We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour House Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Harbour House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour House Inn
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here (again) over the weekend and it was great, the staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are clean and well presented,the food is amazing, we had steak platters cooked to perfection,again the staff in the restaurant excellent, we headed into the bar and there was live music on, plenty of drinks served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deekin13
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have always driven past and was never enticed in until a recommendation from friend. The service throughout was excellent. Food was first class we had mussels to start followed by scampi and fish & chips kids had mussels and sausage and chips. We will definitely be back again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArmsghApple
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we re so glad you stopped. Hope to see you all again Regards Frances

Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Booked in for 2.00pm Easter Sunday very busy but the staff were super good food from start to finish was unreal and the kids meal were great too only thing we did not like was the very very old loos they near ripped out and redone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watithink
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review glad you had a great time. Sorry about the loo's, old building unfortunately. Regards Frances

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

Love this place. Food is fantastic. Quirky menus. Seafood is fantastic and I regularly drive from Belfast just for the grub. It's worth the drive. Bar maybe needs a spring clean but don't let it fool you because this place is a gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john7h
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Spring clean in action as we speak. Because of the open fires and windy salty exterior there is always a spring clean needed. Regards Frances

Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

My sons took me. £18 for 3 courses. All excellent. Welcome place after a walk up mournes especially if casually dressed. Dessert nicer than a 5* hotel I was in Belfast the day before. Rustic & friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel E
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review. Glad you had an Ol' ramble in the Mournes too. Hope to see you again Regards Frances

Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We had booked 6 rooms for a family birthday. The staff were super friendly and food was perfect . When we came down to dinner the staff had decorated the long table and brought out the cake for dessert . Would not hesitate to reccomend Harbour House to any one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianne58
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad you had a great time. We love the family get togethers they are alway great craic. We hope you gained some good memories. Best regards Frances

Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

In for lunch, ordered starters and mains, couldn't fault any of it, waitress was very good very friendly and she was only one serving she did a fabulous job!! Definitely recommend eating here!! Plus Saturday nights great craic and always some good band/singer to entertain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lene1234566
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review

Newcastle, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Interesting and varied menu, with something for everyone. Very tasty food and the portion size was spot on. Service was fast, the sea view from our seat was lovely. Great on a summer evening. Plenty of car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErnieSkillen
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review

Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

We called in here whilst visiting Newcastle. We were a bit early for our reservation but we're accommodated by the friendly staff. The food was excellent and the overall atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. Will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Stopped on for a bite during an afternoon walk in Newcastle. Fantastic pub food. Soup and chowder excellent. The mains of steak and stout pie were fantastic. The interior is all a bit rustic but don't let that put you off. In a cosy atmosphere and stunning views, you won't worry too much about ir

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrykris
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cheers

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
145 reviews
20.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Stone Boat Restaurant at The Harbour House Inn
Stone Boat Restaurant at The Harbour House Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Address: 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 1 looks out over the sea”
deekin13, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a sea view ..... no extra charge”
marianne58, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“Probably a room at the back oor side verlooking the bay”
marmite030, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view of the water on the back of the inn. visit the pub.”
byr0nn, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 offers a great view over the bay.”
  • Newcastle at night viewed from the patio area of Harbour House Inn.
roberthY7050SF, Jun 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question