We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sandringham Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 798: English reviews
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was difficult to find following a gps as St Mary Street does not come up on them. So try High Street as they run into each other. I booked through Booking.com and it said there was parking but didn't mention it was not in site and cost £9 per day. The hotel reception is located on the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I booked this hotel for the 30th sep for 3 nights with Booking.com . We had a tele call from the hotel asking us to pay the full monies upfront (a month upfront) as my friend had DD coming from that account and needed to make sure that enough monies were in the account to cover ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dynamite29
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read about this annoying incident. The rooms your friend booked on Booking.com were stated as pre-recharged and non-refundable which is the cheapest option but does mean money paid in advance. We then suggested that we take the booking direct as we can be more flexible without third party agents. In the meantime the rate had... More 

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated in centre of City but no parking and clearly a one night stop for coach parties. Hard to find by car as its in a restricted driving area. Not expensive so can't complain too much, but one night was enough.

Helpful?
Thank R W
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you have found us to be value for money. Whilst we do not have a car park we do have a concession with a local NCP. We inform the booking sites that the postcode for it is CF10 1DZ so that guests can drive straight there and then walk one minute... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

FOR those planning a visit to Cardiff then the Sandringham Hotel should be on most people’s shortlist of places to stay. We chose it as our base for a short holiday because the location was so wonderfully central within easy walking distance of key attractions such as Cardiff Castle, the National Museum and the Principality Stadium (formerly the Millennium Stadium).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank singhasam
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your superb review. For someone to take so much of their time to write about us speaks volumes about you. I am so grateful and delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. All of my staff that met you commented on how nice you were. It was our pleasure to welcome you and I hope... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have almost nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The staff were, without exception, friendly, polite and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast very decent (even for a fussy vegetarian like me). The wi-fi was a decent speed and I had no problems with it. The bathroom was clean (although a detachable shower hose would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank lordofthemoon
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us so favourably. It was lovely meeting you and it is great to read that you have had a nice stay. I do understand your comments about street noise. This does generally relate to weekends. However we have many rooms at the back of the hotel which are quieter so please request one of... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location, but you have to climb a steep set of stairs to get to the reception desk and then we were on the third floor with no lift. The water pressure is so poor that every time we tried to take a shower the water sent to a trickle within moments and then came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti G
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We did try the shower after you mentioned a problem. We set the temperature first and then let it run. We flushed the toilet and ran water in the sink. None of which affected the pressure. This is why we informed you that we felt it was okay. I shall now check what happens when... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really Impressed with the Sandringham clean room friendly staff had a top floor room over looking St Mary Street. Was a bit noisy at 8am to a beer delivery to one of the pubs lots of thudding and klanking. but I closed the windows and secondary glazing and went back off to sleep 😂 Will stay and recommend again 😊

Helpful?
Thank boscar1977
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic review. Thank you so much. Hopefully as you say we will get to welcome you again in the future. I look forward to it. Thanks again, Simon More 

Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cardiff Sandringham Hotel is very centrally situated close to the main attractions of Cardiff. Staff is very helpful and friendly. A very good and generous breakfast is served every morning, and special diets are catered for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mspite_174989
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and choosing to stay with us. I am glad that you have had a nice time and enjoyed your visit to Cardiff. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Friendly staff, good breakfast service. Perfect location, right in the middle of the city. Parking nearby was very reasonably priced. I'd definitely stay again. Just note there is no lift. Also the Internet signal is a bit weak.

Helpful?
Thank Allison F
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Allison for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and I hope that we get to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A short stay at the Sandringham while attending a wedding was great for us, as the position of hotel was perfect for reception, also handy for shops and restaurants, comfortable twin room, with windows overlooking st Mary st, very clean, cheerful helpful staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y2281SDelaineb
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us so nicely. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay especially as you were attending a special celebration. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (Top Floor) (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#14 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
Food & drink at the hotel
CafeJAZZ
CafeJAZZ
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $57 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and ACCOR so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay