We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Atholl Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you want good classic fare and a warm welcome, you can do no better within Aberdeen city than the Atholl. Mir is so consistent, provides a good mix of dishes to suit all but the most difficult to please. We just keep going back!

Helpful?
Thank littleworldtraveller
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Room well appointed, normal tea coffee making facilities, complimentary water, good comfortable double bed, shower no bath in this room. Restaurant good selection on the menu and we'll priced, quality and presentation good, and staff very helpful About 1 mile from centre if you want the night life. Wifi free and good service. Plenty Parking at rear of Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank alexhanderson
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely meal here and up to usual standard Plenty of choice with old favourites still on the menu First class food and service Good prices and standard still high On the negative side sorry to see they do not use proper tablecloths instead bare table Spoils the look as they still provide proper napkins

Helpful?
Thank Karenrr
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Atholl Hotel and for sharing your experience. I will ensure to pass on your comments to all concerned. I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Regards Gaynor Priest More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Have been a regular customer over the last couple of years but recently had to go gluten free. They have a few items on the menu which are clearly marked as gf which I have had and are extremely good, however last night I fancied something a bit more festive as its so near to Christmas and a good roast... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolyn62s
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, It was a joy to read your fantastic review and we would like you to know how much it means to us all. Our kitchen team are always happy to assist with any dietary requirements and preferences that you may have. Always just ask! I will pass your kind comments on to our team also. We look forward... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

I was part of a party of approximately 40 Ladies. The Atholl is always good, so we were all happy and full of anticipation. However, we were let down. Our hot plates were put on the table in front of us first. Then came huge platters of vegetables - help yourself - eventually the mealie pudding came - again help... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HankBrogieLabrador
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HankBrogieLabrador, I have discussed your dining experience with both the Duty Manager and the Managing Partner neither of whom knew of any complaint regarding your points mentioned on the day. Order of service is silver service for the main course and family service for the vegetables and accompaniments, which means vegetables and potatoes go on the table for you... More 

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

We chose The Atholl Hotel for our weekend break in Aberdeen to experience the friendly atmosphere the hotel is renowned for. We were not disappointed. Nice to see the staff and management are still making their guests feel special in very comfortable surroundings. Good food and excellent service made for a memorable stay.

Helpful?
Thank isobel305
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed their stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments. Our team do try hard to ensure you have a memorable stay and it... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Looked after above and beyond. Gordon was amazing. Really took care of me and my family at a very difficult time. We checked in and then checked out next day. But unfortunately my husband became worse in hospital and so more family arrived. We checked back in needed more rooms. People were moved around and rooms were found for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan j
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your family at such a difficult time. I will pass your kind comments onto all the team here. If you are back in Aberdeen we would be delighted to welcome you back. Regards Gaynor Priest More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Great rooms, appetising food, attentive, friendly staff in a convenient westend situation. Our dinner party for nine people was a great success thanks to the service including lively banter of the staff. Just try it.

Helpful?
Thank Mileend11
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your evening with us. Delighted that your dinner party was a success. I will pass your kind comments onto the team. Regards Gaynor Priest More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Nice to be back for our third visit. Warm welcome by Julie on reception who recognised us straight away. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Good choice at breakfast. We ate in the restaurant the first evening which was excellent. All the staff are very friendly and made us feel so welcome. Look forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see that you rated your stay highly and I will pass your kind comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Gaynor Priest More 

Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for the price of 2 as part of a break. The total bill including breakfast was £200 and that shows the value here. The room was clean, well equipped, the double bed a decent size, even if the mattress was 'firm' and we both suffered a bit as a result!! The cleaning staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments. I will ensure to pass these onto all the team. We thank you again and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#