Malmaison Belfast

Malmaison Belfast

Traveler (843)
Panorama of the Accessible Double at the Malmaison
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (463)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#12 of 49 hotels in Belfast
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See why so many travelers make Malmaison their hotel of choice when visiting Belfast. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service while staying at Malmaison Hotel. In addition, Malmaison offers a lounge, which will help make your Belfast trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests. Close to some of Belfast's most popular landmarks, such as Cathedral Quarter (0.2 mi) and City Hall (0.3 mi), Malmaison is a great destination for tourists. If you’re looking for a Mediterranean restaurant, consider a visit to Quartisan, Edo, or 44 Hill Street, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Malmaison Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Northern Ireland Tourism.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH Northern Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Belfast Intl Airport
12.6 mi
See all flights
Belfast City Airport
Botanic
18 minAnkara Metro
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,535 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Malmaison Belfast stands out for its stylish and comfortable atmosphere, with guests often applauding its modern rooms and chic ambiance. The central location is a hit among travelers, who find it perfect for accessing local attractions. While the hotel's amenities, including the comfortable beds and spacious rooms, are frequently praised, some guests have pointed out cleanliness and maintenance issues. Service is typically seen as friendly and professional, although instances of slow service have been noted. Opinions on value vary, with some guests questioning the price point. Room comfort generally receives high marks, but noise and temperature control have been occasional concerns.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,535Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,249
  • 616
  • 358
  • 203
  • 109
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Megan wrote a review Aug 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I recently stayed and overall it was a lovely experience. The hote and its decor are very chic and stylish with a very nice chill ambience. We called to ask about parking before arrival and they have discounted parking in the Qpark when your ticket is stamped at checkout. Our room was everything I wanted again having a stylish vibe with huge comfy bed and a bath which is always a must for me. We didnt call ahead to book dinner and opted to sit in the bar instead of the restaurant. I was nervous about the food as I'm not a hugely adventurous eater but all of our food was absolutely delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was prompt and professional. You scan a QR code into your phone to view menus etc in this hotel so theres no sharing menus etc. Cocktails were also fantastic. As explained upon checkin to have drinks in the bar you must order food but residents can take drinks to their rooms so we did that after out meal. Couldn't manage to figure out how to watch the TV (but we put that down to the fact our phones didnt have an option to mirror screen). The room got very hot at night and we couldn't really work the windows, obviously on upper floors windows dont open very wide but we made use of the fan in the wardrobe and things were fine. Breakfast experience a little awkward simply because of the virus restrictions and distance etc. No ones fault the girl was very sweet and anything extra we wanted was no issue. £2 extra each for any cooked breakfast which I didnt mind as food was faultless. We checked out and returned a few hours later to have our car ticket stamped as your must leave an hour after stamping and we wanted to go to the shopping centre next door. All in all a lovely experience and we would happily return. Thanks Malmasion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Dear Melia, Thank you so much for great comments about your stay with us. The team will be thrilled to read and I will ensure they do. We are really lucky to have the team we have. We Look forward to you both returning to Mal Maison Belfast in due course. Kindest, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amy k wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a one night stay for business and had such a wonderful experience that when a business trip arose the following week I was sure to book the malmaison again for a further 2 nights.

The staff were wonderful, rooms were beautifully decorated and the food in Chez Mal restaurant was second to none.

The rooms were immaculate and at all points of contact with the elements outside the room, there were ample opportunities to sanitise hands.

Eamonn and his team were accommodating in every aspect and a pleasure to speak with. They made the experience feel more like a leisure stay than a business one.

I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you so much foe your wonderful review. All the team and I will be thrilled with your warm words. We look forward to you returning in a work and social capacity (More so the leisure stay Amy, far more enjoyable!) Take care for now and all the very best, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Darina J wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Malmaison Belfast for a family break March 11/12th -All adults with one wheelchair user. It was perfect start to finish beginning with Receotion staff at check in - nothing was too much . We had 2 beautiful rooms next to in another very comfortable beds and beautifully kitted out bathrooms perfect for our stay
Location was amazing right beside Victoria Square shopping centre , within walking distance to George’s market and great value parking in the shopping centre .
Food was scrumptious breakfast set us up for all day and evening menu offered great variety and very tasty. We ate in Restaurant one night and bar the next . Great big comfy seats in bar and we got to watch the Rugby match there
The staff were superb and friendly and so helpful and chatty especially Carlos
Hats off to GM Eamon for running a great show . I would highly recommend and we will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Mar 27, 2022
Dear Darin, That review will warm the whole team up, I will make sure they read it. Carlos is s atop boy and will go far in whatever he does. We cannot wait for the return leg! Kindest, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny McS wrote a review Oct 2020
Newry, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary trip. We were able to check in an hour early which was good however the hotel and rooms are very dark and scruffy. This place is in need to an update. I upgraded to the club delux room and it was very spacious however not very clean compared to the standard I would expect for the cost for the night. I took a bath and there were poo stains down the side of the toilet between the toilet and bath, there were also heavy mould under the toilet bowl. I upgraded to this to specifically for the larger bed, but when we came to go to sleep we got into the bed and the duvet only went to the side of the mattress? It was a double size duvet for the king size bed. I rang down to get a correct one from reception but was told that it was correct and they only have 1 size mattress for the hotel. Very very odd. The heating can only be controlled from calling down to reception so we were always either too hot or too cold. The hotel is on a main street and there isn't much sound proofing but this didn't annoy me too much as I had packed ear plugs. If I didn't have these I don't think I would have had a very good sleep. We ordered a few cocktails in the bar and unfortunately they weren't great and were very expensive. The continental breakfast wasn't great however the cooked breakfast was very nice even though there was an extra charge. The young girl and boy serving breakfast were very pleasant and couldn't have done enough. The staff checking us out were also very pleasant. All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear Jenny, Thank you for your constructive feedback during your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to read you had issues during your stay with us. For this please accept my apologies and rest assured I have already got the relevant managers to investigate and amend where possible. I am a firm believer in perception is reality and in this instance we have not delivered. I will email you directly post this message and make sure you have my direct email address so I can look after your next booking with us personally. Kindest Regards, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rossd008 wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Well this experience was complete mixed bag. I'd firstly like to point out that the service from staff was excellent and they made the stay very welcoming.
The first problem with the stay was that I booked a "superior" double room first night. This room was nothing but average with very little extra to it. I paid over 60 quid more for this room than a standard double which I stayed in the second night. The standard double was identical and was actually the room next to the superior room. Completely weird and a farse if you ask me. On the second night I asked for an accessible room as I am a wheelchair user, which only had two hand rails throughout and no shower stool or seat. Anyway I made do with a chair in the room. After having my shower I got a phonecall to ask was I showering, to which I said yes, I was then asked would I make sure I close the shower doors when I shower as they have an on going issue with this room and water leaks down in to reception. It is beyond me why they'd even give me this room when it has a known leak. And instead of putting me in a different room I'm told to be careful. Lastly I'd like to add that the noise in this hotel is crazy. Whatever they used to seal the walls just doesn't work. I genuinely don't know how this hotel gets the ratings and charges the prices it does for what you get. I'd recommend go across the road to the merchant for a better stay and get your moneys worth.
I'm disappointed and won't be stay again but would eat here only
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris M, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I very much value and appreciate your feedback and you can assured it will be shared with all of the team. I am sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards, Chris McLaughlin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aisling wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed with my husband on a business trip and loved this hotel.

The location is perfect and within walking distance to all local attractions like the titanic quarter and Cathedral quarter.

All the staff were really attentive and the room was absolutely spotless.

The hotel has done really well implementing all the covid procedures such as a one way system hand sanitisers and Track and trace so felt really safe.

Can’t wait to go back again for a longer stay when restrictions are lifted and things go back to normal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Apr 7, 2021
Dear Aisling, Thank you for your kind words, the team will be thrilled for your notes. We hope we see you and partner back at Malmaison Belfast very soon. Kindest regards, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jemma Mc wrote a review Aug 2020
Tullamore, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were travelling with our two dogs while relocating to the UK so we needed a pet friendly hotel.

We stayed at the hotel for one evening because we were catching the ferry to the UK the next morning.

This is truly a fantastic hotel with a great location. The staff and very friendly and helpful and were so attentive to our two small dogs.

The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with a lot of space.
They even placed beds and bowls in the room for the dogs pre our arrival.

The staff handled check in smoothly and have put in many precautions both in public areas and in the rooms to ensure social distancing measures are hygiene standards are adhered to easily.

If you are traveling with an animal I would highly recommend booking with the malmaison for a very relaxing and stress free trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear Wade, Jemma, Rocket and Rigbe, It was our pleasure to look after you all and good luck with the move to the beautiful city of Edinburgh. We of course have our own hotels there so please make sure you go and see them. With regards the two cuties, Rocket and Rigbe, well we are thrilled they loved their stay and enjoyed their wee puppy treats! Take care all and we look forward to welcoming back to Belfast in due course. kindest, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danlacey77 wrote a review Aug 2020
Lymington, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing experience from start to finish. Myself and my partner booked a 4 night stay in August. My partner uses a wheelchair ♿ so requested an accessible room. Allocated room 209 which was perfect. Very close to the lifts and had a walk in shower. Room was very large with a comfy bed flat screen tele, Tea & Coffee and an Expresso Machine. We booked half board the breakfast is continental but of a high standard. A small supplement is charged for a cooked breakfast. I would recommend the eggs benedict simply delicious. Evening meals are very tasty and you can in the bistro or bar area. Wifi in the hotel is fast and free. Staff were very professional and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for them. We will deffinatly be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Aug 14, 2020
Dear Daniel and Andy, What can I say about you both. You were a delight to look after, can we please have more people from Southampton! I am also thrilled that you have joined our club Mal if you ever go to any of our properties please let me know personally and I will ensure the team spoil you both the way the wee Belfast team did. Take care and hopefully see soon, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chefstoprated wrote a review Feb 2020
Newry, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night,foyer very dark.room was lovely.warm quiet and comfy.breakfast poor,though staff were lovely and very efficient, no parking at hotel.checkout was fine.i do not leave negative reviews but in this case i feel i must.My debit card was charged after our departure for goods that were not purchased,without my permission.Although this was rectified after contacting the hotel,and an apology offered,i feel that had i not checked my banking details two days later and contacted them to query, i would not have received a refund and the malmaison would have been in credit! From a personal point this has made me wary of any further hotel visits where my card is used as 'security'...as a gesture i was offered an 'upgrade' to an executive room on my return visit which i declined as i feel having to pay to stay again to 'receive' the upgrade is an insult.this trip was indeed a letdown and i was reluctant to leave negativity but feel it was my duty to address it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris M, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn that despite the team explaining upon check in that we do offer a discounted parking rate across the road at Q Park Victoria SQ that you were still dissatisfied with this. In respect to your feedback about the charges. The room attendants reported to the front desk that there was a number of items consumed from the mini bar hence the charges. On another note it’s great it hear you enjoyed your Comfy bed and the staff. From a business point of view we are sorry that the charges aspect overshadowed all of your stay. Kind regards, Chris McLaughlin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul G wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Malmaison experience was excellent. Their staff could not have been more helpful, even adapting chef hours to cater for our late finish at work. Quality of meals was very high and the room was amazing. The hotel was clean with hand sanitiser widely available and there was convenient parking, if not directly outside, then at the nearby Victoria Square, ideal for a walk around the city centre. Will definitely be back. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Elliott, General Manager at Malmaison Belfast
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Good afternoon Mr Gilmore, You were a delight to look after, we look forward to welcoming you and team back at Malmaison Belfast very soon. I will make sure the team are passed on your warm words. Kindest, Eamonn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis M wrote a tip Jul 8
Lillington, North Carolina8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can book Parking ahead of time and save a little money."
Read full review
Paul G wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ballygawley, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t have a late night snack as breakfast is sooo good."
Read full review
Gina F wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Speak to Michelle who will help you with any party plans ."
Read full review
Kelvin P wrote a tip Jun 2024
Bridgnorth45 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go there.We had to ask for butter at breakfast (22.00) each. No un smoked bacon. Service of the room shoddy. "
Read full review
Tullycalter wrote a tip Jun 2024
41 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking only nearby Q-park"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belfast area.
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
malmaison hotel belfast
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MALMAISON BELFAST $165 ($̶2̶3̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Malmaison Belfast
Which popular attractions are close to Malmaison Belfast?
Nearby attractions include Belfast Pub Crawl (0.1 miles), Taste & Tour (0.3 miles), and GoT To Escape (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Malmaison Belfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Malmaison Belfast?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Malmaison Belfast?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malmaison Belfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Northern Whig, The Muddlers Club, and Little Wing Pizzeria.
Is Malmaison Belfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Belfast.
Are any cleaning services offered at Malmaison Belfast?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Malmaison Belfast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Malmaison Belfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Malmaison Belfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (3.7 miles), Crumlin Road Gaol (1.0 miles), and Bobby Sands Mural (1.2 miles).
Is Malmaison Belfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Belfast HotelsBelfast Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BelfastHotels near Malmaison Belfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars