We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wynford Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wynford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came to Cardiff for a night out and this was a perfect hotel for us. The room was clean (although pillow and mattress protectors would be good) and spacious with an ensuite bathroom, the water pressure wasn't great but did the job, and the staff were spot on. We didn't use the facilities so can't comment on that but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BarrytheSprout
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel staff were brilliant and Jane in particular was very welcoming to myself and my friends who had come down for a stag doo. The beds were very comfortable and rooms nicely laid out. Breakfast was excellent: sausages, bacon, egg, tomatoes, toast - all cooked nicely. Brilliant place for a few drinks with a pool table before a short walk... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony H
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend of 29th July for a friends stag doo and I have to admit after one of the lads booking it I was very sceptical of what to expect especially after reading some of the reviews on here. I have to say though those ppl moaning and complaining are completely must not understand its primary... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RParry88
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP We only stayed at this hotel for one night, and my god am I glad that we weren't subjected to it for longer. We got back to our room at around midnight. Our room was literally shaking with the bass of the nightclub below. You could hear every single... More 

Helpful?
Thank natpalit
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We go to great lengths to tell everyone about the noise. I note you booked thru Booking.com. All our bookings made via Booking.com clearly state about the nightclub on your booking confirmation. We are nearly always full to capacity every weekend so we wouldn't have had any room available to move you.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Okay so this wasn't the ritz. But it was exactly what we were after. £40 each and a few minutes ride in a cab to the centre which cost a max of £5 a time. Lovely HOT HIGH PRESSURE shower and even a flushing toilet. Beds seemed to be fairly comfortable as i slept like a baby! We were able... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dotty f
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having a nightclub on site is fine, only if it does not fundamentally undermine the concept of a hotel (i.e. a place to sleep). The room was literally vibrating most of the night, making the mere thought of sleep impossible. Oh, and the shower wasn't working either

Helpful?
Thank James A
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I don't think this hotel is trying to be anything other than a cheap hotel but it does that very well. A great place for stag and hen do's or a cheap stay. Very close to the Quay and other attractions. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel open at the weekends, popular with the locals. The bar downstairs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael I
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

We stayed here for a hen weekend easy to find private secure parking easy walking distance of the town centre. Amazing warm friendly very helpful staff couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. The breakfasts are a must! Thankyou for looking after us we hope to see you again!

Helpful?
3 Thank Karen Y
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Cardiff for a stag night. The rooms were basic but clean, the bar was OK (despite the lack of good single malts!) and breakfast was good. There was a free car park but it was full when I got there and street parking was difficult. The wifi didn't seem to work well... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Yanitch
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently for a hen do. Really clean rooms, decor is nice and up to date, shower was powerful and warm, there was an iron in the room, breakfast was lovely. Was a ten minute walk from cardiff centre so perfect for shopping and a night out. If your feet hurt then the taxi was about... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate it when guests take time out to write positively about the hotel. I am glad you had a good time and I will pass your comments on to the two Nathans! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#37 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wynford Hotel is very conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and all its facilities. Located on Clare Street which is one of the main arterial roads in and out of the city. This is a 40 bedroomed hotel with a range of different room styles. We have a residents bar open everyday from 10.00am until 5.00am the next day (residents only). As well as breakfast we offer a range of freshly prepared bar meals every evening. At weekends the hotel becomes the place for party people and a warm welcome is extended to Stag & Hen groups as well as everyone else. A word of warning though, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away then this is not the place for you. Throughout the week the hotel offers an excellent base for tourists and business travellers alike, with the City centre on our doorstep. With a range of recently refurbished rooms with Plasma TVs, a good standard of accommodation is offered with the benefit of free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wynford Hotel

Address: Clare Street, Cardiff CF11 6BD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $64 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wynford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay