We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abbey Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 449: English reviews
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Family of 4; we stayed for only one night, but we very much enjoyed it. Seamus is a great host, friendly and informative. He made us tea upon our arrival and gave us tips about what was currently happening in town. The tea/breakfast room was very nice and breakfast was quite good. Our room was generous and clean. Convenient location... More 

Helpful?
Thank steveandanne2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night when we flew over from Edinburgh for a wedding, I have to say that is was the perfect place to stay. We had a wonderful stay in a clean, large and nicely decorated room on the ground floor, the owner and staff were so friendly and the breakfast was large and tasty and made really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charley T
Cape York, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I spent four nights at this B&B and loved the warm friendly hospitality shown to us by all the staff. The breakfast was amazing and the beds were so comfy we didn't want to get out. The B&B has a wonderful local ambience and the location perfect. Very happy to recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Libby C
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

I had to spend a night in Derry and hoped for a better sleep experience then the dorms at Queens University Belfast unfortunately the mattress and carpet were exactly the same and the shower door barely allowed me to enter. The water pressure was practically non-existent as well. To be fair my visit did not avail of the breakfast portion... More 

Helpful?
Thank timothy p
Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Tim.....Thanks for review, i don,t fully understand the comment mattress and carpet the same, i presume the bed may not have been soft enough.....anyhow our mattress are semi orthopedic quite firm.....I checked you in, so i know you were in room 5. We also use mattress toppers for extra comfort,so i don,t full understand. The shower pressure in room... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We were happy that car park is just next to the b&b. As we arrived on Sunday there was no need to pay and we asked if we should pay for some hours on monday morning - we didn't and we good a penalty 15 min bevore we left. Nevertless room were clean and bed comfortable. I liked that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunshine86ch
Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am glad that your stay at the Abbey was ok, however parking is absolutely nothing to do with our business. There is free public car parking right beside the B&B and you are never charged for this. I assume that you parked in the meter toll car park on William street, across the road from B&B. If this is... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Excellent bnb always going the extra mile , Seamus is an excellent host rooms are clean and modern and a very warm atmosphere throughout we use this bnb for friends who reguarly visit from Italy and they are always well looked after - Brava Brava !

Helpful?
Thank alisoncanney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and cheerful and warm Welcome. Accommodation, price, location, breakfast, Staff Kindness and evidently Top Owners are just EXCELLENT!!!! One may go there with a 200% Confidence. Really sweet and lovely Family-like Welcome

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas P
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Love Derry so much, it's a beautiful place with beautiful people. So much to do in this city and amazing landmarks to see. The Abbey is a very central place, not too far from shops, pubs and restaurants.The murals, free Derry landmark and bloody Sunday museum are all a short distance from the Abbey and probably about a 5/10 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicolle D
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

All the staff are so welcoming and friendly. The cooked breakfasts are amazing. The rooms are comfortable and the prices are way too low for the quality of service provided. The b and b is beautifully decorated and easy to relax in.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Basic b&b with good breakfast. Location is handy to walk to the city centre as in the bogside.The downside is that it's in a very residential area and we were kept awake by a neighbours dog barking half of the night.

Helpful?
Thank Lela M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry
#5 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbey bed and breakfast is Derrys city most centrally located B&B. It is the only accommodation in the bogside area of the city. Winner of "Northwest Guesthouse of the Year Award 2004 and 2005." Luxury rooms all en-suite, disabled access and ground floor disabled bathroom facilities. Five minutes walk to historic city monuments such as free derry corner, famous citywalls, cathadrals, shopping malls, theatre, pubs, restaurants and two minutes walk to swimming pool and fitness suite.Abbey B&B is currently upgrading its facilities which will also include the ABBEY STUDIO TEA ROOM where guest can avail of real Coffee and relax in the Studio, the wall are themed with paraphernalia of Derry,s rich musical history. Also buy a gift from the Abbey Gift display in the hallway.Our aim is to offer Guest THE COMPLETE EXPERIENCE.Our location is our uniqueness, in an area steeped in history and where you walk to everywhere without needing a Taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Abbey Street | Leading on From Fredrick Street, Derry BT48 9DN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Abbey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey b&b
Abbey Hotel Derry
Abbey Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay