We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 375: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One nights stay in Cardiff travelodge did the job for me being a place to sleep but for my son who slept (kind of) on the extra bed it wasn't such a good experience. This bed was rock hard. The bathroom could have done with a bit more attention on the cleaning stakes. I'm glad I'm not a light sleeper... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank alisongR178LZ
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night with my mum and two children,the hotel is central for everything,but we had a room at the front and there was a lot of noise due to a nightclub opposite,and the beds weren't very comfy.The buffet breakfast didn't have a lot of choice and wasn't very hot,the staff were very helpful and friendly and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank helensD829RP
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Didcot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The reception is on the first floor with is not a problem in itself, but the lifts are very small and can be a tight squeeze. The room I stayed in was of average size. The bathroom was smaller than most hotels I have stayed in. The lack of air conditioning in the room was very disappointing considering we stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank urdns
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cardiff Central Queen Street hotel. We are sorry to hear that your experience was hindered by the lack of airconditioning. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep. We hope to... More 

Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We travelled 5 hours from North Yorkshire to Cardiff to attend my son's graduation ceremony. I booked this hotel due to it's location as my mum is in a wheelchair, it was close to the ceremony venue and I've never been disappointed with Travelodge before. The website states there is some street noise.....what an understatement!! We had two rooms and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay. We aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests so we apologise that this was affected due to external noise. We will be sure to... More 

Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the heart of pedesterian shopping district of Cardiff. Withing walking distance to Cardiff main attractions. e.g. Cardiff castle (just next to the hotel), Bute park, millenium stadium by the riverm city hall, etc. We got a corner room with double room so spacious and clean. The small downside was no fan and aircond and you had... More 

Helpful?
Thank abu a
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing hotel & location. Maybe a bit too hot in the rooms though. Highlight was the staff. Lucy was particularly amazing and helpful, and cooks the best pizza in Cardiff. Really made the stay for us.

Helpful?
Thank StCabbage
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would like to start off by saying this was very nearly a 5 out of 5 the only thing missing is free parking Parking is expensive and a good walk away This hotel is bang in the middle of where you want to be it's the perfect location and if you are on a stag or hen in Cardiff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The good: excellent city centre location, friendly staff, very cheap. The bad: room hot and stuffy, staying for a week and there hasn't once been a fan available. Can't open the small window in front facing rooms due to Live Lounge across the road being open until 4am and can't open the window in back facing rooms due building works... More 

Helpful?
Thank cescott
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for... More 

Llanrwst
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the family room to save money so we didnt expect luxtury i lost the toss and got the "put u up bed" which i have to say was very hard and uncomfortable . The air con was none existent the advise was to " leave curtains closed and the lights off in the day !! " this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very handy to be in the centre of the city and cheap, but is opposite loud night club banging through the night. It was hot but we couldn't open the window due to the noise, there was a fan so we used that all night.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank amylconnolly
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us feedback. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Address: The Friary 36 Queen Street, Cardiff CF10 2RG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $53 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay