We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skene House Whitehall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Skene House Whitehall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
213 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No complaints but for the terrible beds, double and singles. We had no idea you could request some sort of soft top to go on the beds. We, and the couple with us, had some bad nights as a result. The rest of the apartment was great, large kitchen and lounge, ok bathroom. What is it with some hotels that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett F
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall for your recent stay in Aberdeen. We were very pleased that you liked the suite but please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable mattress. We are in the process of replacing many of the mattresses but, as I'm sure you appreciate, this does take a bit of time. We are always happy to... More 

Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The apartment was what I expected after reading other reviews. It had an entry way after actually entering the room with 4 doors in it. One led to a tiny kitchen, one led to the master bedroom, one to the tiniest of bathrooms, and the last to the living room which sat 3 people. There was a single room off... More 

Helpful?
Thank CheryllDrew
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Skene House Whitehall. I was sorry to read that your suite was not all to your liking and that you did not receive our usual high levels of customer service. When we are expecting a particularly busy breakfast service at weekends we add cooked items... More 

Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have stayed here several times in the past and as ever Skene House Whitehall lived up to all our expectations. Very friendly, welcoming staff, fantastic accommodation and a lovely breakfast - you couldn't ask for anything more. Anytime we stay in Aberdeen this is always our first choice.

Helpful?
Thank Granderbob
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were incredibly pleased to hear that we are your first choice in Aberdeen and that you find everything you need in our suites. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything about my stay was great except the bed. So uncomfortable and sloped from the bottom upwards. Terrible nights sleep but the staff were great. If I'd stayed more than one night I'm sure they would have sorted me out a different room. The room itself was great as well. All in all a lovely place to stay, very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Whitehall. I was sorry to note that we let you down in one of the most important areas for a hotel but very pleased to read that even with this you were still happy with our team's customer service. Our mattresses are replaced regularly but I haven't... More 

Broulee, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was comfortable and spacious, and good for the end of a camping trip in Scotland. We had spent a week in Scotland enjoying the views through quite few rain storms, and Aberdeen was our choice to abandon our tent, and have a little luxury. Skene house gave us a comfortable bed, and a quiet room, so we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluecat464
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your time at Skene House Whitehall. We were pleased to have been able to provide some luxury at the end of your camping trip. There's nothing quite like that first hot shower! Thank you again and hopefully we will see you back again in the future. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stay! We were recommended it by a friend and booked one night online. Parking was no problem (and free). Staff were so friendly and helpful at the check-in and we were helped with our luggage to our apartment by a lovely chap, Jack. The apartment consisted of a spacious double room, en suite shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAW1958
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review after your recent stay with us at Skene House Whitehall. Our team were delighted to have made such a good impression, particularly Jack. They genuinely enjoy helping our guests make the best of their time with us and to have this noticed by your feeeling so valued was... More 

New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our beautiful apartment was spotless, nicely appointed and very quiet. There was a lovely seating area outside in the garden.The laundry facility, just steps away, was a nice bonus. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was lovely. Couldn't ask for more!!

Helpful?
Thank Samburuwedding
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review after your recent visit to Skene House Whitehall. We were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our housekeeping team in particular were delighted with your comments. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights at this hotel. It is a very central location, easy walk to anywhere in downtown Aberdeen. The room had a separate sitting area. We were on the fourth floor with no elevator available. Request a lower floor if stairs are an issue.

Helpful?
Thank Jan G
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were pleased that you seem to have enjoyed your time here. Our reception or reservation teams will be happy to take special requests for lower floors if stairs are a problem to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
552 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we checked in around 4 pm we were escorted to our apartment by a really helpful concierge called Ross. After climbing up 2 floors with our heavy suitcases he opened the door to the apartment only to discover it had not been cleaned since the other guests had checked out. He was so upset at the inconvenience that he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seabird21
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. It was great to read that even though there were one or two problems you still enjoyed your visit. Ross will be delighted to read that you were so impressed with the way he dealt with the problems. Please accept my apologies for this mistake.... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really helpful reception staff. Good location and excellent clean apartments. I had double bedroom, single bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, all very clean and well appointed. Would be good to have a couple of snacks in bedroom, and breakfast coffee not strong enough for my taste. So small niggles, but otherwise, great experience. I have stayed here several times and have no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas from Gl... Y
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were very pleased to read that you enjoy your time here. As I am sure you found out there are biscuits available in our lounge along with tea and coffee 24 hours a day. There are also bar snacks available in our honour bar.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

456 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
#4 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay