We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

Traveler (623)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (282)

About

#31 of 73 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
148Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
53Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,236Reviews
40Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 582
  • 738
  • 498
  • 244
  • 174
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at this hotel as we do every year Had a fsbulous time The three course meal was absolutely amazing Love it here Room arelovely and clean and the hotel is is great location for everything you need Shopping and drinking !
Read more
Response from Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Linnev Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a fabulous time with us again this ear. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again next year. Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr Lis Holmes General Manager
Read more
Unable to park in the hotel car park due to the monster truck event. Hotel did not offer to pay the difference of £5.00 Asked for a needle and thread at booking in.And was told house keeping would help.This did not arrive. My room was number 125 in the clock tower. The room was
Read more
Response from Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Tracey Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry it was not a good experience for you. We appreciate your feedback and assure you we are responding to the points you raise. I am concerned with a couple of points giving the wrong impression. To confirm, we DID refund the card IMMEDIATELY when the error was identified. As stated, it can take the banks up to 5 working days to process refunds. You were also given my details - if there were any issues with bank charges we I could make amends. I still await to hear from you. Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr Lis Holmes General Manager
Read more
All staff without exception were very helpful, courteous and welcoming with a smile on their faces. Our room (222) enjoyed a great view of the Castle and despite being on a major traffic route we did not experience intrusive noise. The cleanliness of the room and bathroom is a
Read more
Response from Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Neil D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a lovely stay with us and all was good throughout. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again. Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr Lis Holmes General Manager
Read more
+1
Location was wonderful :) Some of the staff were lovely :) Sadly our room was VERY unclean Such a disappointment ... My friend found a long human hair in her sandwich - we sent it back We wouldn’t use the shower / hairdryer They were covered in mould , grime , built up tea
Read more
Response from Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear JanetLinda Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was also lovely to meet and talk with you before you departed and receive your feedback direct. I am pleased the team have been very friendly and helpful throughout and can confirm the points you raised have already been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again. Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr Lis Holmes General Manager
Read more
My dear wife have always enjoyed our stays at the Angel Hotel . We were rather impressed by the courtesy and wonderful Service of the efficient and courtesy of young Jayden in the dining Room. Professional . The Staff manning the Reception are helpful and courteous.
Read more
Response from Lis1501, General Manager at The Angel Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Silwany Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and the service was excellent. This is something we pride ourselves on and the team appreciate your feedback. Jayden will be rewarded for his efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again. Many thanks / Diolch yn fawr Lis Holmes General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo cardiffangel hotel cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing