We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dragon Hotel

Expedia.com$67*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$74*
$67*
Great Deal
$69*
$74*
$67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dragon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 885: English reviews
Bathgate
Reviewed June 27, 2015

Very well placed hotel in the centreof Swansea Friendly staff Good enough base camp for exploring further afield Parking is very limited I did not eat in as I didn't fancy the menu but others may find it apealing Breakfast was decent. I will certainly return when back in the area

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beni-Jock
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Maybe you will then have a chance to try the restaurant and I would then look forward to discussing your feedback.

Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

Just finished a weeks golf holiday staying at the Dragon, rooms were very good although the room I was in had a noisy generator outside the window which kicked into action about 5am, the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely return next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPT75
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The local golf courses are very good and I trust you played well? I will look into the cause of the noise and see what options I have to address it. Looking forward to seeing you again next...

Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2015

Sunday evening work stay and it's a £2 taxi ride from the station- I would have walked if I'd done my research. Red carpets, red paintings, it's Wales! Restaurant food very dull, chicken breast tasteless, but cheese platter cheering. No lift and no offer to carry bags. Bed fine but the star was the immaculate bathroom, fluffy big towels, bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing with your comments and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the bedroom at the hotel. As you discovered, the hotel is less than a ten minute walk from the station. I am surprised to read your observation that there is no lift, as we have two and they are located next to the reception...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 20, 2015

We are on a three week holiday in Europe. Sorry I can not give a favorable impression of the Dragon Hotel in Swansea. The problem is that the toilets do not flush. It is not only our room, but (seemingly, from conversations with others) this is all rooms. We complained several times at the front desk. The attendant told us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank QQ1234
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you had issues with the flush of your toilet and I apologise the reception team didn't respond as you felt they should. Some of our rooms have toilets that are operated by an 'air pump' and if they are not pressed hard enough too many times, do not work as they should until they...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Dragon for 5 nights - on balance we were a little disappointed as standards were not quite up to what we have come to expect from MacDonald Hotels - this may be due to the fact that it is only an "Associate" Hotel of that Group. We had booked a superior twin-bedded room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray L
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your observations from your recent stay and I am sorry that you didn't feel we were not upto the standard of other Macdonald Hotels. Being an associate member of the group should make no difference. However, there are many stunning properties in the group which are considerably more attractive, offering different bedroom styles than ours. I am...

leicester
Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two nights recently. First of all I have stayed before and to be honest my last stay was just okay, not sure what's happened since that last time in March but this stay was exceptional! My room was comfortable quiet, great facilities and was more than adequate. I had dinner here on both nights and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babledeb
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write with your observations from your recent stay and I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us. We are continually striving to improve and your comments seem to support that, which is encouraging for all the staff that work at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you...

Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

For a 4-star establishment I was a little disappointed ... The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly and could not have been more helpful. We did not use the pool or gym facilities but did take a look and everything looked clean and well maintained and the member of staff on duty was again helpful and welcoming The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosellen M
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent stay in detail, which is greatly appreciated, as it enables me to address our short comings. I am pleased to read your opening comments about the staff and the facilities in general. i have noted your comments about the bath and this will be addressed. I am...

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2015

I booked this hotel because it had a gym (a "spa") but this consisted of a poor gym and a pool. Nevertheless the staff were very friendly, the restaurant was good and the room spacious. Could do with an update as the decor looks pretty tired but the central location is great with other restaurants and bars within a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff. I agree that we don't have a Spa at the hotel and in fact, we do advertise that we have a health club. I don't think the gym is poor, it is just a little small. However, the equipment is extensive...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2015

I have rung the hotel reservation staff so many times with different queries and each time the staff member called Sean was so helpful, friendly and patient. Makes such a difference and gives a great first impression of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about Sean, our reception manager. It is pleasing to get great comments about the team, as we try very hard to be as helpful and as friendly as possible. We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

I was booked in for one night while on business in Swansea. The parking was tight, but I got a space and it was free. My double room was clean and very nice, just a little small. Staff friendly at check in and check out. I didn't take advantage of the facilities, nor breakfast, but had a drink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M1nistry
JeffCondliffe, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel and I hope you dine in the restaurant, should you stay with us again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

335 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Accessible Room (33)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Price Range: $82 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
South Wales, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a room on 4th floor facing front and had no problems with noise from the street”
J3183NXfionam, 5 days ago | Read review
“We were in 508. It's at the front but no noise if you close the window.”
bab54, 1 week ago | Read review
“The bathrooms in the suites were much nicer than in the ordinary rooms, where there were cramped and small.”
fabfoodie708, 1 week ago | Read review
“City centre hotel. All rooms of a standard grade, as far as I am aware.”
EdmundEssex, 1 week ago | Read review
“Quieter rooms are probably at the back of the hotel.”
Teeky1, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$67* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$69
TripAdvisor$67
Agoda.com$74
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates