We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Briers Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Briers Country House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Briers Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Stayed last weekend for one night as a getaway break for my Aunt. What a beautiful place - just 5 minutes from Newcastle town centre by car at the foot of the mournes. Lovely room and breakfast to die for - couldn't finish it all ! Thank you so much to Maureen and staff for a wonderful relaxing stay -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 932debbie
cam2634, Public Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Hello Debbie, Thank you for the lovely review. It was great having you stay with us. I am glad you had a good time. Hope to see you both again soon. Maureen

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2016

My husband and I visited this guest house with a group of friends for a week long walking holiday. The Briers proved to be a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Maureen and her staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our bedroom was comfortable, although it would have been nice to have a chair or chairs to sit on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larraine2015
Maureen C, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that there were some positives to your stay and wouldn't hesitate to have you stay with us again. Best Wishes, Maureen.

New York
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Maureen was a lovely hostess and the Briers is an excellent B&B wit clean, spacious rooms, modern bathrooms with plenty of hot water and delicious breakfast. It is in a rural setting yet very close to Royal County Down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabram
United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016

This B & B was the last on our trip , sadly and it was beautiful , clean , warm and welcoming . We also would recommend a visit to the Slieve Donard Hotel for a wee Irish it is simply stunning and our host was right in sending us there for a look . The scenery in this part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mccarronkatie
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

After a short lived stay at a neighbouring B&B where we didn't make it through the door due to the owner's rude attitude, we found The Briers and booked in a hurry. On arrival, Maureen made us feel welcome and relaxed after a frustrating afternoon! The place was beautiful and clean and the walk-in shower was a godsend. A few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Myself and two friends had a wonderful visit to the Briefs. We booked Afternoon tea and were not disappointed. A wonderful variety of fresh home made goodies and great selection of tea awaited us as well as a very warm welcome from the owner and chef. They made us feel very welcome, without being over friendly. They even showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley Q
Maureen C, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to show you around! : )

Reviewed May 13, 2016

Hostess good, breakfast good, gardens well kept. Room 5 lacked lighting, very dark day or night, no central ceiling light. No extra socket to charge electronic devices. Good shower, although shower area needed attention and deep clean. Too over priced at £85 per night compared to other stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2016

The newly furnished room was huge as was the en suite . Quite a surprise to find such a tasteful , peaceful place in what is a busy , touristy area. Our room and everything else about our two night stay should have been graded 4 star easily. We were in the double deluxe room .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helenandrichard2016
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant stay, lovely reception from hostess, this is our second visit to Briers now. Very peaceful and relaxing surroundings. The room is of good standard, the bed is to die for, would probably rate the room a solid 8/10. Breakfast is lovely local produce, very enjoyable! Cannot wait to book our third visit already!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank partnersinslime
Reviewed March 1, 2016

What a real surprise to find this beautiful B&B by accident. Had thought about staying in a hotel initially but I'm so glad we decided to stay at The Briers. The room was beautiful, the breakfast was excellent and it was only 5 mins by taxi into Newcastle. Although the B&B was fully booked the layout of the rooms made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoisinM38
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
113 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Briers Country House staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Briers Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in a deluxe room which have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles dav590, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 637MarkB637, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“If you have luggage ask for ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles MreMargaretRiver, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in ground floor room - no2 - double & single bed and direct access via patio doors to outside”
 of 5 bubbles 932debbie, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
“There are some older rooms which have not been refurbished so ask for a deluxe refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles larraine2015, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question