do get a variety of guests staying with us who are travelling around our beautiful country. We will investigate the points you have raised. Regards Dan More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here never having been in a youth hotel ever! I was very impressed. The rooms were lovely and clean, I stayed in more than one room as I'd amended my booking and the same room hadn't been available for my first night, but no problem there. The guys stored my bags until the room was ready then helped... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJC1964
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi SJC1964 Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a wonderful time and I will pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff there. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very well run, clean youth hostel, very competitive prices. 5 minutes from the City centre, can really recommend this. Some free parking available, lovely wide street in a residential area where buildings are all made of granite.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Margaret K Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great ot see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hands down the worst place we (fam of 5) stayed in during our Scotland trip. My god, we told the kids to keep their shoes on in the room as the carpet was that dirty. The toilet in the hallway reminded me of my student dorm situation - not good, believe me. We were on the 4th floor, no elevator... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Olaf P
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Olaf P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us. Its quite clear from your review your experience was not a good one and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss these issues further on hopman@syah.org.uk . Regards Dan More 

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

If you cannot live without WiFi and a lift to get you to the first floor, avoid the place. If you can live with a peaceful, clean, well organized, well thought, well looked after place, this is for you. A lot of common space, impressive kitchen, TV room, lounge, all nice and comfortable. Only little thing missing : individual lights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie B
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

hi Annie B Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel following your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good time and we have noted your comments regarding Wi-Fi it is something we are constantly trying to improve and value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

This was our first experience of a youth hostel and we were delighted at what we found. We had an en-suite room and found it most acceptable. We are likely to use this place again as it is low priced and fits the bill for exactly what we need, i.e. a clean, well kept budget room.

Helpful?
Thank Anhamast
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anhamast, Thanks fore taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our 2 night stay in Aberdeen youth hostel. We had a private room with a sink. Showers and toilet facilities were just next to the room and always clean. There was very little noise during the night, my only complaint was that the room was a little too hot. We took advantage of the free... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarrieFlyer
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi CarrieFlyer, Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Youth Hostel – Aberdeen, Scotland 1 = poor 2 = below average 3 = average (for class / category) 4 = above average 5 = excellent Category: Youth Hostel Purpose: Cheap place to sleep Overall Rating: 3 Value: 3 Cleanliness: 2 Comfort: 3 Décor: 2 Location: 3 Friendliness / Accessibility of Staff: 2 Internet Speed: 0 Desk Space: 1 Closet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Bryan C Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.We value all feedback and will discuss this to see how we can improve our service. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at their Double private room for 1 night in this hostel while we're backpacking. The location was okay, not super close to the city centre, yet not super inconvenient to get to. It was right outside a bus route to/from the train station (takes about 10 minutes). Staff was nice, didn't really have much interaction... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
SYHAHostelling, Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel C Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Im glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay and have will look into your comments regarding the lighting. Regards Dan More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

I stayed here for 7 nights, in a private single room. The location is excellent and not particularly loud, however the walls are paper thin and you can hear people even having a quiet conversation next door. Room did not have the heater left on when I arrived back that night so was freezing (this is Aberdeen guys, not Spain!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank citroen889
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi citroen889, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Im glad you enjoyed the location of the hostel and have noted your comments regarding the walls and heating. Regards Dan Osborne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.6 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beeches Aberdeen
Beeches Aberdeen
#10 of 109 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our great value hostel is set in a historic building packed full of character, and has good facilities including family rooms. Aberdeen is a beautiful city, with easy access to the countryside, fishing, golf and pony trekking. City based attractions include cinema, concerts and the arts. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4ZT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $29 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aberdeen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay