We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Newport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 445: English reviews
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying here for two days visiting family quality time away with other half room ticks all the boxes. Check in appeared ok no offer of help with luggage and room is up two flights of stairs and a fair distance no problem of we go room key not working have to go back to reception. Went down to eat guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. On both occasions I have checked into my room to find that the air conditioning was broken in my room. On the first occasion the fuse was found to be missing from the plug and on this last occasion it just did not work and I was given a... More 

Helpful?
Thank andy c
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review following your most recent stay at the hotel First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations yet again in relation to the operation of your air conditioning unit. Although of no consolation to you we have begun to replace overtime the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

uk
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing this review not for one but three, one family gathering and two couples visits. Every time the service has been excellent, the Sunday lunch is a buffet. The starter is a self service, with a range of cold meats, salads and pastas. the mains consists of choice of three or four meats, carved for you by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jlidwyn
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review following your most recent visit to the hotel for Sunday lunch. I am delighted to learn that you love both the service and quality of food we provide and trust the team will see you again shortly. Once again thank you for your positive feedback and custom both... More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed. The room was OK but needed refurbishment. The girl on reception was good but the housekeeping staff need retraining. They did not remove used glasses from our room one day and on the Saturday (the day we were checking out) they knocked us up at 9am. I reported this to the girl on reception who apologised... More 

Helpful?
Thank BambiSussex
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion especially in particular in relation to the service you received from our housekeeping department. I will be discussing your experience with my housekeeping manager to... More 

Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving, the hotel looks shabby, and whilst not wanting to judge a book, it did rather set the tone. Check-in was seamless, and that was the highlight of the stay. The rooms are very tired and don't say "comfort" to you. The bathroom was fine though, with a decent shower, although as in many hotels, anyone over 6ft has to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion in particular in regard to food but more importantly customer safety. The issues you highlighted I shall be reviewing with the managers concerned what and... More 

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so turned up late in the evening at the same time as a coach load of foreign tourists and the reception staff still managed to get me booked in a timely manner and off to my room. Once in the room as expected it was to the high standard that you would expect of a large hotel like this.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Big-fella-dudley
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality of my colleagues though disappointed to note that the quality of your meal did not match your expectations. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and custom and on your next visit... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On our last night in Wales following a short break I decided that we would find a Holiday Inn fairly close to the English border. This Holiday Inn in Newport fits the bill. It is, to be fair, in need of an update (which I believe is being done) but is clean and comfortable. I did not have high expectations... More 

Helpful?
Thank BishopMead
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality of my colleagues and in particular Dominic in our restaurant as well as the quality of the food. We have built a smoking shelter away from the front door and our challenge is... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

OK, so hotel is s bit dated and could do with a facelift but the staff really friendly and helpful and the food excellent. One of the best HI breakfasts . It would have been nice to have had couple of bottled real ales for those who don't drink lager beer in the bar.

Helpful?
Thank lucille r
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to learn that the hospitality provided by my colleagues more than makes up for the age of the building and that you highly rate our breakfast offering. Once again thank you for your positive feedback and custom. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The beef was absolutely superb. £15 for 2 courses £16.95 for 3 courses Not cheap but fabulous quality Massive choice. Help yourself starters Chef carves meat then you help yourself to vegetables etc Highly recommended Suggest booking table Didn't stay overnight as we are local Easily Accessible to m4 junction 24

Helpful?
Thank Frequent_flyerUK
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent Sunday Lunch at the hotel. I was delighted to learn that the totally enjoyed the experience especially the quality of the food. Once again thank you for your positive feedback and custom. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and to say it was awful is an understatement. On arrival we were put in a very dated twin room (converted double) which we were assured was recently renovated!! and also told no IHG club rooms were available The bed was terrible lumpy and uncomfortable. The breakfast was pretty disgusting cheap and nasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion especially in particular relating to decor and breakfast. I am aware that as a IHG Club member you were allocated a standard room for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Address: The Coldra, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Price Range: $86 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay