We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Victoria Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

I don't understand why people have left such horrible reviews! A group of us chose the hotel due to its location and because we were on a tight budget as well. For one night we paid £90 for 2 double en-suite rooms. That £22.50 each for a group of 4. The rooms were clean, had towels, soap and tea/ coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Desperately in need of attention the Diy consists of boffins up the paintwork ,,,, A noisy place to stay ,, all floorboards creek and all doors bang ,,, Guests were Smoking in rooms no signs anywhere ,,,, this is a Fire hazard waiting to happen as some rooms do not have direct access to an escape No one on duty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul h
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Booked a double room as a last minute option with my other half and i wish i paid the extra amount to stay somewhere else! To start with, the whole place needs redecorated, massive damp patches on the ceiling of our room and lights didnt work. Through the whole night i could say we had an estimate of about an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella C
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Where to start other than to say avoid Newport if you possibly can and if not pay extra to stay somewhere else.I met contractors staying in the hotel who are made to travel in pairs the area is so rough.I felt safer in Queens,New York and that was scary. Staff are nice and friendly but that counts for nothing when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mekongmarcus
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Arrived to find poo all in the toilet apparently a problem with the system, no light in the bathroom, not even offered any money back as paid extra for a room with a bathroom at £70!!!. Felt so unsafe with banging on the landing until at least 4am. I have 2 small children under 5 and felt like I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We attempted to stay at this horrid excuse for a hotel, booked in advance and drove all the way from Essex to attend a friend's birthday party in Newport. When we arrived, we were immediately struck by how dirty, tired and badly run the place was but we put our bags in the bedroom and headed off to enjoy seeing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _angelarogers810
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Upon arrival the receptionist double-checked with us that we knew what we were letting ourselves in for renting the budget quadruple room with shared bathroom. In case, I imagine, we had expected the luxuries of television or air conditioning at £60 per night. We did not, but even at the time we thought it was portentous. This feeling of unease...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tlawrence92
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Let's be honest if you want to stay in hilton you pay anything from 70-180 a night Victoria hotel is much less and staff will do anything for you to make sure your stay is right I stayed for 5 nights and never had a problem there seems to be alot of pad reviews but people are quick to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naz A
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel over night from 18/6/2016 - 19/6/2016. It's a shame that this hotel has received so many negative reviews because I can genuinely say that my stay was a very pleasant experience. I accidentally booked the wrong dates when making my online booking but the hotel staff were able to resolve the issue swiftly and provide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ioan m
VictoriaHotelNewport, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Ioan, for leaving an excellent and true review. We have been waiting for someone to leave this review for a while. We are very pleased that you were happy with the service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please do book with us directly on your next stay so that we provide you...

Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

I am appalled at the conduct of the staff at this hotel. I booked a room for one night for myself, and my partner in order to attend a close friends wedding in the area, as we do not live close by. Because of the fact that check in isn't until 2pm, and there is no one manning the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carys W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#16 of 19 in Newport
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 19 in Newport
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.0 mi away
The Knoll Guesthouse
The Knoll Guesthouse
#15 of 34 in Newport
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanwern
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the centre of Newport with easy access to both Newport bus and train station. The Victoria hotel is located with convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Our rooms are mostly en-suite and we have a restaurant within the hotel which serves fresh home cooked style food. If you are staying in Newport for an event such as Rugby Internationals and concerts we offer a free shuttle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 161 Corporation Road, Newport NP19 0BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Price Range: $44 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Newport, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Victoria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Quadruple is excellent for those looking to shed excess-water weight.”
 of 5 bubbles Tlawrence92, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid Room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles Chouskikou, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 652katet, Oct 24, 2015 | Read review
“If you struggle with stairs, I would request one of the rooms on the lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_J_Grant, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“Neither the images here nor their website reflect the majority of the rooms, ask to see your room first, bring some disinfectant wipes.”
 of 5 bubbles GraemeM148, Jan 24, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay