We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (296)
Room & Suite (212)
Dining (151)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#16 of 67 hotels in Aberdeen
Travelers' Choice
A modern hotel just three miles south of the Granite City, The Aberdeen Altens Hotel is one of the most popular business and conference centres in the area. An easy drive into the city, it’s also ideally located if you want to discover Aberdeen and the beautiful East Coast, or Speyside and the majestic Scottish Highlands. Our guests can enjoy a warm and friendly welcome. Complemented by impeccable service, our hotel offers superb food in our contemporary restaurant and delicious light bites and bar snacks in the Cairngorm Bar. Our health & leisure club at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel has an indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gymnasium, spa pool, sauna and steam room, all of which are yours to use whenever you like during your visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / closet
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Greek, Lithuanian and 4 more
2710Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,419
  • 858
  • 263
  • 93
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jimmyzdiscoz wrote a review Jan 10
Blackford, United Kingdom60 contributions15 helpful votes
Room initially looked okay. But going to the toilet there was a 'poo' still in the toilet. It set the tone unfortunately for the rest of the night away. I mentioned it to reception and they claimed it was "back wash". Have since asked other hotels if they had heard of this phenomenon.. nobody had heard of this before. Dinner at night was okay then we moved to the bar area for a few more drinks. The most arrogant, rude and aggressive bar manager approached 1 of our party to question her age(23). All she had on her was the legally accepted young Scots card. This was not accepted. Rules of the bar was if you were under the age of 18, you had to leave the bar area. She was made to do a walk of Shame. Completely unacceptable behaviour from a manager. Best part was that she didn't even have an alcoholic drink plus we had a 19 Yr old male with us and he was not questioned about his age. The 23 yr old female had been allowed to have alcohol in the restaurant with no questions asked. I was having a general conversation with the bar manager about his decision and his general attitude. He decided he was walking away from me. When asked why he was doing this... he replied that he was not speaking to me because he would end up shouting at me and banning me from the bar. Complaint was made to reception and various emails were going back and forth. Despite looking for some form of communication with the hotel manager, he never once made an effort to contact me personally. Various ways of rectifying our disgusting experience at this hotel were put to us. But it was going to cost the family visit some £300 for the night. Hotel doesn't accept the legal young Scots card. Only passport or driving licence. Now if you don't have these, you can't have an alcoholic drink. If the hotel had pointed out that uk visitors may need to bring their UK passport to a UK hotel to prove their age to have a drink.. this disgraceful scene with the unprofessional bar manager would not have happened. It ruined the weekend and will never visit this hotel again. A hotel manager who doesn't communicate with customers and a bar manager who demonstrated a very unprofessional and aggressive attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the bar area if you are lucky enough to look young. Bring your passport with you to prove...
See more room tips
Response from Kris Manship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jimmyzdiscoz, Thank you for taking the time to share a review, good or bad we value all feedback as it helps benchmark how we are performing, and I'm saddened to see you only rated us 1 star. I’m pleased to hear that generally, you were happy with your room and your meal but please accept my personal apologies for the issue with your toilet, this is under ongoing investigation. The Challenge 25 policy is in place to prevent underage drinking and I’m sorry if your daughter being asked to prove her age caused you so much upset, but I hope you can appreciate we have a duty of care to uphold the licensing principles. Like many licensed premises in Scotland, we do not accept the Young Scots Card as it can be easily forged, and as you mentioned we only accept a driving license or passport. I appreciate you were unhappy with the manager's decision, but as a Personal License Holder, failure to comply with the legislation could lead to a fixed penalty or prosecution, so I’m sure you can understand why we take this matter so seriously. In my absence, the Director of Sales was in contact with you to discuss your complaint as I didn't think it was fair to keep you waiting, as was explained to you at the time and I’m sorry to hear you declined her offers of recompense. Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager
Read more
RNW1994 wrote a review Jan 4
County Armagh, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Had the pleasure of staying the Altens for 2 months whilst working in Aberdeen. There is absolutely nothing I could fault about this gem of a hotel! From the outside it does look a little bit dull but once you get inside you will be pleasantly surprised. Would just like to shout out to the reception staff Carly, Kat and Anaya who were always so helpful & pleasant & nothing was ever a problem for them! The rooms were clean & tidy & well serviced. I ate breakfast & dinner in coast & keg each day. Never did I get bored of the menu, everything on it was superb!! Although a young group of staff in the restaurant the service was always really good, shout out to Claire, Jessica, Hannah, Antonette, Morgan and all the others who put up with the demands of keeping a large group of us happy each night! And I can’t not mention Russell the restaurant manager who went out of his way to make sure we were happy for the duration of our stay! Only wish I could have stayed longer! If I’m ever back in Aberdeen this is the only place I would stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Amy M wrote a review Dec 2021
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
Nipped in by the Coast and Keg with hubby and granddaughter. Great food and service by Jessica, relaxed feeling and the restaurant felt safe and welcoming. Singapore noodles were amazing! Kids fish and chips went down well too, great value menu. Been before and will defo be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Kris Manship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear AmyMackie71, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review and for rating us 5 stars! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Coast and Keg and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager
Read more
Arran wrote a review Dec 2021
Blackpool, United Kingdom1 contribution
So I have being staying at the hotel on business for a considerable amount of time, and I have to say the service I have received from all the staff is nothing but exceptional. To the ladies on the front desk (Kat,Ananya,Carly & Noot) who have each day helped with dinner collections, sorting of laundry & booking in for room service. To the team who work in the restaurant (Hannah,Annmarie,Claire,Lee,Liam,Conner,Chloe,Antonette,Morgan, Alice, Ben & Zara) who each night have put on a fantastic service who always go out of there way to make sure the food and service is always second to none. Special shout out to Russell who has made us welcome and even added to the lunch menu for added requests. Just a massive thank you to everyone involved and if I missed anyone I apologise as I can only remember so many names 😂 Keep up the good work, and am sure I will be seeing you all again in the new year!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Plenty of parking at hotel and close to petrol station, costs around £9-£10 for taxi into town...
See more room tips
Response from Kris Manship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Passenger44637851525, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share this lovely review and for rating us 5 stars! I am so pleased to hear you are enjoying your time at the hotel, especially as you have been with us for quite some time now! I really appreciate you highlighting the great service provided by the team, I will share your kind comments with them and ensure those you have named will be rewarded for the recognition. I hope you continue to enjoy your time with us! Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager
Read more
Linda R wrote a review Dec 2021
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom104 contributions50 helpful votes
Stayed at the Altens hotel which is situated about 3 miles from city centre, we had booked a suite with B&B at a very competitive price. Our room was large with king size bed, seating are with table and chairs, small equipped kitchen with Nespresso coffee maker and good sized bathroom with toiletries, bath robes and slippers. Large wardrobe, iron, safe and hairdryer. We thoroughlyenjoyed the evening meals in the Coast and Keg restaurant offering a wide choice of meals and daily specials, and delicious desserts, breakfast offered an excellent hot buffet and a continental selection. Staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and friendly. There is a small swimming pool, steam room and gym which we did not have time to use but both seemed well equipped. Plenty parking at no charge. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Altens and look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Response from Kris Manship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Responded Dec 22, 2021
Dear Linda R, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel and for rating us 5 stars. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager
Read more
$60 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
thistle aberdeen altens hotel aberdeen, thistle hotel aberdeen
Thistle Aberdeen Altens
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireAberdeen
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape808 (0.02 miles), Kincorth Hill Nature Reserve (0.7 miles), and Langdykes Bar (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wellington Hotel, Curry Lounge, and Costa Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Aberdeen Altens Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Thai, Polish, Greek, Turkish, and Romanian.