We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skene House Holburn

#12 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Skene House Holburn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for several weeks during work in Aberdeen. Very helpful staff. Located central in Aberdeen with walking distance to most of the things to do in Aberdeen. The buss to the Beach stops in front of the hotel. Our room had anything we needed for staying there.

Helpful?
Thank Mailinn G
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Holburn. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with all the facilities in your apartment. Our hotel is very centrally located so is an excellent base for exploring Aberdeen. I hope you will stay with us again... More 

Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Booked an apartment door five nights. Had absolutely everything you need for a comfortable stay. Apartment clean and plenty of room for two. Would definitely recommend and probably book again. Also little extras like a free drink included. Good choice of continental breakfast included and cooked items available at an additional charge. Staff friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Forget_itelaine
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Holburn. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your suite to be comfortable and clean. Myself and the staff try to go out of our way to make sure that all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay at... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Excellent Service, very nice apartments, close to lots of nice pubs and whisky bars as well as shopping if your into it. Parking in back. Good Breakfast and pleasant staff. Coffee and Tea available in the spacious lobby.

Helpful?
Thank Gigmyster
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our Deluxe Continental Breakfast, which is plentiful, varied and freshly prepared, through the morning. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard... More 

Shetland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stay was lovely well presented. Carpet a little outdated but overall was in great clean condition, apartments are very spacious with all appliances you could ever need. Receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall brilliant place to stay and I'd stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Laura98_20
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor. All feedback is important to us as it allows us to continuously improve our standards and service. Your comments are lovely and I am very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. I will make sure that all the staff, and in particular the Reception team, are given the opportunity... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

One of the best hotel ever been in UK, central location and very nice staff. If you want to come here, get the executive room: spacious with 2 rooms plus kitchen. Breakfast very generous, first drink free at the bar. Good pub at 20 meters. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank AndreaWanderer
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving this wonderful review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and think that we are one of the best hotels in the UK you have visited. I'm glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast offering and the complimentary drink from the Honour Bar is always appreciated by our guests. I hope we get... More 

Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

This was our last night in Scotland and we couldn't have picked a better Hotel. We enjoyed all of the surprises - the 4 room apartment with room to stretch out, the honor bar, and the excellent recommendations for a local pub. The staff was warm and inviting, we had a wonderful experience.

Helpful?
Thank Ayersmama
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful experience for your last night in Scotland. Our apartments are great for relaxing because you get so much more space than a typical hotel room and I'm glad you enjoyed your time at... More 

Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

It was really the best accommodation in Scotland in comparison of the price and of the service that they offer. All the staff is really wonderful and very nice. There is a very good big parking reserved for the guest. The room are comfortable and there is a lots of space because there is a bedroom, a sitting room, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank albrizio
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Holburn. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt we were the best accommodation in Scotland that you visited. Our staff work hard to provide a first class experience to all of our guests and it is wonderful to read that... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

My husband and i stayed here on the 6th of may for 3 nights we have stayed many times ,but had not been back for a while Skene House Holburn is as good as ever,if not better .We can not fault anything great staff clean apartments breakfast quick and friendly just as our check in was,they even supplied us with... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan m
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I’m very glad that you chose to return to Skene House Holburn and that you enjoyed this stay as much as your previous visits. It was lovely to read that you are hoping to stay with us again soon and that you would... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

After traveling around Scotland for over a week staying in B&B's, we were happy to have a lovely 4 room apartment with a full kitchen complete with a laundry. a living room and a bed room and bathroom. The location was downtown, yet very quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Bill072
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to read your review. Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time... More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

My wife and I spent two delightful nights in Skene House Holburn based on good reviews we found on Tripadvisor. It is the first time we have stayed in a Serviced Appartment and it exceeded all our expectations. For the price of a normal hotel B&B we got a suite comprising bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchen, together with an excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveY_3
SkeneHouseHolburn, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for affording the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard of hospitality and guest service. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Holburn. It... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skene House Holburn occupies an enviable location where the West End meets the City Centre. Across the road you'll find one of our Partner Gyms; a stroll up the cobbled street and you'll feel the buzz of Union Street's restaurants and bars; around the corner you'll find Rose and Thistle Street's stylish boutiques and cafes. The professional business district, which flank Rubislaw and Queen's Terrace Gardens, in 'on the doorstep' making Holburn a convenient place to stay for Business and Leisure Holburn's 39, 1-3 bedroom apartments in a range of 6 classic and chic interior designs ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Address: Holburn 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay