We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel over night from 18/6/2016 - 19/6/2016. It's a shame that this hotel has received so many negative reviews because I can genuinely say that my stay was a very pleasant experience. I accidentally booked the wrong dates when making my online booking but the hotel staff were able to resolve the issue swiftly and provide... More 

Helpful?
Thank ioan m
VictoriaHotelNewport, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Ioan, for leaving an excellent and true review. We have been waiting for someone to leave this review for a while. We are very pleased that you were happy with the service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please do book with us directly on your next stay so that we provide you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

I am appalled at the conduct of the staff at this hotel. I booked a room for one night for myself, and my partner in order to attend a close friends wedding in the area, as we do not live close by. Because of the fact that check in isn't until 2pm, and there is no one manning the desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carys W

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Worst hotel to stay at in Newport, just stay at the Holiday Inn or Ibis, plenty of better choice around. The manager literally stinks and was greeted by his poor hygiene on arrival. Very rude and short with how he treats his guests. The rooms looked like they had not been cleaned in years, dust everywhere I even found a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

I would not recommend anyone staying here. Quality very poor. For example not one of the bathroom tiles was secure. I believe the owners would happily run this with customers who had no expectation of quality or cleanliness in return these customers would get a no questions asked room for what ever length of time required. Priced £20 cheaper it'd... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

Booked a room on the same night and was charged £50/night. Rip off as this hotel needs renovating. The heating does not work, although the lady on the reception was helpful. The shower was weak and the bathroom was very disgusting. Really old hotel, did not feel safe when I stayed here. Travelodge is much cheaper and nicer but that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CIsip
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in this dump of a place for business with a colleague... Checked in found myself amazed of how this place is still open to the public!!! I then Checked out within the same hour of arriving to find out we couldn't get any of our money back, bearing in mind we had booked for 4 nights?? Staff very rude... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Sachel001
VictoriaHotelNewport, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

We were expecting you to leave this review after you threatened to leave it. Unfortunately you have not stated the facts and events that occurred during your stay. Firstly you came in to check in and wanted to look at the room, you looked at the single rooms which you booked for a cheap price of £30 per night. You... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Given the bad reviews, I almost didn't stay here, but it wasn't nearly as bad as people seem to be making out. I had no issues with the water, the staff were all friendly, present and courteous, and although the rooms weren't to a luxury standard, they were clean and warm. The main thing I would like to point out... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Harvey C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Rooms were pretty cheap, staff was nice enough. Not the Hilton, but the price you could do a lot worse. Pretty close to the train station, and there are a lot of takeaways in the area(one runs out of the restaurant floor) so its a good choice for convenience.

Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Stayed here with my son to attend quarter finals of Rugby World Cup in nearby Cardiff. At £90 for room only for the two of us, it was probably no more of a rip off than other local services during the World Cup (e.g. taxis). The room was clean if slightly underfurnished and the bed was very comfortable but we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chouskikou
VictoriaHotelNewport, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and apologies for the delay in acknowledging this. We are aware that some rooms need a little TLC and we are definitely renovating the hotel and making improvements slowly, one room at a time. This hotel is now under new management therefore we will be improving the overall experience of... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

The room had a kettle but the only socket to plug it in was on the floor by the bed. The bed had giant sharp screws pointing out the bottom of it which ripped my jacket.The cups were all dirty and the area had a few junkies wandering around. But we survived so can't complain.

Helpful?
Thank Kate T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#15 of 19 in Newport
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the centre of Newport with easy access to both Newport bus and train station. The Victoria hotel is located with convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Our rooms are mostly en-suite and we have a restaurant within the hotel which serves fresh home cooked style food. If you are staying in Newport for an event such as Rugby Internationals and concerts we offer a free shuttle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 161 Corporation Road, Newport NP19 0BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Newport, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay