We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 402: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel lovely city location close to all shops, bars and restaurants and Cardiff castle well presented room clean and tidy welcoming staff nice bar area would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family cheap prices

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank peterfA3940TU
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

It’s a huge pleasure to read of your enjoyment regarding many aspects of your stay with us, especially our team members high level of service and our hotel's central location. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The view of this hotel from the street is not inviting but we found that, when we arrived at reception on the first floor, we were happy with our choice. Our room was clean, quite spacious and quiet. The staff we spoke to were very helpful and pleasant. The location of the hotel is very good as it is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesMac2803
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great central location if going out in Cardiff. Booking in advance means you get good value for money. Staff were very helpful in getting us an extra bed when needed and also early check in to enable us to get a shower straight after Pretty Muddy. Security is good with people on the door at night. Bar... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 777Smiths
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room 412. Nice and clean room. Shower unit quite cramped and water was warm the whole time. Normally you get some good heat from other travelodges. The room has 3 windows. 2 of which shut normally. The middle one doesn't seem too, on the first night we were kept up as the hotel has a few late night Clubs nearby.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel Y
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very noisy due to being directly opposite live lounge. Did not have a good sleep. I have stayed here numerous times and it's always been the same even if you've got a room at the back of the hotel. I have stayed here due to convenience, I would not have stayed here for any other reason

Helpful?
Thank stuje14
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us feedback. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over the phone I had asked to be booked into Cardiff Central Travelodge, but when I arrived there it turned out I had been booked into Cardiff Central (Queen St) Travelodge instead and would have a long walk back in the direction I had just come. When I said, 'Why give two different locations the same name?'. I was told,... More 

Helpful?
Thank crwydrwr
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will not sleep. The night club will keep up awake till 4 am . The glass of water was rippling with the noise . I had 1 day off to look around cardiff and this hotel with no sleep ruined what time I had. Just don't people. Just don't.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank williamy131
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience at our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge but we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We would like to hear more about your stay, therefore may we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was well located in the centre of Cardiff, however the noise from Nightclub opposite made the stay unbearable, the club has an outside area directly opposite the front rooms and is open until 4am. Rooms at the back of the Hotel might be slightly quieter.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 946anon
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us feedback. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Wednesday night in September in a room overlooking both Queen Street and The Friary. The room was a large triple (despite there only being two of us) and whilst it was noisy from the street as would be expected in a city centre location it wasn't too bad with the windows (triple glazed) closed. However,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethan19
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature affected your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible, fans are offered for our guests and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler. Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is really all this hotel has to offer. And a 24 hour bar. Although it should be noticed that prices fluctuate depending upon who serves you. Towels were ripped, bathroom was dirty, and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The remote control was absent so channels had to be changed the old fashioned way. Staff have been trained... More 

Helpful?
Thank mightybifkin .
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Address: The Friary 36 Queen Street, Cardiff CF10 2RG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $53 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay