We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Belfast City

Traveler (258)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (32)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#27 of 50 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Holiday Inn Express Belfast City is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park is now open.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:IHG Global Sale
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,673Reviews
32Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 553
  • 666
  • 297
  • 91
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Again I stayed here and as usual, the service was excellent. As I was an IHG Rewards member, my room was and key was ready for me on check-in. Room and bed was clean and comfortable, particularly for a 1 night stay. Good selection of channels on TV. Again what I really valued was the positive attitude and helpfulness of the staff. Reception staff were able to promptly call me a cab to get to the train station. They again allowed me to print my train reservation. Enjoyed the complimentary beverage that was provided with the voucher. Also the breakfast was very substantial! Would definitely consider staying here again, as I have in the past.
Read more
Me and my sister stayed in a twin room for 2 nights whilst visiting Belfast. The room was spacious, and had 2 very comfortable single beds. I usually struggle sleeping on hotel beds, but found these to be so comfortable I had 2 fantastic nights sleep. Also like the fact it was duvet rather than sheets. Room included hairdryer, iron and ironing board, kettle and complimentary tea/coffee. We just asked at reception for more coffee/milk when we ran out and they were happily supplied to us. The only downside we felt was not a lot of storage space for clothes, apart from a few coat hangers, so did feel like we lived out of our suitcase a bit, however this is probably more of a overnight stop hotel, so sufficient for that. We were on 3rd floor and found it very quiet, so was not disturbed by road noise or other guests. Breakfast was included and fab and plentiful. It is help yourself, buffet style, but all you need for a cooked or continental breakfast, all kept topped up and hot. We were down for breakfast at about 9.30 each morning and had no problems getting a table. The hotel was situated about a 20 minute walk from the town center, with plenty of eateries and bars close by, so we thought it was a good location. Taxi ride to city airport was approx 15 minutes, so very handy. I would certainly stay at this hotel again if ever I am back in Belfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HiEexpressBelfast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City
Responded yesterday
Dear Gill B, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback. We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay. I am particularly pleased to see that you have enjoyed the breakfast offering and have found the hotel location, as well rooms to be comfortable for you trip. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will certainly share your comments with our team as I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Danya Salem Acting Assistant General Manager
Read more
Always avoided this hotel as it looked pretty far out on a map, but stayed here this time as it was hard to get availability right in the city centre. The route I took to walk to it from my office was pretty grim, I sure wouldnt have fancied walking that way in the dark. But once I got on to the street the hotel was on it was a different world. I walked back into town for dinner but took a right out of the hotel this time then right again and found a great street full of coffee shops (starbucks and nero) a railway station, various convenience stores, few restaurants and a bars. That route to walk back into the city was much better and took me on to Dublin Road past the BBC and into the main square and shopping area in 20 mins. Easy to walk to the main train station / bus station in that time. But I definetely wouldnt turn left out of the hotel and walk into town that way. The hotel itself was better than an average express, had a really good bar and restaurant, the rooms were the most modern style of express and a pleasant surprise, very clean and comfortable bed. Bathroom very good with walk in shower etc The staff wernt great but I was only there one night so just had the check in experience - no acknowledgement of IHG rewards status etc But id certainly come back to the hotel and found it better than the full Holiday Inn
Read more
Response from HiEexpressBelfast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jason M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to see you have decided to stay with us and have enjoyed your experience! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Danya Salem Acting Assistant General Manager
Read more
Comfy clean convenient and cost Effective. Stayed there for one night and was great. Nice to have a plug socket next to the bed. Chardonnae in particular was very friendly and professional when we checked in.
Read more
Response from HiEexpressBelfast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City
Responded 4 days ago
Dear mikkylark, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see you have had a pleasant stay with us and have found the team to be friendly and helpful. I will also ensure to pass your lovely comments to Chardonae! We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience! Kind regards, Danya Salem Acting Assistant General Manager
Read more
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful but the hotel itself is not a 4 out of 5, which is what it was rated at. Our room was small and the bed was not the most comfortable. On top of that, when we walked around a little in the surrounding neighbourhood we didn't feel terribly comfortable. Breakfast is included and there is free parking in a gated compound if you're driving a car. It's about a 25 minute walk from this hotel to the downtown core. But all that said, I think there are better options in Belfast than this property.
Read more
Response from HiEexpressBelfast, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dale6284, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am very disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations but am glad to see you have enjoyed the included breakfast and our team was able to help during your visit. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more positive experience. Kind regards, Danya Salem Acting Assistant General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express belfast city queens quarter hotel belfastholiday inn belfast
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing