We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Carmelite Hotel

Save
Share
Stirling Street Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$113
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (132)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#54 of 67 hotels in Aberdeen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
33Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shona D wrote a review Jan 1
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel from the outside, bar, restaurant and even the rooms looked good, and then as I was unpacking I first noticed a lump of hair on the drain, then dried pee stains on the toilet, hairs on the bath and a very questionable stain on the outside of the duvet cover! I went down to reception because the phone provided for contacting room service battery was flat. There was wedding guests at check in so eventually when a member of staff asked if everything was ok I discreetly mentioned that our room was filthy, she said she would get a cleaner right up.... After waiting 20 mins and finally sending a WhatsApp message to room service with no answer we also phoned and left a message! I had to start getting ready as we had reservations for dinner elsewhere, I didn't want to go into the shower incase someone came up so there I was hanging over the bath 46 yrs and back not in the best condition washing my hair with the shower, My husband pointed out the flaws and the questionable stain on sheets. He offered us a smaller room, I had already paid for the room at the time of booking, I said no if they could just get it cleaned asap, he asked what time we were going out I said in an hour or so, so he told us to tell him when we left and he would get the room cleaned! 20 mins later a cleaning supervisor came in, cleaned the bits of the room we had mentioned and changed the bed. We quickly got ready no shower no time and left for dinner. When we got back and into bed every spring in the bed was felt,.so an utterly sleepless night was had!. A room not getting cleaned is bad enough in normal times a room not getting cleaned during a covid19 pandemic Is utterly disgraceful! Like everyone else in the world we had not been out in over a year, was so looking forward to getting away for the night to celebrate our belated 10th wedding anniversary which was in Feb and couldn't because of lockdown but the night was ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ewnc wrote a review Aug 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Staying for a night for business. I hope this is the worst room in the hotel as it is $hite. Small, odd shaped room and bird $hits all over the window sill I won’t stay here again Poor show Caremilte hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Thank you for your comments, sorry we didn't meet your expectation on this occasion. As the hotel is over 200 years old we have many different room styles, sizes and standards the one you chose is an entry level single room with everything you need for a nights stay - but a basic offer which is priced very favourably in the market place.
Read more
SS06TTT wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Good location however for a suite it was overpriced when the mattress is old and lumpy, the lights don’t work properly and the room smells of damp. Carpet was covered in stains, room just looked shabby
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Thank you for your comments, I can only apologise if you didn't feel the room was value for money, we are in the process of upgrading some of the beds and carpets which will hopefully be complete over the next few months. Should you wish to discuss further please feel free to contact me direct.
Read more
dellulahlaura wrote a review Aug 2021
Forfar, United Kingdom277 contributions94 helpful votes
This was a brief one night stay. Lovely looking bar & restaurant area. Nice enough standard twin room but a wee bit shabby in places, eg: a strip off the window frame fell off. My mattress was comfy enough but sadly springs jutting through in places. The bath was not properly cleaned as it had a dirty rim around it. All the staff were lovely, particularly the manager.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Thank you for your review, we are working our way though tidying up some of the rooms which will include new mattress. I have discussed your comments with housekeeping and the full team have now been retrained on the cleaning procedures. I cn nly apologise for these little niggles.
Read more
LH92_21 wrote a review Aug 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
A big thank you to Daniel. This guy is doing 10 things at once with ease, the place wouldn’t be the same without him. 10/10 service. We booked a standard room which was absolutely fine & in a great location. There is also a fantastic cocktail menu to try. We will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Thank you, great to hear our staff are going the extra mile.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmelite hotel aberdeen
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireAberdeen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Carmelite Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aberdeen Maritime Museum (0.1 miles), Siberia Bar (0.2 miles), and The Tolbooth Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Carmelite Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Carmelite Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Carmelite Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Revolution, Monsoona Healthy Indian Cuisine, and Namaste Delhi.
Is The Carmelite Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Aberdeen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Carmelite Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St Machar's Cathedral (1.6 miles), The Tolbooth Museum (0.2 miles), and Provost Skene's House (0.2 miles).
Is The Carmelite Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.