We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travelled to Carrowmena as a group of 14 kids and 7 adults and our experience was 1st class from beginning to end. Every one of our kids were treated to a day of new experiences and fun activities. The staff were exceptional in their patience and quality of care and service shown to us all day. I cannot recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for Carrowmena. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip yesterday with the kids - was great to meet you and hope to see you back again in 2017 - Carla @ Carrowmena More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always a pleasure going back to Carrowmena, for me the best glamping experience in N.Ireland by far. From the staff, Charlotte and Angie who are excellent at their jobs, so friendly, helpful and fantastic with children, they really make you feel at home. The facilities on site are amazing, the layout of the pods and bell tents are super, spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyJones5
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for Carrowmena. We are super glad you enjoyed your Glamping & Activities! Hope to see you back with the family again soon! Carla @ Carrowmena More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had such a wonderful time glamping at Carrowmena! The facility was very clean and well kept! The staff were all friendly and knowledgable. The "Leap of Faith" was a bit scary but I felt so proud of myself afterwards, it was totally worth the panic attack on the way up. (Just don't look down!) Thank you, Steve for making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne K
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Many thanks for your fantastic review for Carrowmena - we are so glad you enjoyed your activities here and your Glamping trip - WELL DONE for taking the challenge on of the 'Leap Of Faith' - Hope to see you back again soon! Carrowmena More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had five nights and six days on site in our own tent, with a family of 5. Our children range from 6 to 12, and all had plenty to keep them active and entertained. We were the only campers on site in our own tent, most other people using the bell-tents or cocoon pods permanently on site. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Evers
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Many thanks for your fantastic review for Carrowmena - we are so glad you enjoyed your activities here and your camping trip - we will definitely take the feedback for the showers on board! Hope to see you back again soon! Carrowmena More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the cocoon for one night and did the great maize maze. The next day the four of us (2 adults and 2 kids - 9 and 11) did the canoeing and kayaking in the morning and the archery, crate stack and zip line. Very well organised and great fun had by all. All the staff were brilliant, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fantastic review for Carrowmena - we are so glad you enjoyed your activities here and your stay in the Glamping Pods - hope to see you back again soon! Carrowmena More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was here for four days with a group of 34 young people and will not be back. A few staff members including the boss was extremely rude to our young people and staff with the comments they said, we went out one night to the cinema and returned to find the door one of the doors left open (whenever we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, Thank you for your review, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Carrowmena. During pre-visit it was never agreed that you would have sole use of Carrowmena - yes your group had sole use of the Hostel - but we had explained during pre visit that there would be people staying in our Luxury... More 

antrim
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the bell tents which are very pretty on the inside. There were 3 children and myself, there was plenty of room but it did get extremely cold and damp during the night even with the little Woodburning stove on (possibly due to the weather not bing that great) . The children did the Monday madness... More 

Helpful?
Thank clairek79
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Many thanks for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your trip here at Carrowmena. It's a pity about the weather - but hopeullly next time the sun will be shining! Hope to see you at Carrowmena again soon! Team Carrowmena More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We girls had a great time staying in the bell tent for one night.It was a beautiful night and we lit a camp fire just outside the tent. We melted mashmellows and dipped strawberries in chocolate as we listened to the soft music of a guitar played by one of the other campers.We then resided to sleep in the lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thank you very much for your brilliant feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your girly night here at Carrowmena - we will pass the message on to Angie and hope to see you at Carrowmena again soon! Team Carrowmena More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the luxury bell tents, we had a fantastic glamping experience. The beds were very comfy. Everything was lovely and clean. the glitches is an extra bonus. An excellent camping experience. Would definitely recommend this experience. We are currently planning our next visit. Xx

Helpful?
Thank ccooke07
lottie307, General Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Many thanks for your fantastic review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Carrowmena for your mums birthday. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Carla @ Carrowmena More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight with friends and done several activities. Brilliant from start to finish. Staff were amazing. Would come back here. Carrowmena is also very family friendly, I am taking my family soon

Helpful?
Thank laurajb80
lottie307, Front Office Manager at Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you very much for your fantastic review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Carrowmena - great to hear you are booking again soon! Team Carrowmena More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derry
13.3 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
12.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
14.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry
#5 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roe Park Resort
Roe Park Resort
#1 of 2 in Limavady
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carrowmena Activity Centre & Hostel is set at the foot of Binevenagh in the beautiful & adventurous Roe Valley. We offer a range of on & offsite activities wet & dry to include Zip Lines, High Ropes Activities, canoeing, kayaking, rock climbing, abseiling, orienteering to name but a few. All safety equipment supplies along with full qualified instructors. Idea for families, friends, birthday parties, youth/adult, stag/hen packages & corporate team building groups. We have a 38 bed Hostel, 6 X Glamping Pods & 2 acre field for camping..... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel

Address: 100 Carrowclare Road | Limavady, Derry BT49 9EB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: $76 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carrowmena Activity Centre and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrowmena Activity Centre And Hostel Derry, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay