We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 744: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has all the elements of a decent facility but just leaves you wanting more. When I stayed here there was building work going on to modernise the place and in needed it. Tired, shabby etc. It might be better now but I'd check other reviews.

Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked into the hotel three weeks in advance. A fire seemingly occured which closed the place down. I found out accidentally via a collegue two hours before flying up there. A complete shambles of an organisation. Ended up finding a place at the last minute with much extra expense. No call, no appologies, completely unacceptable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Phill R

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was great, we got a really good price so ended up staying or should say booked in for2 nights. Food in bar was good, beer cold. Hotel was dated but found it comfortable and really clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. BUT then it caught on fire and couldn't stay 2nd night. Staff very professional, helping guests, keeping them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jillian C
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Couldnt even check-in because of the flames. Then the police asked me to leave. Firefighters everywhere, and hotel guests brawling with them to try and get back in for their posessions. hell of an afternoon.

Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Hotel room clean and comfortable staff helpful and friendly too many contractors in hotel wearing there work gear, there was a lot of bad language in the bar and lounge areas , I would not recommend this hotel for children

Helpful?
1 Thank christinecarroll55
Hebburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

This hotel is going through it's death throes, not helped by being on the outskirts of a city that's utterly miserable. Aberdeen reminded me of when kids would ask their grandparents, if everything was in black and white, when they were younger. It feels as if everything in this place is just in miserable monochrome. The hotel rooms are very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Davy_Craig
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a single night on business The gym was poor. 2 treadmills and 3 cross trainer and a few weight. Not clean or much space at all. I had to pay £2 to use the facility and felt that I was overcharging The room, bar and building was all very dated and really need decorating and a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank marvin b
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking time out of your day to write a comment about your recent stay with us. Granted we are a older hotel built in the 1970`s and from an aesthetics point of view we will never look as good as some of the newer hotels in Aberdeen. The spindles Gym area is limited in the... More 

UK, Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

If you dig deep and look you will find negativity, I could with Marriott or Hilton if had too, I spent 5 nights here, first thing stands out during the week it's full of workmen in high viz, parking is terrible., you should ask for rooms on higher floors, there is a smell of fresh plaster and paint the carpets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwagg
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very busy in the week as we are highly used by workmen etc due to the good value of the hotel rooms. Yes like other hotels we have some problems but each day we attempt to meet these challenges to ensure our guests get the... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

I made the mistake of not checking on here prior to booking. Fail. I don't mind a budget hotel but PLEASE guys, make sure you keep the place at least clean and maintained? Do you give your staff enough time to clean each room? Cobwebs, dust (especially around the carpet), dirt and grime in the bathroom. The hotel seemed busy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewlang
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Im sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Britannia Hotel and I apologise that the room you stayed in was not up to the appropriate standards, I have walked all of our bedrooms and it does appear that some of our bathrooms could do with modernising, Britannia hotels have invested heavily in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

We are just back from a 5 night stay here. We read reviews just before leaving and we were pretty unsure about what we were going to. However we had no complaints... Yes the place is pretty dated but the beds were spotless and comfy.... in my opinion lots of the reviews are people looking for a 5 star hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank margaret c
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review, im pleased that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay over the week you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Richard L More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel And Suites
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#33 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#20 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
#4 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $93 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay